We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria Salzburg to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 7, Salzburg A-5020 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This hotel is very convenient for a visit to Salzburg as there is a bus stop directly across the street putting you just a few stops away from Mirabelle Gardens and the fortress. The rooms are very nice. Parking is very limited though hotel guests are allowed to use some of the residential parking in the area. The breakfast was good, juices, brotchen, cheese and meats, and yogurts with some cereal. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you are interested in taking a Panorama Sound of Music Tour, book it through the hotel and they will arrange for free pick up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
38
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in this family Hotel (for the third time) and I was very satisfied again. That is a very nice staff there, Hotel is clean, rooms are nice, good breakfast- and that is a walking distance (15 minutes)to the main City center.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and even though my fiancee fell sick throughout the entire time we were at Salzburg, the experience at Hotel Astoria was great. The hotel was about 10 stops away from the main train station (15-20 minute bus ride) and two/three stops from the old town - not the absolute best location, but Salzurg is a small town, and the area around the hotel had all the amenities that you will need for your stay here (there is a Pennymarkt and another department/grocery store around the corner) Hotel Astoria has a really cozy feel about it. Right off the bat, the receptionist (who was on duty when we arrived at about 6pm) was really helpful. She had a lively and cheerful personality which impressed upon both of us. The room was extremely clean and tidy, with a small balcony overlooking the main road. Breakfast was good - a decent selection of (and the usual) breads, cereals, cold cuts, yogurt and fruit.
My booking included two 48hr Salzburg cards for our two night stay, which meant that most of the attractions in Salzburg, including public transportation, was free! All in all, great value, great comfort, great service, and this is definitely one hotel I'll come back to on my return trip to Salzburg.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here over Christmas with my husband and a friend. The staff were unbelievably helpful!
On Christmas Day we wanted to go to a nice Austrian restaurant but many were booked out. One of the girls on reception rang around until she found us a restaurant and made a reservation for us - she was very helpful!
Rooms were nice, spacious, clean and quiet. Breakfast was lovely, good quality and fresh. Not as extensive range as other hotels but good quality.
Internet is not in your room, you have to buy internet credit from reception and you get a code/password: they do say you can buy six hours worth and use it whenever you want, but once you log out once you can't get back into it again - just use it all up at once if you want to.
They did let us use the computer in the breakfast area since we didn't bring a laptop.
We arrived by train and caught a bus from the main train station. Easy enough to get to - the bus stop is just across the road.
Markets nearby are lovely, but lots of places do close down over the Christmas period.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed one night here last weekend and it was a very comfortable hotel. The rooms were very modern looking and clean. They made us an early breakfast since we were leaving before 7 which was nice. Staff was helpful and in general the hotel was quiet. It was about a 15 minute walk to the old town but we knew this ahead of time and it was easily doable. The location of the hotel is very near to the Stiegl Brewery which was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This family-run hotel is your place to stay if you don't like the tourist crowds - and overly expensive hotels - in the Altstadt. Easily reached by bus or a good 2-km walk from the city center. Rooms are not big but sufficient. Ours had a nice balcony with two chairs where we enjoyed the sunny moments of the early spring. Bathroom was somewhat outdated but spotless clean. The breakfast buffet is a good bonus with various breads, cheeses, cereals etc. Very generous. All together good value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Pro:
-?recently renovated
-bus stop in front of hotel
-reasonable breakfast

Con:
-no air conditioner ( do not stay in the attic during summer.. Is HOT!! You get a fan but.. Kinda useless)
-no wifi (? 6 Euro for certain hour/hours )
-spider in the toilet
-services very depending on which staff is on (could be abit unhelpful if you don't speak their language)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Salzburg

Address: Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 7, Salzburg A-5020 , Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astoria Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.