We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please get a better receptionist” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scherer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Scherer Hotel to your Saves list
Scherer Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plainstrasse 37, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Please get a better receptionist”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is close to the train station and bus stop. The room is OK, The breakfast is good. The internet is quite expensive. We booked a double and triple room. Some of the staff is helpful but not all. Some of them are rude. When we are checking out, the receptionist hurried us to pay them so much that it annoyed me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    20
    13
    15
See reviews for
17
34
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

When looking for hotels we didnt have many options left due to booked out.
But this was a very good option. While it is out of the city centre, it is walking distance to the train station with our luggage, even in the cold.
We walked into the old town the first evening along the river, enjoying the snow fall. Took 30min i guess. Busses to and from are easy once the tri-lingual staff explained where to get on off.
Breakfast very good and staff freindly and seemed to enjoy helping with our school-level german even though they spoke good-great english.
Our 3-bed room was good with bathroom renovated in the last few years. Clean and warm with a view to rear houses.

Room Tip: 3 bed rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were more than happy with this friendly, family-run hotel; efficient service, very large room, plenty hot water in bathroom, good bed. Hotel has an adjacent carpark which gave us free parking for our hire car, very important. Walking distance to railway station and several good restaurants. Breakfast was also terrific, lots of choice and refreshed regularly. Nothing but good to say here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel we booked a double room which was of decent size and clean, the feel of hotel is vintage..the staff was very polite and helpful. Breakfast was really good.We liked the fact that it was very near to main station as we were in this city for limited time and dint wanted to waste too much time searching or travelling for checking in the hotel after arrival in city..Overall we had a pleasant stay..If you plan to stay here the shortest way from main railway station get out of the main gate there is burger king outlet walk straight towards the city you will see shops muller, depot etc on right hand side keep on walking straight on 3rd or 4th left turn u see a shop board called Fahrschule take that left turn and you'll see the hotel after few buildings. City center is 30min walk from the hotel..moreover Bus number 25 from the bus stop near main railway station can take you to most of the city attractions and city center including Untersburg.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were impressed with the hotel, friendly & helpful staff, delicious scrambled egg for breakfast. Shame we saw other guests filling their water bottles with the orange juice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had read the reviews of some previous customers and were braced for issues. However, we were delighted with the people at the hotel who worked hard to please us. The room is basic but clean. The breakfast was nice and could be eaten outside on a shady terrace. The location provided free parking in a safe lot which was a plus. You are a 15 minute walk from the center of town. It appears as if management has taken the past reviews into consideration. The Austrian woman who greeted us was lovely and spoke very good English. She provided a map of the sights and gave us some helpful hints.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Upon paying on our departure day, the desk clerk operated the credit card device twice, telling me that the first time did not work out. I was worried about a double charge.
However, the clerk told me not to worry and that in case of a double charge the hotel will reimburse us.
Some days after we returned home I looked at the credit card report and realized that indeed I was charged twice on the same sum of about 600 Euros.
The credit card company told me to ask the hotel to cancel the extra deal (the money was not yet withdrawn from our bank account). The hotel management refused to do so and asked for my bank details in order to pay me directly. At that time I thought they mean to compensate me for the double charge. But that was not the case: instead of returning me the extra charge, they gave me less money. It came up to a loss of about 60 Euros (including the currency exchange commission). All my requests from Hotel Scherer to give me the money they have taken (by their mistake) were completely ignored.
I really cannot understand that kind of a behavior from the hotel. It is simply a theft!!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scherer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scherer Hotel

Address: Plainstrasse 37, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scherer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in the city center. Air condition in all rooms, WIFI, Welcome Tray, Sound of Music, we look forward to welcoming you with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Otel, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scherer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scherer Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scherer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.