We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron to your Saves list
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leopoldskronstrasse 56 - 58, Salzburg 5010, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Carmel, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband just left the hotel this morning. The grounds are beautiful! The palace is a beautiful building. We had the opportunity to stay in a suite in the main house. I was expecting more given the location. The room was clean and had plenty of space. There was a bowl of fruit on the table waiting for us when we arrived. I think that they miss the opportunity to make the experience really shine. The furnishings were bland. The overhead lights in the room and hallway were too modern for the atmosphere. It would have made more of a statement with some period wall sconces in the halls and something more accurate to the time period than the white ball from a stick hanging from the ceiling in the room. While we enjoyed the hotel, I think with more attention to detail in the decorating that this could be a really special place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite in the main house, there are a few. I do not know what the other rooms were lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Tammy C

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Schloss Leopoldskron.

I appreciate your comments about the lights and decor and apologize the suite did not live up to your expectations. You will, however, be pleased to know that we are about to enhance our suites and their decoration to make the experience of staying at the Schloss even more authentic. Furthermore, we will begin the renovation of all our rooms and public areas in the Meierhof building later this year! Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to get the latest updates and hopefully I will be able to welcome you and your family back to Schloss Leopoldskron once all the work is complete.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    37
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
54
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were there for an extended weekend and fell in love with it. My girlfriend didn't want to leave the library once she found it and my son fell in love with the breakfast room with it's beautiful Kachelofen. I personaly loved relaxing by the lake with it's fantastic view of the mountains which surround Salzburg. Make sure you read up on the history of this beautiful hotel before you go there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jem357

Thank you for your kind feedback about your stay at Schloss Leopoldskron! I am glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how each member of your family had their own favorite.

I, too, have fallen in love with the Schloss the moment I first walked in!

As you might know already, we are planning a large refurbishment in the Meierhof in early 2014 and I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Schloss after that.

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you will ONLY be happy in a "5 Star" hotel with every amenity, then stay elsewhere. BUT, as the other reviewers note, this place is special in so many ways, not least of which is the breakfast (superb) and free run of the property (find Max Reinhardt's hidden staircase!). Explore away, or just sit lakeside and stare at the Alps. (Hitler's "Eagle's Nest" is off in the distance.)

Our room was a not-yet refurbished one, and it was clean, large and comfortable, had good beds, a powerful shower built for tall people. Plus, we didn't spend a lot of time in the room -- the rest of the property and the town called us elsewhere. (Town is about a mile away, a nice walk.) Also nice: check out is not until noon.

Do note: The third floor rooms are smaller, with smaller windows, and stuffier in warm weather. Our larger second floor room cooled off wonderfully with the fan and large windows.

Finally, the staff was fabulous: friendly, welcoming, and accommodating in every way.

A stay here will make your trip indelibly memorable, and may make your friends jealous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear cdth

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

I am particularly happy to hear your remarks about our staff: while we are indeed not a 5 star hotel, we do strive to fulfill all our guests' wishes in a friendly and welcoming way.

Also, I am glad you found the hidden staircase! Our wonderful public areas in the Schloss, including Max Reinhardt's library and his former office, certainly add to the unique atmosphere of Schloss Leopoldskron.

Due to the nature of the building, some rooms in the Meierhof are indeed slightly smaller than others and some were recently refurbished. You will be pleased to know that later this year we will start a comprehensive renovation project in the Meierhof to bring all our rooms up to speed.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Schloss Leopoldskron in the near future and remain with

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

After reading negative reviews of the palace, and in particular the Meierhof, we reduced our booking from 3 nights to 1. I didn't want to spend so much money and be disappointed. Even 6 months in advance, the palace itself was fully booked, as we visited in the middle of the Saltzburg festival.
On arrival in Salzburg, we had to evidence our hotel booking to a police officer to get our car into the city. We were told that this is quite normal, and that if you are a tourist without a hotel booking you have to do park and ride!!
The Meierhof was a lovely building, and both our rooms were newly updated, facing the peaceful courtyard. We were very impressed with them in every way, including fans on ready for us. (no aircon)
The hotel was hosting a ball, so we couldn't eat there. They sent us 5 mins. walk to the other side of the lake, with umbrellas, to a lovely reasonable picturesque restaurant (name was "wirt" something) which can be seen from the front lawn across the lake. This was great, as it enabled us to see the palace from a distance, and they gave us a free drink! I'm easily bought......the food was excellent.
We slept like babies. In the morning, there were preparations underway for a marriage on the terrace by the lake. Wow!! We were free to explore the palace as we wished.
Breakfast was amazing, in the ballroom. Fabulous.
On checking out, we happened to see inside another room on the other side of the corridor......this was the decor I had seen on trip advisor photos. Thank goodness we had been given a refurbished room. This one looked seriously mid-eighties and would not have suited us at all.....

Room Tip: Insist on a refurbished room. First floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Stephanie

Thank you for your kind review of Schloss Leopoldskron. I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Indeed, the Schloss and Meierhof do not have air condition but we have an army of fans ready for action when needed.

Your room in the Meierhof was indeed one that had recently been refurbished. However, you will be pleased to know that later this year/early next year we are starting a comprehensive renovation of the Meierhof building during which all guest rooms will be refurbished.

The restaurant you are mentioning is the "Weiher Wirt", our partner restaurant just a few minutes walking around our picturesque lake, where hotel guests receive a free aperitif. The views of the Schloss from the Weiher Wirt are indeed wonderful (especially towards sunset!), as is the contemporary interpretation of Austrian food there.

I am glad you were able to explore the Schloss (palace): unlike a museum, all the public areas in the Schloss are open for hotel guests to visit, except during events, when some rooms may not be available to see.

Thank you for your comment on breakfast, the Marble Hall in which it is served, with its terrace overlooking the idyllic lake (subject to good weather) does indeed provide a wonderful setting.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Schloss Leopoldskron, perhaps you might want to experience one of our twelve suites in the Schloss next time?

Looking forward to meeting you in Salzburg I remain with

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

An unforgettable experience living in a historic palace.

Note: there are actually two hotels in this property - the suites in the actual Schloss, and rooms in the Meierhof. This review is of a suite in the Schloss.

Staying here was definitely a highlight of our trip. It is owned by a NFP educational institute, not a hotel, so don't expect 4 or 5 star frills like concierge and room service. But the plus side is that you get a very authentic experience living in this architectural masterpiece.

You are free to walk around inside the palace and explore its many treasures, including the breathtaking library and Venetian Room, with its mirrors and panelled walls. There are few other people around, so it feels quite private. Breakfast in the main hall is also an experience, as is just admiring the view of the lake from where the Sound of Music was shot.

An absolute must for SoM fans. Sitting on the same spot where they had pink lemonade - "not too sweet not too sour, just a little...pink!" - gives you the thrills, as does standing in the balcony where the Captain and the Baroness broke up.

Mind you, the furnishing inside the room was old - our couch had a tear, and the wardrobes could have been from the 18th century. But those were minor issues considering the beauty of the location.

It's reasonably well located, away from the main city, but only a scenic 15 minute walk through beautiful fields and (Maria's) Nonnberg Abbey.

Would highly recommend a stay in the Schloss, especially if you're a Sound of Music fan.

Room Tip: Beg, plead, kidnap and ransom for a room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Virad

Thank you for your kind feedback on your recent stay at Schloss Leopoldskron. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Sound of Music is a big part of our history and it's not only the hills that are alive but also all our public areas. I am glad you took advantage of the possibility of strolling through all the wonderful rooms in the Schloss.

We are indeed owned by an American NPO but we are also a real hotel, although not a five star hotel with a long list of exclusive services. What we do offer is genuine Austrian hospitality and our team is committed to exceeding guests' expectations as much as possible. As you correctly write, unfortunately we do not offer room service, but our 24 hour Reception staff will - like any Concierge - be happy to assist with requests, make restaurant bookings, arrange tours and excursions and suggest the best places to visit while in Salzburg.

I am sorry to hear you found the furniture old, but, well, it is. The Schloss is an authentic, 277-year old, historic property and all our suites feature period furniture, including some wardrobes that are really from the 18th century. This is part of what makes this place so charming. However, this doesn't mean that the couches can have tears and I shall have that looked at and repaired, apologies for that and thanks for pointing it out.

Again, thank you for your review. I do hope to welcome you back to the Schloss and have a glass of pink lemonade with you on our terrace. Until then I remain with

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knonau, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is a 18th century castle, adapted and restored, very well kept. A beautiful lake and park are nearby; the location is still close to the city, but completely immersed in the green and very cilent. During my stay I was only able to ear, in the morning, some goose near the lake (they are a number, going often around in the park and very funny to see).
The hotel hosts marvellous rooms and a huge biblioteque, with origianal historycal documents about the life of Max Reinhardht, who lived here in the last part of his life. The price is in the average and appears really cheap if compared to the value of the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear boogiesurf

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Schloss Leopoldskron. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am glad you met our resident geese! They love roaming our gardens and provide a pleasant sight for our guests.

Our beautiful library, home to over 15'000 books and commissioned by Max Reinhardt, was modeled after the Stiftsbibliothek Sankt Gallen in Switzerland. I do hope you also visited some of the other wonderful rooms in the Schloss, like the Chinese Room, the Judge McGowan Room or our small chapel?

Thank you also for hinting on value for money. Our rates include parking, wi-fi and breakfast and as such are very competitive but the beauty and exclusivity of the Schloss and grounds are unmatched, especially this close to the center of Salzburg (a 20 minute stroll).

I look forward to welcoming you back to Schloss Leopoldskron and remain with

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Gorgeous place, which over the centuries was an archbishop's palace, Max Reinhardt's home, German army headquarters, an NGO meeting place and a site for the 1964 movie The Sound of Music. The palace public rooms are beautiful, especially the Venetian Room, and you can hardly keep from singing "Do, Re, Mi" when looking out over the stone horses facing the pond. Stay in one of the 12 suites if you can. Some are nicer than others and all are nicer than the regular rooms in the building next door. Pleasant 20 minute walk to old town Salzburg, and an easy walk around the lake to where movie fans come in droves to photograph the charming hotel that lucky you are staying in.

Room Tip: Reserve a suite in the palace, but some are much larger than others, so try to see them first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielszelenyi, General Manager at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Pueblohouse

Thank you for feedback on your recent stay at Schloss Leopoldskron. As the new General Manager I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

The history of the Schloss and adjacent Meierhof is very much alive and among others The Sound of Music plays a very important role for us. In fact, we just had Elizabeth von Trapp visit the Schloss again! Have a look at our Facebook page for more information and pictures: facebook.com/schlossleopoldskron

Our 12 suites in the Schloss indeed vary in size and each one is a unique piece. One thing they have in common is their period furniture and lovely views either over the peaceful garden, the Salzburg fortress or the idyllic lake and mountains.

Like you say, it is only a 20 minute stroll into town but as I am committed to constantly improving our services, facilities and infrastructure we have just introduced a brand new red Vespa scooter available for rent, allowing you to reach the city in less than 10 minutes.

Later this year we will also start a comprehensive renovation to enhance our rooms and public areas in the Meierhof building.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Schloss and showing you all the exciting news which I am sure will also become part of your 'favorite things".

Best regards
Daniel Szelényi
General Manager
Schloss Leopoldskron & Meierhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron

Address: Leopoldskronstrasse 56 - 58, Salzburg 5010, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 55 rooms, 12 suites, and three townhouses, the historic palace of Schloss Leopoldskron, birthplace of the Salzburg Festival and a location for the filming of “The Sound of Music”, is an exclusive and discreet hideaway just minutes from the center of Salzburg. Built in 1736, and surrounded by 17 acres of manicured grounds, the palace is nestled by a small, idyllic lake, and features majestic views over the mountains and the Hohensalzburg Fortress. The hotel features a small café, fitness center, and over 1000m2 of spectacular function space, which is also used for international strategic convening conducted by the Salzburg Global Seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Leopoldskron Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.