We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay in Beautiful Salzburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cicubo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Cicubo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Cicubo Hotel
Vogelweiderstr. 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 59 Salzburg B&B and Inns
1 review
“A stay in Beautiful Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were visiting Salzburg for 6 days in October and selected the Villa Cicubo as our hotel. We chose it as it looked very central and was very reasonably priced. We were not disappointed. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The small breakfast selection was adequate and in fact on our first morning the reception girl actually went and purchased cakes just for us. The location is just out of the main centre but there is a good selection of restaurants and bars locally.
The hotel would have got 5 stars but for two very minor issues. In one room the heating kept coming on during the early hours of the morning, making the room too hot. That said it was warm when we stayed but prior to that there had been some cold weather and snow. In the other room in the evening there was a strong smell of curry from the next door restaurant. This didn't concern me as I love curry but I could see it upsetting lesser fans.
We would highly recommend the hotel and wouldn't hesitate in booking to stay again. The minor problems were far outweighed by all the positives.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Villa Cicubo for 2 nights. We had initially booked for 3 nights but had to cancel 1 night since our flight from India got cancelled. But they were kind enough to refund 1 night at no cost although they could have legitimately cut 50%, we really appreciated that.

The hotel itself is well-located, about 500m walk to the LinzeGasse walking area to the riverside. Its a nice, easy walk. We chose Villa Cicubo because it represented value-for-money in Aug'13 when tourists from all over flock to Salzburg.

The front desk staff is not present 24 hrs and go away at night. But that doesnt ever act as a deterrence. Breakfast is not served but they keep coffee, granola bars and fruit yogurt and fruits at the reception for residents to access at most times.

The only complaint was this - the fridge did not work for both the days we were there. While this was communicated to the front desk immediately on check-in, I don't think they really cared to call someone to check. It remained so till we left.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The rooms were clean and tidy. The bathroom is small but it looks brand new with the I Lu downfall that there is not shower curtain so the floor gets quite wet and sometimes dangerous.
The Hotel does not offer breakfast but you they offer coffee and tea at all times and in the mornings you can grab some fruit, a Muslim bar or some sweet boulangerie on your way out the door.
The staff is very friendly and speak many languages apart from German which becomes very handy.
The hotel is located around 15 min walking distance to the town otherwise you can catch bus No. 4 and you'll be in town in less than 10min.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I spent 13 nights at the Villa Cicubo, in good conditions, in a clean, but not very large room. When booking the stay, they do not offer breakfast, but on your way out you can take free of charge some fruits, yogurt, or coffee.
The staff was helpful and kind with most of my requests.
The Villa's location is not very far from the city centre, about 15-20 minutes walk if your are not in a hurry.
A downside for me was the fact that the rooms are not very good isolated, so you might hear the neighbors. Also, you had to borrow a hairdryer each time you washed your hair.
Any way, all-together I recommend it, though If you stay for a longer period of time than few days or a week-end, you may want to stay closer to the centre.

Room Tip: Make sure you are staying at the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel prior to travelling home from Croatia. Hotel is coveniently located, walking distance to town (10 mins top). Check in went smoothly, since the hotel does not have a 24 hour reception there was no one to check us out early morning but that was no deal breaker. As the receptionist informed us that we could leave the key on the desk when leaving.
Room was clean. Not big though but not too small either. Bed was comfy, fridge plus freezer a very welcome asset. Wifi connection all throughout was fast.
Shower does not have a shower curtain but it certainly did not turn into a swimming pool after showering. The bathroom floor dried quickly so there have been no slippery accidents or whatsoever.
If I should comment about 1 thing, I would say the parking for the hotel. When we first arrived at the parking we were not so sure about leaving our car there though. But in all fairness, nothing happened to our car curing our entire stay.
Nonetheless, I would say that the parking leaves room for improvement.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked 3 rooms at this hotel. We arrived to find out that the hotel was over booked and we ended up having 3 people in a very small room. Management was apologetic but did not really bend over backwards to make it right.

The room itself was small and clean but that was the only positive thing in the room. There was no alarm clock in the room. Bathroom was very small and no doors or curtain on the shower making the floor extremely wet when showering. Also, no shower floor mat.

No breakfast at the hotel. The hotel advertised a discounted breakfast at a local restaurant but we could not find the place...it was at least a 15 minute walk.

We tried to check out early and cancel our second nights stay but there was no one at the reception desk to check us out. Finally at 10 am I called the number for the hotel and someone came to check us out.

Location is not the safest. We were able to park our car in the lot across the street. There was broken car window glass all over.

In all we would not recommend this place at all.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanaB2, Geschäftsführer at Villa Cicubo Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Google Translation
Tatsächlich handelte es sich bei diesen Gästen um einen Fehler an der Rezeption - wir waren mit einem Zimmer und einer Nacht überbucht.
Daraufhin haben wir versucht für die Kundin ein Zimmer in unseren Partnerhotels zu buchen, was sich zu Pfingsten als ein unmögliches Unterfangen herausgestellt hat.

Wir fragten die Kundin ob Sie die eine Nacht nicht bei Ihren Eltern schlafen könnte - und haben die Dame komplett kostenfrei (statt 55€) übernachten lassen - das war das wenigste was wir tun konnten, da in der Gegend sonst nichts mehr frei war.

Es hat sich aber auch herausgestellt, dass bei der Kundin selbst ein Irrtum vorlag - die eigentlich ein anderes Hotel mit ähnlichem Namen buchen wollte - und auch der Meinung war, dass Sie in diesem Hotel sei. Leider konnten wir den 4 Sterne Erwartungen der Kundin nicht entsprechen.

Wir entschuldigen uns nochmal recht herzlich für den Vorfall, und finden es schade, dass unsere Bemühungen nicht anerkannt wurden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very good services: not far from the town centre (1 km= 10 minutes)
The room was perfect, cleaned and very comfortable and all people who work in Villa CiCubo are kindly and lovable.
The little breakfast on the morning was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Cicubo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicubo Hotel

Address: Vogelweiderstr. 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historical city villa, designed by the famous Salzburg architect Jacob Ceconi, has been successfully restored by the Michaylov family and has found new life as a modern city hotel with 8 rooms. The combination of the historical architecture and design interior makes this exclusive city hotel the perfect accomodation for your stay in the Mozart city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Cicubo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cicubo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.