We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in such a lovely city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmondo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belmondo Hotel to your Saves list
Belmondo Hotel
St Julien Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 60 Salzburg B&B and Inns
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great base in such a lovely city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel Belmondo is a modern, clean hotel that offers great value for money. It is in a good location only a pleasant 10 minute stroll along the river to the centre of this charming city. Rooms are large and comfortable and the hotel is in a quiet location offering a peaceful and comfy nights sleep.
We would recommend this hotel as a great base for a stay in Salzburg.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    35
    15
    10
See reviews for
9
45
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Belmondo Hotel is notoriously hard to find. It's location is easy enough, but it's door sign is practically non-existent and the exterior looks more like an office block than a hotel. We walked past the front door TWICE before we saw a printed A4-sized paper stuck on the door that said "Hotel Belmondo".

I got a bit worried then and wondered what sort of room I had booked myself into. But then we entered the hotel and the room was lovely. It is spacious, clean and modern. The interior is lovely, and we got a Level 6 room, which has windows that open to the sky. I loved it. The lift is very old and very small. If you have a lot of luggage, you will need a few trips.

The location: A little far from the city compared to other locations. However, the location is right next to the Steirische Weinstuben restaurant, which is a fantastic place to eat. Seriously, it has very good food for very reasonable prices. Prior to Salzburg, we had stayed in Vienna and Graz, and ate in all the recommended places. Yet, this unpretentious little restaurant (that we happened to duck into for dinner to escape the hail) outshone them all.

Room Tip: Get level 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Easy to get to from A8 if driving in from Germany. Helpful english speaking front desk staff. The italian restaurant next door serves in a common outside garden and it was fabulous. Totally unexpected but the risotto, caprese, and prosecco were all outstanding. If not for a desire to try other places we could have eaten there over and over.

The rooms are ok, if bland. A pet peeve is when they go to the trouble to have the hang a towel up to save water sign and then the cleaning staff pays no attention and replaces the towels anyway. I'd recommend staying here it's a bit of a walk (20 min) to the old town, but nice along the river walk/bike paths.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the biergarten can be noisy in summer. And the rooms don't have AC so the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

It's a hotel, not a BnB. You have to pay an extra 11 euros if you want breakfast in the morning.

Positives :
- reasonable price considering most places in Salzburg are pretty expensive
- short walk from main train station
- staff are friendly and helpful
- good shower

Negatives :
- roadside rooms are incredibly noisy. Only stay here if you can get a courtyard room. If you have to stay in a roadside room be prepared to sleep with earplugs in.
- reception closes at 11pm. We came home from a concert at 10.30pm and they were already closed. Our key card wasn't working so we had to wait 10mins for someone from the taxi company to come and let us iti our room.
- rooms are small

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

What I liked: Friendly staff at reception, clean sheets and towels and nice breakfast. That's it!! Italian restaurant close to it.
Didn´t like: Reception closing at 11 o´clock, have to walk up to first floor to take the lift. No good for handicapped people. Can´t imagine being there in case of a fire. Very small bathrooms. Although they say internet is free of charge, yes it is but it does not work, even with cable. Would not recommed to friends and would not stay there in a future visit to the beautiful town of Salzburg

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Belmondo for 3 nights when we had visited Salzburg. We were group of 6 and had booked the hotel for real cheap. When we read the reviews we were a bit skeptical if we had taken a right decision by booking this hotel. But it turned out to be a very good one. The hotel is not more than 10 mins walk from the station, which was very useful for us, as we were moving around everyday of our stay. The hotel staffs were very friendly and co-operative and also spoke fluent English. All of us had got rooms on different floors and all facing the courtyard, so not sure how the road side rooms would turn out as there were some hard reviews for the roadside rooms. The rooms were spacious and very clean, though all of them varied in sizes they are nice and cozy. There were no arrangement for coffee or tea in the room which was the only downside. One of our friends had got room on the 6th floor where the hotel's wifi didn’t work. So if possible request for rooms on the lower floors. The hotel is not located in a paush area, but it isnt very bad at all. Just a low key neighborhood. There a many eateries options nearby the hotel, which we preferred most of the nights. So if you are looking for a hotel to spend a peaceful night and go around Salzburg in the mornings I would totally recommend Belmondo.

P.S. Definitely its not a 4 star hotel. I don’t know why it is rated as a 4 star hotel in some of the sites. So if you are not looking for a 4 star kind of service, you can give it a shot :)

Room Tip: Wifi didn't work on 6th floor for us, so opt for rooms in the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here 1 night on the way home from ski-ing. Hotel staff very friendly. Room spacious for a city centre, clean, warm, comfortable bed. Breakfast was extra at 11€ but was quite extensive and on the top floor so good view over the city. Taxi to the airport was 12€, bus goes nearby but we had lots of luggage. Near the river which was a pleasant walk. Old town 10-15 minutes walk. Covered shopping centre (Billa, C&A plus others) about 5 minutes walk. Would use it again if we went for a weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmondo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmondo Hotel

Address: St Julien Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmondo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmondo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.