We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schloss Haunsperg

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schloss Haunsperg
Hammerstrasse 32, Salzburg 5411, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Georgia
1 review
“Wonderful Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Salzburg area and we can not say enough wonderful things about our stay here. The Schloss is cozy and is steeped in interesting history. The rooms were perfectly appointed and the beds comfy. As others have said, Erika and Georg made our visit feel like we were coming home. They helped us book a Salzburg tour, and told us so many interesting things about the area and their lovely home. We were sorry we only booked one night with them!! The drive into Salzburg was maybe 15 minutes - we loved staying outside of the city. My parents joined us on this trip, and for their first visit to Austria they were so impressed with the Schloss and the hospitality shown to us. There had been a late cancellation so Erika gave my parents a multi-room suite which was so kind of her! Breakfast on our departure morning was amazing, and we had a hard time saying goodbye to our wonderful hosts. While we have seen much of the Salzburg area, we would love to return for another stay if only to visit with Erika and Georg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Linz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I visited this hotel with my family for short picnic and my experience was great. It is really a nice place to relax with friends of family members. The food, the view, the rooms, the service, everything was incredible. From the moment we reached the place and till the time we departed we always found the staff on their toes and smiling. Every request was considered and services were very prompt. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Erika and Georg make a visit to this Manor House (Castle) a truly marvelous event. We have stayed here every year since 2004, usually more than once a year. We found "our castle" in 1998 have been in love with it ever since. The rooms/suites are warm, inviting, and comfortable. Every guest is treated like old friends or close family members. The breakfasts are a delight that must be experienced. Anyone looking for old-world charm and sophistication needs to stay here. One night or more in these accommodations will have guests begging to return, or refusing to leave. This is our favorite lodging anywhere. Our travels have taken us throughout the USA, Europe, Aisa, and Africa and nothing anywhere compares to experience of staying at Schloss Haunsperg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in this place for 4 nights, on the end of March. We are a family of 4, with 2 young boys. The place itself is very interesting and very well kept, but this is the least important issue - as the hosts are so amazing.
The first thing when we arrived, Eike told us that another family cancelled their reservation due to the bad weather, and that we can have the suite instead of the room we reserved, with the same price of course.
During all our stay the hosts tried their best to make us feel comfortable, helped us with numerous trip plans and did everything they could for our trip to be the best. The attitude was as to family, and not as to guests, and this is priceless.
It's easy to feel that these people love their job and love people. For us- it was the most important thing.
If you wish to meet 2 extraordinary people, and see a historic castle that is really well kept, this is the right place.

Room Tip: the suite is really nice, with a big living room and 2 other rooms as well as a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our family (me, my wife and our daughter) were the guests of Haunsperg castle on June 2012 and it has been the most remarkable and warm experience we could ever imagine. Adorable and loving hosts Georg and Erika-Therese did their best to make us feeling even more comfortable an cosy than we do in our small flat here in Moscow. :) They were so promptly, kind and willing to help - I can hardly remember any high stars rated hotel I'd visited before with such family-like and friendly attitude. We were the only guests at the castle during the whole week, but anyway every morning hosts had set the breakfast table the way like we were the members of a royal family. They treated our 6 y.o. daughter like their own granddaughter - provided her with interesting area maps, toys, accesories and so on so she is still (after 5 months gone) remembering kind Erika-Therese and Georg and asks us whether we visit that castle againg next year because she liked the hosts and is really still missing them. Don't miss a chance to visit that castle - besides the 7 centuries of history, you will find so personal and loving attitude that can never be found at the routine hotel with any stars. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a gorgeous historic castle. The suites are exceptionally appointed with family heirloom high quality antiques. The overall warmth of the place is due to it's gracious host's Eike & Georg. They make you feel like part of the family as soon as you arrive. A glass or two of wine with Eike along with interesting and funny stories of the history of their lovely home and the surrounding area. They are by far the nicest people I have ever met while staying at a Romantik Hotel. They go above and beyond with everything. The breakfast is fantastic, beautifully displayed on fine china, and Eike makes delicious scrambled eggs with cheese. They will offer suggestions for places to explore in the area as well as make dinner suggestions with reservations for you including making a reservation for us at another hotel in Salzburg. We came back to them after that 2 nights because the castle and they are just so wonderful we couldn't resist. Highly recommend and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Second floor suite with adjoining music room is incredible. Very comfortable and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I can't say enough wonderful thinks about this historic hotel! First off, the owners are the nicest and welcoming people!! They made us feel like family! They made dinner reservations for us, upgraded our room since it was our honeymoon, gave us a tour and told us all about the history and stories. The places is around 700 years old and it has been in their family for around 150 years!! I didn't want to leave. The breakfast in the morning was.....AMAZING!! There was yogurt, nuts, cereal, different types of cheeses, smoked salmon and other meats, bread, coffee, jam, juice...you name it! All for my husband and I. The breakfast table was set with beautfiul China and accompanied by light music....wow! I just can't say enough. If I ever come to Salzburg again, I will for sure stay with Schloss Haunsperg again :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Schloss Haunsperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Haunsperg

Address: Hammerstrasse 32, Salzburg 5411, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Schloss Haunsperg Salzburg
Schloss Haunsperg Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schloss Haunsperg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Schloss Haunsperg to your Saves list