We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel zur Post

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel zur Post to your Saves list
Hotel zur Post
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

We were a family of 5 and stayed in the family room one for one night. This was a very nice place. The structure itself is very nice. It's pretty and well kept up, and easy to find.

The room had 2 bedrooms connected by a hallway. The beds were comfortable. The furniture was very nice. The bathrooms were very large, very modern and very clean.

The breakfast was very nice. Scrambled eggs, bacon, cold cuts, different breads, fresh fruit were all available. The breakfast room is very nice.

The staff at the hotel were very nice. They recommended a lovely Austrian hotel we never would have found on our own, provided us with directions and a map to it, and made reservations for us. They spoke perfect English. They were very polite.

We are budget travelers, so we did find the price here high. However, it was the cheapest hotel available while we were there. The hotel prices are just very high in the area.

We would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    52
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
52
41
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

Me and my girlfriend just came back from an otherwise terrible ski week-end. Terrible it was because of the weather. The only part was this family hotel, with its fantastic breakfast, professional, smiling, (beautiful) staff, wonderful shower (room 11) that we enjoyed fully. I wanted to book a room for less (we paid EUR 88 for the 2-bedroom w/ breakfast) but i did not regret choosing this place. I was satisfied with the number of parking places

  • Liked — breakfast,
  • Disliked — no possibility to dry wet skiing clothes, German TV channels with only 1 English channel
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

Zur Post is a very nice hotel but it is not perfect. To start with the positives: our room was big, very nicely furnished (with a very comfortable bed) and spotlessly clean. The location of the hotel is not too far from the city center by bus or even on foot. We actually enjoyed the walk. As we had a room at the back of the property the busy road did not bother us (and it is not that busy at night anyway). Staff were very helpful, especially in preparing a packed breakfast on the night before our departure (we had to leave early). There are a few negatives though. Firstly, smoking is allowed in the breakfast room. There is a non-smoking section but not very effective, you still get the smell. Secondly, there is no ventilation in the bathroom and it does get rather foggy. Finally, although there are a few nice restaurants in the area, the dining-out options are limited and you may have to go back into town for dinner. The same applies to other evening/night activities. So, a good hotel for a good price, but if you like to be in the middle of the action you may want to stay closer to town.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Smoking in the breakfast room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

We stayed in Salzburg over New Year and trying to find a hotel in the Altstadt was impossible. The Zur Post wasn't our first choice but we could not fault it. We arrived late at night and our attempts to find somewhere to eat failed. The person on reception kindly gave us some bread, ham, cake and fruit which we ate in our room. Our family room was spacious and comfortable and the location is good being on a frequent bus route to the city centre and a short taxi ride to the airport. All in all could not fault this hotel which offers great value for money.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Stayed for four nights at the zur Post in Salzburg this summer and really enjoyed the experience. Had a room for a family in the annexe at the rear of the hotel - 2 connected rooms ( 1 double and 1 with twin beds) with a shared bathroom. Can't agree with last reviewer though. Our stay was quiet and the bathroom was large and well fitted out - bedroom furniture very comfortable and included a large sofa in double room.
Excellent buffet breakfast each morning which was constantly refreshed by very attentive staff. Great breakfast room - very clean and fresh, giving a lovely start to the day.
Reception desk staff all extremely helpful and informative, giving precisely the information asked for. All details given during our booking (done by phone in an extremely efficient manner with good English spoken) were correct and quickly sorted out on departure.
20-30 minute walk into town depending on your speed of walking - all on the flat and on a straight road, past many shops and straight into centre, next to Festival Halls. We walked on some days and used the Number 1 bus on others. Very frequent and efficient service which is included in the price of a Salzburg Card. I think this is a must of you are here for a few days and plan on visiting the many interesting and varied attractions in and around Salzburg. We worked out that we saved 50% on entrance fees to the many attractions (again easily reached at no extra cost by one of the different buses).
Salzburg itself is beautiful and a real experience at festival time. How lovely to see so many people dressed up in full evening-wear to go to the theatre/opera - just walking round the streets and eating at pavement cafes/restaurants. Add to this the people dressed in traditional Austrian clothes, obviously something they do as a matter of course as we saw many dressed in this fashion going to the market near the Mirabelle gardens, and a wonderful picture is painted. Have visited many European cities but have never been to one like this - quiet, no traffic to speak of in the old town, really clean and inviting.
Would highly recommend a short break to Salzburg and the Zur Post for really good value for money.

  • Liked — Clean, welcoming and really good value for money.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Zur Post, Salzburg in December 2006. We were not impressed with the hotel., mainly from the point of view that the photos on their website do not match the room we were given. The location of the hotel was ok (noisy street), an easy bus ride to the city but the hotel was nothing special. The room we stayed in does not resemble any of the photos the Hotel places on their website. Those rooms look modern, with well appointed bathrooms. Instead, we were located in the building beside the main part of the hotel, on the 2nd floor (no lift). Steep flight of stairs with ‘timer’ lighting. A couple of times the lights went out and we were in complete darkness midway down the flight of stairs. A ridiculous idea. Our room was large but the furnishings and linens dated. The bathroom was tiny and poorly laid out with an awkward glass screen you had to move to get in and out of the bathtub in order to have a shower. No hard soaps provided, only liquid soap with the dispenser placed above the hand basin (on the other side the room to the shower/bathtub). We were not sure how you were expected to reach the soap dispenser while you were having a shower (climb in and out of the bathtub?). Towels were like bits of cardboard with holes. Luckily we were in the room facing away from the road as it is very busy all day and night. Breakfast was satisfactory but nothing special. Overall the service wasn’t very warm. As I said, the room was the biggest disappointment. We were expecting something like the photos on the Hotel Zur Post website. Maybe that’s in the main building, it's certainly not the 2nd building beside the hotel.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Loved this hotel ! Stayed here for 1 night.

+ve's
Quick check in.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Exceptional cleanliness throughout.
Spacious room and bathroom.
Short walk to centre (approx 15 mins).
Bus stop right outside.
Excellent breakfast.
Only 10 mins from SZG airport by bus.
Quiet street with a chinese restaurant and pizzaria nearby.
Excellent value for money
Lovely 'home from home' feel.
Luggage storage no problem.
Salzburg citymap provided.

-ve's
None

Tips:
Airport to Hotel by bus. Take bus no.2 to Hans-Schmid-Pl (5 stops), then change to bus no.1 (dir centre) for a further 2 stops. If you don't mind a 5 minute walk, don't bother with bus no.1

Trust me, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zur Post

Address: Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, seekda GmbH, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Post Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel zur Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.