We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umbrellas loaned for free in beautiful cultural city of Salzburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau

Save Saved
You added Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Richard-Mayr-Gasse 2, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 59 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Tenerife
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Umbrellas loaned for free in beautiful cultural city of Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights in this central hotel. It was an old hotel which has been gutted and refurbished to a high standard. The staff on reception were very helpful. We had an adapter break, a kettle decide to die and we were able to free loan a replacement for them both. We took one hotel breakfast on our last day, as we were flying to Stansted in the morning and wanted a good start to the day. We took a taxi to the airport, but there were cheaper ways to do that if you had wanted to do. We are a retired couple and don't necessarily want to have to struggle with cases and rucksacks for far, so now budget in the occasional taxi fare. Austria is very expensive everywhere, so you will need to budget for that.

The weather wasn't particlarly kind to us, but as there was a tub of freely available umbrellas use I don't not think that unusual in Salzburg!!

The room was comfortable and warm, but there was an opening window if you got too warm. There was a fridge in the room which was useful to keep milk so that we could make our warm cups of tea and fruit. There is an excellent Italian restaurant just on the corner of the road one way and another restaurant where we got a really good Sunday lunch the other way, just perfect if it is raining. We visited a couple of museums when the rain was heavy,but did manage to eat strudel with our cuppas in the square in sunshine one day.

The shower was excellent, but not much shelf space in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the storage in the bedroom sufficient.

We found an evangelical church to attend on the internet and took a taxi there, but you could have easily got a bus which we did to get back. A number 7

We would go back to this hotel. There are two other Sun hotels in Salzburg..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guests!

Thank you for booking our hotel and for taking the time to comment on the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu and the services.
The philosophy of the Sar Inn Hotels is to offer top quality products and service at affordable rates. So we are pleased to know we are able to achieve our goals.
We are also delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and a nice time in Salzburg despite the rain!
It wll be a pleasure to welcome you once again to any of our Star Inn Hotels in Europe!

Greetings from Salzburg
GM Ms.C.Tuppinger
& Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    67
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
93
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After travelling through Frankfurt, Berlin, Prague and Vienna. Salzburg is so peaceful and safe.
Great location, walking distance to Chapel bridge and shopping. Located in a small road with cafes and restaurants. Though a little tricky to find the the hotel if you self-drive; need to get a code for car access to the hotel entrance. Speedy check-in. Well-appointed modern room; very clean, spacious with wooden floor, great furniture. Bathroom layout and fittings compact.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guest!

Thank you for booking the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu and for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
Thank you for your positive feedback which is highly motivating.
We are pleased to know you had a good time in Salzburg and a pleasant stay with us.
We hope you have a nice and safe trip back home!
Looking forward to greeting you at any of our Star Inn Hotels once again, we remain
with best regards
Ms.C.Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souni, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel with two teenagers and we loved it very much. The room was spacious(family room), the design was stylish, very modern, very clean and actually, it was overall a good surprise for us comparing to other hotels we had in this trip. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and help me a lot (including the manager of the hotel) to have a pre- ordered surprise present for my wife. The hotel is located 2 min. walk from the old city bridge so it is very convenient to walk from and to during the stay - no need to have any taxi/bus etc. The only thing you need to take into consideration is that the hotel is in a designated area which is mostly for pedestrian and if you are arriving with a car , although you will be able to enter the road ( with a special code) to the hotel , but you will need to park the car in a 5-7 min. walking distance parking. Not relevant for the ones arriving without a car and for those (like us) that had a car, actually you will not need it as everything is in a walking distance from this hotel. Lot's of shopping, restaurants etc. around the hotel. If you want to be close to the old city but without the high costs of the hotels there - this is for sure the place.

Room Tip: choose high floor to have also some nice views of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guests!

We were delighted to read your comments regarding our hotel and services!
Thank you for booking the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu and for taking the tme to express your comments!
We will forward your positive and highly motivating remarks to our staff.
The best praise is your reccommendation! So, we hope to greet you, your family and friends once again at any of our Star Inn Hotels in Europe once again!

Best regards from Salzburg
Ms.C.Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The list of things wrong with this hotel range from poor service to noisy rooms and everything in between.

Don't expect to sleep! Don't expect to be able to have a hot drink! In fact, don't expect to have half decent service either! There is only one member of staff in the hotel at all times. I've found it very amusing that when I made a complaint or question about something, they haven't even asked for my name or room number - it is that blatantly obvious that they don't intend to try and help.

I am currently sitting in my room freezing as they are 'unable to provide heating in summer' (despite mid-September not being summer and it being 5 degrees outside).

In addition to having to wear my coat in my room, all I can hear is night clubs - despite being on the 'quiet side' of the hotel.

My list of complaints could go on and on but I think you get the picture: stay somewhere else, even if it means travelling a bit to get into town or paying a bit extra.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guest!

Although we are very shocked and very much regret your comments regarding our hotel and services, we thank you for booking with us and for taking the time to let us know about your experience.
Our hotel is situated in the centre of the city within the pedestrian zone. As in a lot of other cities, there are coffee houses, restaurants, shops and pubs so movement and a certain level of noise is inevitable.We regret you felt disturbed by the bustle around the hotel For more quiet surroundings we reccommend our Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport-Messe.
We regret too that you were not comfortable in your room due to the cold. All our rooms are equipped with self-regulating air-condition and heating system.So basically all that has to be done is to turn on the heater. We are very sorry if your were not informed about the system. We will definitely look into the matter to see what went wrong.
We hope you had a safe trip back home and wish you all the best.
Sincere regards from Salzburg
Ms.C.Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I am staying here currently and writing this review using 3G because the wifi here is shocking.

The rooms are very clean and modern, which is kind of a trick to make you think this is a better hotel than it actually is. No tea or coffee making facilities in room for starters!

Then there's the noise outside - my parents' room is right above a nightclub so they didn't sleep at all last night. We would try and change the room for tonight but the drama of even getting the rooms right the first time means we can't be bothered. I won't go into details, but the reception attendant was very friendly but un-apologetic about mistakes made (almost to a degree of arrogance!), which is not what you expect from a hotel! They also don't fix problems they say they will (ie I reported the phone in my room as being out of order 24 hours ago but there has been no effort to fix it).

Yes, the location is good for access to town, but it all depends on where your room is as to whether you get to sleep or not!

Unless you're a deep sleeper, don't plan on spending much time in the hotel, and aren't coming in from a long drive, then I wouldn't recommend you stay here - it's not worth the hassle and stress you'll experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guest!

Although you did not have a great experience with us we would like to thank you for booking our
hotel and for taking the time to express your comments.
It is very unfortunate you were dissapointed with us because top-quality products and best comfort and services for our guests is what we strive to achieve.
Our hotel is situated in the historical part of the city in the pedastrian zone. The area offers cafeterias, restaurants, pubs and shops so it is constantly buzzing with visitors at all times.
A certain level of noise is to be expected and inevitable.
We regret the matter with the phone in your room. We have checked our repair book and seen your complaint registerd with your room number on Friday/Saturday.Unfortunately it is not always possible to get a technician for smaller repairs on the weekend. As a 3-star hotel we do not have all services available for 24 hours 7 days a week. Kindly excuse the inconvinience caused.
We are sorry if you have felt ignored by our staff during your stay with us.Please be assured we will look into the matter. Even negative comments help us to improve our services.
We hope you had a good trip back home.
Best regards from Salzburg
Ms. C.Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Firstly, we have to say that the location of this hotel is excellent. It is on Linzergasse ("New Town" Shopping Street) and a short walking distance to Getreidegasse (Famous Old Town Street). We also have no difficulties navigating to MirabellPlaz for our day tour meeting point when signing up with Panorama Tours/Viator.

On Linzergasse, there are plenty of cafes for your meals and if you need some groceries, Billabox (something like 7-eleven convenience store) is behind the hotel and Spar (local supermarket) is a short walk away. We were also glad that round the corner of the hotel, the L'Osteria (Pasta & Pizza, Pub, Cafe) opens till 12am on weekdays since our meal time is sporadic.

We did our booking last minute (2 days before) while we were in Linz so it was NOT €70 as stated at the hotel entrance, it was €120 per night with extra €12 for hotel continental breakfast.
We were okay with it, did our booking via Booking.com and stayed in the Business Class Double Room. We reckon it is supposed to be better than the Standard rooms but it is not.

The reception was quick and friendly. We also also able to check in 30 minutes earlier.

We have no complain about the room itself, it is modern, having double panel windows to keep the cold out since we visited in September (the start of Autumn). Housekeeping is relatively clean. We had trouble figuring out the TV as it always reset itself to German when switched off and the interface is not friendly at all. Wifi is bad, dropping connection every few minutes and we are supposed to be near to the reception where the routers are. I had to reconnect 3 times just to post this review in the hotel.

The main issue we have is the location of the room. It may be given to us due to our last minute booking, however, we feel that there should be no rooms along this entire corridor! The guests staying in the room beside us were also having the same problem.

The problem is that this corridor leads to the breakfast "restaurant". The buzzing starts at around 4am or 5am as the waiters are preparing to serve at 6am. The room door is NOT soundproof, you hear everything. When we say everything, it means footsteps, heels, vacuuming, crash of glasses, slamming of doors, people pausing in front of your room door to have conversations - EVERYTHING.

Some guests also checked in late and since these rooms are so close (1 short flight of stairs to the reception) to the reception, lost guests will often wheel their luggages along this corridor, late into the night. Needless to say, we were constantly woken up by all the noises. I admit to be a light sleeper but my husband, being the heavy sleeper, was also woken up. The irony is that the street beside the hotel is so quiet and the noise actually come from within the hotel!

It is either the hotel management do something to soundproof this corridor (with carpeted floors and better room doors) or not have any rooms at all. I think one of the worst service a hotel can provide is sleepless nights for the guests. We even requested a quieter room but the request was ignored. It is very disappointing to us as we love the location of this hotel! We will just have to find another place to stay the next time we are in Salzburg.

Room Tip: Request for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guests!

Thank you for booking our hotel and for taking the time to comment on the Hotel and the services.Please be assured, as much as positive comments are appreciated, we also take critics seriously as these help to improve our services

We would like to express our position regarding some of your comments.
The price you meton on the door of the Hotel says "ab € 70" which is from € 70 onwards. This is a basic price indication. The room rates depend on the season, event and fair periods.

The rate of breakfast is offered separately and the guests are free to book their rooms with or without breakfast and can also decide to do so on arrival.
May we make a correction regarding our breakfast: We offer a warm buffet breakfast and not continental. The buffet serves a variety of regional high quality warm & cold products including salmon and sparkling wine!

We absolutely regret you did not have a restful night in our hotel. Most hotels have rooms close to the elevator and activity around this area is inevitable. Your Suggestion regarding noise-proof doors will be forwarded to our headquarters.
Please be assured, it is not our policy to ignore the requests of our guests.During your stay our hotel was fully booked and as you mentioned, the last rooms were allotted to last minute bookings. In this case we had absolutely no possibility to offer you a change of room.

We will be very dissapointed if you checked in elsewere during your next visit to Salzburg since we would very much appreciate the opportunity to show you our dedication to hospitality.
Looking forward ro welcoming you at the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu once again we remain
with best regards from Salzburg

GM C.Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a three night stay and can highly recommend. We had a suite for four adults, it was spotlessly clean and of a large size which comfortably accommodated all of us with plenty of space for four large and four small suitcases. Parking is "off site" but given the location this is not a surprise and the Mirabellplatz car park is only a short walk away (we arrived at the hotel at 23.00 and it wasn't a problem to get there and back).

The location is ideal for everything you want to see and there are a couple of bars/restaurants immediately opposite.

The bar in the hotel is a great, well priced, place for a nightcap or two. We can recommend the drinking chocolate to take to bed.

All the staff were extremely helpful and cheerful and always ready for a chat when getting our drinks late at night.

A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiane T, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Star Inn Guests!

Thank you for booking our hotel and for taking the time to comment on the Hotel and the services.Please be assured, as much as positive comments are appreciated, we also take critics seriously as these help to improve our services

We would like to express our position regarding some of your comments.
The price you meton on the door of the Hotel says "ab € 70" which is from € 70 onwards. This is a basic price indication. The room rates depend on the season, event and fair periods.

The rate of breakfast is offered separately and the guests are free to book their rooms with or without breakfast and can also decide to do so on arrival.
May we make a correction regarding our breakfast: We offer a warm buffet breakfast and not continental. The buffet serves a variety of regional high quality warm & cold products including salmon and sparkling wine!

We absolutely regret you did not have a restful night in our hotel. Most hotels have rooms close to the elevator and activity around this area is inevitable. Your Suggestion regarding noise-proof doors will be forwarded to our headquarters.
Please be assured, it is not our policy to ignore the requests of our guests.During your stay our hotel was fully booked and as you mentioned, the last rooms were allotted to last minute bookings. In this case we had absolutely no possibility to offer you a change of room.

We will be very dissapointed if you checked in elsewere during your next visit to Salzburg since we would very much appreciate the opportunity to show you our dedication to hospitality.
Looking forward ro welcoming you at the Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbraeu once again we remain
with best regards from Salzburg

GM C.Tuppinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau

Address: Richard-Mayr-Gasse 2, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.