We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Jahn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Jahn
Elisabethstrasse 31, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stay in this pension for 1 night on 9/20, the location is good, only 5 mins walk to main train station and the bus & tram terminal. The breakfast is quite good, the lady at the reception is very very helpful, provide a lot of information and advice. Although the interior decoration of the room is a bit old and simple, but I think the price is reasonable. Would recommend this pension to friends who will visit Salzburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
34
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends for a few nights whilst visiting Salzburg. The room was very basic with a parquet floor but all clean and tidy. The beds were enough to ensure a nights sleep. As others have mentioned its close to the train station and a quick 15 minute walk to the old town. The street outside is fairly noisy with traffic though. Breakfast was basic but more than sufficient. Owners were pleasant and friendly.
Would we stay again? If on a budget, yes

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a room with a shared bathroom. The train station is only a couple blocks away. The location is a little shady, but not unsafe. Also, the road next to the hotel is heavily traveled by busses so you won't be able to sleep in. It's a 15 min walk to Mirabell Gardens and 20 minutes to Old Town, but you don't have to walk far with your luggage. Breakfast includes yogurt, granola, eggs, rolls, bread, cold cuts, and cheese. The owners are very friendly and helpful. It's very reasonable, but I would just caution light sleepers about the road traffic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance (a couple of blocks) of the train station and makes a great base for visiting Salzburg. Ylian, the lady in charge of the front desk and breakfast, was super helpful in acquainting my girlfriend and me with how to navigate Salzburg. We only had two days and she showed us how to get the most out of them.
The rooms are a bit noisy, but it didn't bother me that much and if one wants to shut the window it stops the noise completely. We were advised to ask for a room away from the street side which we did.
No elevator to get your luggage upstairs.
The rooms are a good size and the price is a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Pension Jahn is basic but good value in an expensive city. Owners are multi-lingual and helpful. We had an ensuited room which was basic but clean. The breakfast buffet was good value. The Pension is very near the train station, so it's good for transport. The immediate surrounds aren't the nicest - but that's often the case when staying near the major transport depot (having said that there are some good restaurants very close by which the owners were happy to point out). The walk to the river and old city takes about 15 minutes. Pension Jahn is a good value, budget hotel. No frills but clean and a good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Nearby train station and bus station. But surprisingly quiet. Budget place to stay and so don't expect much. Very basic room. Not stylish at all.
The host is polite but not the sort of "friendly" expected.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Had been to the hotel after reading the reviews!! Well I have given 4/5 stars only for the fact that it is not as good as I expected but it met all my needs :)..... A 100m walk to the bus n train station....very very friendly staff....lovely people....many restaurants close by...you hv McD too... There are many hotels with big names but this is a compact hotel....

If you are spending just the night to stay at the hotel without looking for any real (spa,sauna,massage etc ;) ) services then this the right hotel. I observed that there was no lift, no refrigerator or a mini bar....but these are not mandatory for everyone....

But as I told you this a true "VALUE FOR MONEY" hotel....

Cheers

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension Jahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Jahn

Address: Elisabethstrasse 31, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Pension Jahn Hotel Salzburg
Jahn Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Jahn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pension Jahn to your Saves list