We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like peace and quiet with easy access to old Salzburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steinerhof

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steinerhof
Moosstrasse 138, Salzburg A-5020 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Chico, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you like peace and quiet with easy access to old Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My daughter and I loved our stay at the beautiful Steinerhof! Norbert and his family were all so friendly and helpful. The don't speak a lot of English but they work hard to please the guests. We enjoyed being away from the crowds and surrounded by the peaceful countryside. The yard is beautiful with sitting areas and a little pond. The house is just how I pictured an old Austrian country house with window boxes filled with flowers.The room we stayed in had a small deck where we enjoyed the view of Untersberg, farm land and the sunset. A nice reprieve after the hustle and bustle of tourist crowds. It's an easy bus ride from the center of old Salzburg and you can get bus passes for one day or multiple days. They serve a beautiful breakfast of juice, meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruit and fresh breads. I would recommend an early dinner in Salzburg (the Augustiner is fun) before heading back for a quiet evening and restful night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here in may..we were a family with kids...the place is done up very nicely ..problems started just after check in when the owners wife came up to our rooms and stated that no food can be had in the rooms! since we were with small kids it was a silly request...also the hotel is far away from the city centre and there are no restaurants nearby...we decided to move to another hotel the next day..if not for the unfriendly owners i think this place would be a good option to stay on moosstrasse..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our fourth stay over eight years, what more can we say; Norbert and Renate are perfect hosts. It is an exceptional home with beautiful gardens and the views from our bedroom were wonderful - mountains and flowers. The location is quiet, with a bus taking you to Salzburg in 15 minutes. We enjoyed a typical hearty Austrian breakfast - yoghurt, eggs, fruit, cereals, cold meats, variety of breads, coffee & tea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent two night in this old and charming place in September 2012.
Norbert, the owner, is a very pleasant gentleman, friendly and hospitable.
The hotel is an old farm typical of the region.
The rooms are not fancy, but they are well kept and clean. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our family of 3 really enjoyed our stay at Gaesthaus Steinerhof. Norbert added a single bed to our room for our son, which worked well. The guest house is located in a suburb of Salzburg. There are a few houses in front and to the side of the guesthouse, but only fields and a view of the mountains to the rear, so you feel like you are in the countryside. The gardens and regular landscaping are very nice. Our room only had one small window with a few of the barn. Our room and the entire guesthouse were very clean. Our host, Norbert, was very friendly. His English is limited, but a whole lot better than my German. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. We ate twice at one of them, the Reiterhof. I am going to review it on TA as well. Breakfast was fine. The only negative is that you have to take the bus into Salzburg, which was not difficult. We paid 80 Euros per night for 3 people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We appreciated staying in a quiet residential area with efficient and direct bus service into the city rather than battling the traffic. Our room was clean and comfortable with a balcony with a view of the mountains and the lovely, meticulously manicured gardens below. The flowers, inside and outside, were gorgeous. Herr Haslauer speaks only a little English, but his enthusiasm and warmth made us feel quite welcome. Breakfast was nicely laid out on our table, rather than buffet style. We had a great biergarten dinner at Pflegerbrucke, a few miles away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenems, Vorarlberg, Austria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The rooms were quite old, but it did have some flair too. Breakfast was alright, nothing special, but we were satisfied. If we had stayed a bit longer, it would have been more of a problem. In the end my girlfriend and I had a nice trip to Salzburg. The owner is a very nice fellow and highly motivated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steinerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steinerhof

Address: Moosstrasse 138, Salzburg A-5020 , Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 135 hotels in Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steinerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Steinerhof to your Saves list