We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yoho International Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yoho International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Yoho International Youth Hostel
Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
stockton-on-tees
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great budget hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A great hostel with a fairly young crowd. Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights. We were flexible with our stay but enjoyed Salzburg a lot and were happy with the hostel. The bar is nice, cheap food and a lively atmosphere on the evenings. Free wireless internet was fast enough. The rooms were very clean. Fairly basic dorms but that's to be expected for the price.

I think it would have gotten a better rating if it wasn't for having to pay to rent the towels, I accept a deposit to be necessary but paying for the usage is a little stingy.

P.S I would advise those wanting to do the Sound of Music tour to do it themselves, locate the places and go there yourself via public transport etc - you will save a lot of money as the bus tours cost you around 40euro.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    198
    65
    16
    13
See reviews for
14
62
142
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sulzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My friend and I have been traveling around Europe for a few months now. We found Yoho to be one the cleanest hostels we have stayed at. They also have a great youth hostel feeling. With people sharing tables at breakfast and meeting in the evening for drinks.
We highly recommend Yoho.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

As a hostel this is a really good one. Wood bunk beds in the dorms w/ lockers that open & close w/ your room key. The hostel is also incredibly clean. I saw someone cleaning walls & floors & the bathrooms continuously. It was also nice to have a bar in the hostel for that last nightcap or an entire evening, it doubled as the breakfast room. They also play The Sound of Music every night in a room next to the bar & it was a lot of fun watching it w/ people of all ages & nationalities- especially since most of us had or were going to go on a Sound of Music Tour. Umbrellas & towels to loan out at the desk

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for 2 nights in August in a 4 bed room. The room is set out well, very clean and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was available but not included. Very good location - we walked everywhere from the hostel. The lockers were big and very secure. They play the sound of music every night as well -which is great if you are needing a quiet night. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We (2 of us) stayed at YoHo for one night in a 4 person dorm room. The hostel was easy to find, just a few blocks from the Hauptbanhof and a nice walk to the main Salzburg area.

Our room was clean, had good lockers for our belongings, and had a sink in the room. We were woken up by the creaky bunk beds in the morning, but it wasn't really that big of an issue. Washrooms were clean also.

I would recommend this place for anyone stopping through Salzburg. (Staying at least one night is a must! Salzburg is very pretty at night...and when all the day tourists leave.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hostel felt more like a hotel. There is a key card for your door and your locker making it the most secure I have been in. Also the rooms and bathroom are kept ridiculously clean. There is a reason why this hostel is on the "Europe's Famous Hostels" list. For more information on travelling Europe and as well Australia, please visit my blog at breakyourcage.com. Cheers!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed in this youth hostel for 2 nights in September. Generally I was impressed with the hostel and it had a friendly atmosphere. The beds were comfortable and had proper duvets, and you are provided with clean bedding.
I was impressed with the automatic locking system on the doors and lockers, I had not come across this anywhere else.
I was impressed with the bar and the daily happy hours. A good place to meet to new people. (Although some bar staff charged different prices especially during happy hour)
There are lots of leaflets about Salzburg available at the youth hostel which I found very useful as the TIC is not very close.
The hostel was clean, had laundry facilities, a kitchen, plenty of showers and toilets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Yoho International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho International Youth Hostel

Address: Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Yoho International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoho International Youth Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoho International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.