We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoho International Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Yoho International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoho International Youth Hostel
Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hostel was close to the train station, it's about a 10 minute walk and the staff in the hostel very friendly. I was in the 6 bed female with ensuite bathroom on the 2nd floor, the dorm room was spacious, with comfortable beds and the room had swipe card access lockers, however, the room only had one power point which had an extension on it for 3 plugs, no dramas though.
The hostel was clean, had large common room spaces and felt secure.
There were hair dryers in the female bathrooms.
When you check in you are given a very good map of Salzburg with 3 different walking options outlined on it, I'd recommend all 3, it's easy to do in one day and gives you some very good views over the city.
Overall, I'd recommend this hostel and I'd stay here again if I am ever in Salzburg.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    145
    49
    12
    12
See reviews for
10
53
100
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed in this hostel at the weekend. It's a good location in terms of distance from the train station, the food and drink are good (especially happy hour offers), and it has wifi and shows the Sound of Music every evening.

However, I had a huge problem in regards to how noisy it was. The room I was in was located at the front of the hostel, just above reception, so I could hear very loud groups of people coming into the hostel at 1am, 2am, 4am. I even heard a member of staff telling one group to be quiet. It was impossible to get a good night's sleep because of this, so I would recommend that you ask for a room near the back of the hostel or bring ear plugs. Maybe if the hostel are reading this, please could you ensure that there is better insulation in the front-facing rooms so that occupants will not be woken up by disruptive drunk people?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great hostel, clean, good price, nice bar and food. After a few drinks watching the sound of music in the hostel (shown every night) was quite fun, but if you do not fancy it then there is a lounge and internet, book swap and free wifi. Not quite in the centre but not far plus about 10 mins walk from train station (tops) and an easy walk you can do it with a suitcase on wheels. Staff v good and knowledgable

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Decent hostel. It is in a good location and they give you a great map of the city. The rooms are small and do not have bathrooms attached. There is a decently large lounge area and computer room where you can meet new friends. They play The Sound of Music 24 hours a day in the lobby if that's one of your favorite things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I am not an experienced visitor of hostels, so it might be a bit difficult to write an objective review. I stayed with my boyfriend, um and sister in a 4-bed room with private shower.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. You could watch a DVD and read books downstairs. The coffe from the machine was awful! We also had breakfast in the morning which was very worth the money of 3,50:-. Overall we had a pleasant stay even though hostels always makes me feel like Im on a childrens camp.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for two nights after a conference to explore Salzburg. Really great, clean and friendly hostel with superb facilities.

A particular highlight was the card swipe lockers - very spacious and secure. The cheap bar was great for meeting people before exploring the city.

Very centrally located and a good map is available for free at reception. Dorms are priced very reasonably and are quite spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The place is quite easy to locate. It is in a quiet location which can help avoid the drone of vehicles. Although in the winters, it might be easier to stay somewhere closer to the train stations(to avoid walking). I stayed in the 6-bed female dorm. It was very clean, safe (something I was very conscious about as a solo female traveller). I was lucky to not have snoring room-mates :) and enjoyed a good night's sleep. This place is great to meet a bunch of travellers from different countries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yoho International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho International Youth Hostel

Address: Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Yoho International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoho International Youth Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoho International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.