We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel zur Post

Save Saved
You added Hotel zur Post to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel zur Post
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
MALTA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel zur Post is a small hotel on the outskirts of central Salzburg. One can easily reach the center using tram No 1 which stops in front of the hotel. The hotel room was clean, receptionists were polite and could communicate well in English, breakfast was enjoyable. The only setback was the free wifi from the room which wasn't working at all. This was very annoying for us as we plan the holiday day by day through searching the internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    52
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
45
36
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at Hotel zur Post this past weekend while visiting Salzburg alone. The reception was extremely courteous (English) and I found my room to be as advertised in this forum-- clean, comfortable, and quiet. The bathroom was spotless and included a spacious shower. The room was of adequate size with a closet, flatscreen TV, free wireless internet, and a DVD player. As an American, I would've loved an A/C unit but I've become used to being without it while in Europe and the windows opened overnight provided enough cool air to remain comfortable. There is no subway but the bus system is easy to use and a stop is across the street from the hotel. The breakfasts were included and were excellent-- breads, danishes, fruit, cold meats, juice, etc. As I mentioned, every time I visited the reception desk for assistance, clear English was spoken and directions were provided with much courtesy. As a reasonably-priced family-owned Bed & Breakfast located 10 minutes from the altstadt, this hotel is an excellent choice. I would recommend this hotel to colleagues and I would stay there again with my wife.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here at the start and end of cycle trip and it's relatively easy to find, easy to get to from the station (using bus) and the river/town is a 15/20 minute walk away. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the annex the first night. The rooms there are a bit more dated than the rooms in the main building with we stayed in on our final night. Both rooms were big and comfortable. Breakfasts are very good, even by the usually excellent Austrian standard. Overall a great little hotel, recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I chose this hotel as a way station on our way to Hungary. It is located outside but close to the historic area. We stayed in a family apartment, which resembled a suite but accommodated four adults well. The bathroom was large. The room included a breakfast, free wifi, as well as free parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our reception staff was very friendly and called our tour company for us when they were late/forgot to pick us up and helped us coordinate our trip. The building is charming from the outside and we had a large triple room with a big bathroom that met our needs. It was a little outdated, but good enough as we were only in the room for naps/evenings. Our room was right at the front of the hotel on the street so it gave it a "city" feel but we didn't mind. And at night the traffic died down anyways and we were so exhausted from all the walking we fell right asleep and didn't wake until morning. The breakfast was decent, however some of the workers weren't very friendly. We couldn't tell if it's just because they don't like Americans or what... but most didn't speak English (or pretended that they didn't). Although this isn't really a reflection on the hotel so much as the location, we found it next to impossible to find restaurants in the evening. A man nearby told us we would have to take a bus to the city center to find anywhere open past 8! We also loved all the windows the hotel provided. They also offered laundry service for $10 euro/load which was great because we gave them our clothes at night and they brought them to us in the morning. We found it worth the cost as we were on vacation for 2 weeks and needed some clean clothes. They wouldn't have dried had we washed them in the sink because it was so damp (we were there the week of the floods). All in all, a good stay.

Room Tip: If you will be bringing a lot of luggage, get a room on the 2nd floor- there are no elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The reception staff were generally helpful & friendly. The room presentation & bathroom facilities were disappointing. Breakfast was reasonable & would normally be acceptable in the UK, Holland or Czech Republic. However, we found the general food presentation & quality in Austria very good so we had experienced better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here American Thanksgiving weekend 2012. Clean room, updated bathroom a plus. Had two bedrooms, both very quiet. Amazing when we opened the windows how we realized it was so quiet with the windows closed. Breakfast was good and actually quite varied in it's options. Staff was on task and very considerate. Got the 24hr bus pass, bus stops in front of the hotel, so super easy 5-10 min ride in to Salzburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zur Post

Address: Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zur Post 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Post Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel zur Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.