We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imlauer & Brau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Imlauer & Brau to your Saves list
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 12-14, Salzburg A-5020, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great hotel with excellent location if you travel by train. Walking distance to old town and on your way you pass beautiful Mirabell Gardens. The rooms are spacious and bathrooms are large with a good choice of facilities. Good working AC, perfect in the summer heat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RolfandMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent four nights here and overall and had an excellent experience. The location is about a 10-15 minute walk from Old Town but is quite close to Mirabelle Gardens (many tours leave from there) and only 5 minutes from the train station. First, the rooms are very spacious and the air conditioning works quite well. Salzburg was in the midst of a heat wave (35-37C) and we slept very comfortably. The bathrooms are also very large with a spacious sink. WiFi always worked and their parking is very close and easy to navigate. The breakfast was excellent with a broad selection (including English/American choice like scrambled eggs and sausage). We found the staff very helpful and service-oriented. The hotel restaurant is quite good and has a lovely outside patio. We like it so much we had dinner there four nights in a row. It was a great place to gather after a day of touring. This property doesn't have the curb appeal of an older, more charming property but is a great choice for staying in Salzburg. Even though it is on a bust street and the railway is nearby, the rooms are very well insulated--we were never disturbed by outside street or rail traffic noise

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MitchThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Arrived during a heat wave. What a blessing to have air con. Plus a nice bath, blackout curtains, quiet windows, included parking. And nice outdoor dining under the lights and trees. (Yes, you should try the goulash.) All within a nice mile walk to the altstadt of Salzburg. The staff was helpful, courteous, and informed. We stayed three days in Salzburg and this was a great base.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I think there were two side-by-side hotels bought by the Imlauers, turned into Best Westerns, each had a lobby with a different feel, but the reception desk opened to both sides. One side modern, the other traditional. A little weird at first, just don't get confused, you can enter either side and use lobby facilities on either side (luggage room, computer, breakfast room).

We stayed on the modern side. The room was comfortable enough ('American-ish') and had a nice big windows and a view toward the mountain and some more traditional buildings. It isn't advisable to sleep with the windows open, because it's right in the back yard of the station tracks where the trains come and go, but with the windows closed, it's fine.

Breakfast was in a charming courtyard with every imaginable breakfast food. You want to linger.

Location right down the street from Mirabell Gardens where every bus seems to make a stop, so very convenient. Staff was very helpful many times, but didn't seem to know about the summer toboggan track nearby, a highlight of our trip once we found it, but that's for another review.

Weak wifi, handy computer in the lobby though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jozig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Best Western Hotel Imlauer shares a lobby with the Best Western Stiegelbrau. It is in a great location walking distance from the train station and just a short walk across the river from Old Salzburg. The rooms were large. Only issue we had was a weak wifi signal--we were on the ground floor but had to sit in the lobby to use the internet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlamingoAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of an Austrian tour and stayed for two nights. Our room on the second floor (207) was spacious with a large double bed, a comfortable seating area, a bath/shower and air conditioning. Also provided were tea/coffee making and free wifi. The room was quiet and we slept well.
The staff were pleasant to us and the hotel very clean.
Our stay included buffet breakfast and dinner. The breakfast was perfectly OK with cold meats and cheeses, hot bacon sausages and eggs, cereals, fruit and a toaster for the bread.and kept replenished (eventually). The jugs of coffee provided on the breakfast tables were awful,( but they were awful at our other hotel on the tour too).
Dinner was a good choice of meat fish, veggie dish and sides as well as soup and desserts.
We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with numbers in the hundreds - e.g. 106, 205, 310 - they are in the newer part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Friendly staff. Large rooms however the rooms are very basic. No safe. Handy to old town and a shopping centre nearby. The breakfast is terrible and the coffee I took one mouthful only as it was that bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rydeboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#17 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#24 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#34 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#45 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#22 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imlauer & Brau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer & Brau

Address: Rainerstrasse 12-14, Salzburg A-5020, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Altstadt)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer & Brau 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Imlauer & Brau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Imlauer
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing