We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, extremely clean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoho International Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Yoho International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoho International Youth Hostel
Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Sulzburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel, extremely clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My friend and I have been traveling around Europe for a few months now. We found Yoho to be one the cleanest hostels we have stayed at. They also have a great youth hostel feeling. With people sharing tables at breakfast and meeting in the evening for drinks.
We highly recommend Yoho.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    148
    50
    14
    12
See reviews for
10
53
101
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

As a hostel this is a really good one. Wood bunk beds in the dorms w/ lockers that open & close w/ your room key. The hostel is also incredibly clean. I saw someone cleaning walls & floors & the bathrooms continuously. It was also nice to have a bar in the hostel for that last nightcap or an entire evening, it doubled as the breakfast room. They also play The Sound of Music every night in a room next to the bar & it was a lot of fun watching it w/ people of all ages & nationalities- especially since most of us had or were going to go on a Sound of Music Tour. Umbrellas & towels to loan out at the desk

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for 2 nights in August in a 4 bed room. The room is set out well, very clean and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was available but not included. Very good location - we walked everywhere from the hostel. The lockers were big and very secure. They play the sound of music every night as well -which is great if you are needing a quiet night. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We (2 of us) stayed at YoHo for one night in a 4 person dorm room. The hostel was easy to find, just a few blocks from the Hauptbanhof and a nice walk to the main Salzburg area.

Our room was clean, had good lockers for our belongings, and had a sink in the room. We were woken up by the creaky bunk beds in the morning, but it wasn't really that big of an issue. Washrooms were clean also.

I would recommend this place for anyone stopping through Salzburg. (Staying at least one night is a must! Salzburg is very pretty at night...and when all the day tourists leave.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hostel felt more like a hotel. There is a key card for your door and your locker making it the most secure I have been in. Also the rooms and bathroom are kept ridiculously clean. There is a reason why this hostel is on the "Europe's Famous Hostels" list. For more information on travelling Europe and as well Australia, please visit my blog at breakyourcage.com. Cheers!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed in this youth hostel for 2 nights in September. Generally I was impressed with the hostel and it had a friendly atmosphere. The beds were comfortable and had proper duvets, and you are provided with clean bedding.
I was impressed with the automatic locking system on the doors and lockers, I had not come across this anywhere else.
I was impressed with the bar and the daily happy hours. A good place to meet to new people. (Although some bar staff charged different prices especially during happy hour)
There are lots of leaflets about Salzburg available at the youth hostel which I found very useful as the TIC is not very close.
The hostel was clean, had laundry facilities, a kitchen, plenty of showers and toilets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I LOVED this place...at least compared to others i have stayed at. I dont know how people didnt like it. They give you your own sheets at the front which i like so i know im not sleeping on someone elses nasty sweat and the comforter is SUPER comfortable. The locks are electronic with your key and big enough to put your bag in and ensure no one is going to steal your items.
They have a bar and a place you can order some food which i really enjoyed. Its not top quality restaurant food but pub food and the sound of music obviously plays there every night. we watched it twice. The bathroom is a bit of a downfall mainly becuase it is shared but it worked. Had our own mirror and shower with minimal wait time and our owl FEMALE bathroom which is nice to have and not sharing with boys.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yoho International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho International Youth Hostel

Address: Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Yoho International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoho International Youth Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoho International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.