We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back in Time with Great Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schloss Haunsperg

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schloss Haunsperg
Save Saved
You added Schloss Haunsperg to your Saves list
Hammerstrasse 32, Salzburg 5411, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time with Great Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked two suites for our family at this castle estate. The hosts are warm and welcomed us into their home. The rooms were spectacular! Breakfast was great! There is nothing negative to say. We went into the city each day of our stay. You may either drive or park and take the bus. When we asked about a local restaurant, our host not only recommended one but drove us to it! It was also great!

This is still a family estate and you can tell by the way it is kept up. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We only saw our suites so assume the rest of the rooms are equally wonderful! Our corner suites had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The place was beautiful, clean, comfortable. The rooms were large, the garden beautiful. The owners were kind and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and the room and table were set with great taste and class. I´m really glad to have chosen this place to stay. I would definitely stay there again and I strongly recommend it to anyone going to Salzburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our 3 teenage children and absolutely loved it! We had booked the family suite for the five us but upon arrival Erika informed us she had upgraded us to two rooms at no additional charge so the kids had a room and bathroom and so did we. Our rooms were on the top floor and were beautiful! When we arrived we asked about taking the bus into Salzburg and Erika and Georg looked up the times for us and quickly informed us if we didnt catch the bus in 15 minutes we would have to wait two hours (it was Sunday), Georg then hurried us out and drove us down the bus stop to make sure we didnt miss it. Upon our return that evening around 10 pm they were both waiting up to greet us and make sure we knew how to enter the gate at night. Breakfast in the am was wonderful as well! We were a little worried about being outside the city but with our hosts help and advice the bus was so easy to take and we wouldn't have missed the experience of staying in this beautiful 700 year old castle with its amazing hosts that made us feel like we were family!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Salzburg area and we can not say enough wonderful things about our stay here. The Schloss is cozy and is steeped in interesting history. The rooms were perfectly appointed and the beds comfy. As others have said, Erika and Georg made our visit feel like we were coming home. They helped us book a Salzburg tour, and told us so many interesting things about the area and their lovely home. We were sorry we only booked one night with them!! The drive into Salzburg was maybe 15 minutes - we loved staying outside of the city. My parents joined us on this trip, and for their first visit to Austria they were so impressed with the Schloss and the hospitality shown to us. There had been a late cancellation so Erika gave my parents a multi-room suite which was so kind of her! Breakfast on our departure morning was amazing, and we had a hard time saying goodbye to our wonderful hosts. While we have seen much of the Salzburg area, we would love to return for another stay if only to visit with Erika and Georg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I visited this hotel with my family for short picnic and my experience was great. It is really a nice place to relax with friends of family members. The food, the view, the rooms, the service, everything was incredible. From the moment we reached the place and till the time we departed we always found the staff on their toes and smiling. Every request was considered and services were very prompt. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Erika and Georg make a visit to this Manor House (Castle) a truly marvelous event. We have stayed here every year since 2004, usually more than once a year. We found "our castle" in 1998 have been in love with it ever since. The rooms/suites are warm, inviting, and comfortable. Every guest is treated like old friends or close family members. The breakfasts are a delight that must be experienced. Anyone looking for old-world charm and sophistication needs to stay here. One night or more in these accommodations will have guests begging to return, or refusing to leave. This is our favorite lodging anywhere. Our travels have taken us throughout the USA, Europe, Aisa, and Africa and nothing anywhere compares to experience of staying at Schloss Haunsperg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in this place for 4 nights, on the end of March. We are a family of 4, with 2 young boys. The place itself is very interesting and very well kept, but this is the least important issue - as the hosts are so amazing.
The first thing when we arrived, Eike told us that another family cancelled their reservation due to the bad weather, and that we can have the suite instead of the room we reserved, with the same price of course.
During all our stay the hosts tried their best to make us feel comfortable, helped us with numerous trip plans and did everything they could for our trip to be the best. The attitude was as to family, and not as to guests, and this is priceless.
It's easy to feel that these people love their job and love people. For us- it was the most important thing.
If you wish to meet 2 extraordinary people, and see a historic castle that is really well kept, this is the right place.

Room Tip: the suite is really nice, with a big living room and 2 other rooms as well as a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schloss Haunsperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Haunsperg

Address: Hammerstrasse 32, Salzburg 5411, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Schloss Haunsperg Salzburg
Schloss Haunsperg Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schloss Haunsperg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.