We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoho International Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yoho International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Yoho International Youth Hostel
Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

When we booked online, we had to book a 4-person dorm (for 2 people) since there weren't any private rooms available, but when we arrived, they instantly upgraded us to a private double room. The private room is in a small offshoot of the hostel, which kept it very private and quiet (plus we had our own balcony). For the price, it was really great value. I liked that they showed Sound of Music every night (though I'm sure it sucks for the employees) and when we couldn't decide what to eat for dinner, Yoho Hostel offered filling meals at decent prices. I love how there's unlimited salad included with the meals. I like veggies and it's hard to find meals with a lot of veggies in it while in Austria. The location is decent. Within walking distance of the train station & relatively easy to find with the directions they give you supplemented by the directions we got from the train station information desk. It's also within walking distance of pretty much everywhere in Salzburg (it's not a huge city). We were very pleased with our experience. I can see why it's recommended as a "Europe's Famous Hostel".

Room Tip: We had a private room which is off in the side. Very quiet with a balcony & quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    163
    60
    15
    12
See reviews for
11
58
116
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a group, the rooms were average only one powerpoint for the 6 of us girls, same for the boys. We were part of a group of about 20, they put the girls on the second floor, next to the male showers and the boys on the 3rd floor next to the female showers....not sure why in such a big group they would do that, but for 1 night it wasn't too bad.
They do show The Sound of Music 24/7, its not one of our favourite things.
They have a decent sized chill out room with nice comfy couches which was awesome.

The bar is tiny, but they do have one incredibly awesome deal. If you spend over 3 Euros they give you a receipt and you can claim a free pasta after 7pm! I don't think you would find many hostels in the world, let alone Europe that would do that kind of deal, oh and by the way the pasta was delicious!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hostel was close to the train station, it's about a 10 minute walk and the staff in the hostel very friendly. I was in the 6 bed female with ensuite bathroom on the 2nd floor, the dorm room was spacious, with comfortable beds and the room had swipe card access lockers, however, the room only had one power point which had an extension on it for 3 plugs, no dramas though.
The hostel was clean, had large common room spaces and felt secure.
There were hair dryers in the female bathrooms.
When you check in you are given a very good map of Salzburg with 3 different walking options outlined on it, I'd recommend all 3, it's easy to do in one day and gives you some very good views over the city.
Overall, I'd recommend this hostel and I'd stay here again if I am ever in Salzburg.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed in this hostel at the weekend. It's a good location in terms of distance from the train station, the food and drink are good (especially happy hour offers), and it has wifi and shows the Sound of Music every evening.

However, I had a huge problem in regards to how noisy it was. The room I was in was located at the front of the hostel, just above reception, so I could hear very loud groups of people coming into the hostel at 1am, 2am, 4am. I even heard a member of staff telling one group to be quiet. It was impossible to get a good night's sleep because of this, so I would recommend that you ask for a room near the back of the hostel or bring ear plugs. Maybe if the hostel are reading this, please could you ensure that there is better insulation in the front-facing rooms so that occupants will not be woken up by disruptive drunk people?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great hostel, clean, good price, nice bar and food. After a few drinks watching the sound of music in the hostel (shown every night) was quite fun, but if you do not fancy it then there is a lounge and internet, book swap and free wifi. Not quite in the centre but not far plus about 10 mins walk from train station (tops) and an easy walk you can do it with a suitcase on wheels. Staff v good and knowledgable

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Decent hostel. It is in a good location and they give you a great map of the city. The rooms are small and do not have bathrooms attached. There is a decently large lounge area and computer room where you can meet new friends. They play The Sound of Music 24 hours a day in the lobby if that's one of your favorite things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I am not an experienced visitor of hostels, so it might be a bit difficult to write an objective review. I stayed with my boyfriend, um and sister in a 4-bed room with private shower.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. You could watch a DVD and read books downstairs. The coffe from the machine was awful! We also had breakfast in the morning which was very worth the money of 3,50:-. Overall we had a pleasant stay even though hostels always makes me feel like Im on a childrens camp.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yoho International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho International Youth Hostel

Address: Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Yoho International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoho International Youth Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoho International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.