We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Teeenagers Loved It & So Did We!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schloss Haunsperg

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schloss Haunsperg
Save
You added Schloss Haunsperg to your Saves list
Hammerstrasse 32, Salzburg 5411, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Our Teeenagers Loved It & So Did We!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

It is always a pleasure to stay at a place that is obviously loved by the owners and the guest, and Schloss Haunsperg is one of those rare places. Our teenage sons loved just the notion of spending 3 nights in a castle. Cindy and I enjoyed its ambiance and the village of Oberalm, a five minute stroll from the grounds. Breakfast (which was included) was wonderful, but the highlight was the setting: a lovely sitting room that made you feel the full historical gravity of the castle. We had a car, and it was a 10 minute drive into Salzburg in one direction, and a quick drive in the opposite direction to the world's largest ice cave, which was another hit with the kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

There are mostly good reviews on here, but it is hard for me to see how anyone could give this less than an Excellent rating. I was a bit worried that it might feel old and dirty but even though it is very (very!) old, it is so well maintained and clean that the age is only a benefit.

The owners are extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was great. It did not change each day, but there were so many options that you won't get bored. Their description of our room as a family apartment did not do it justice. Our two kids each had a private bedroom with a single bed, and my wife and I had a private room. Our bathroom was clean and up to date.

The only downside is the location, but you know that in advance. It took us 15-20 minutes to drive into Salzburg. There is also a bus that you can walk to that would take you in so you don't need to park in Salzburg, but we chose to drive.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

On our first family trip to Europe we wanted to make sure we stayed in at least one castle. We couldn't have made a better choice! The hosts were wonderful. We felt like family as we were welcomed each time we came "home", provided information on sites to see and started the day with a wonderful breakfast buffet. Our group consisted of 3 adults and 4 kids. We had the 3 rooms on the top floor of the castle. The kids were delighted to have their own room with 4 bedrooms so they spread out a bit. All of our rooms were large and beautifully decorated. We also were able to use other rooms in the castle, like the music room, and brought dinner back one night, eating outside at one of the garden tables.
The Schloß Haunsperg is in a very quiet area and was a short drive to Salzburg and many other sites in the area (we visited a salt mine and ice cave that were both nearby). I look foward to staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We spent two nights in this lovely castle hotel. The place lives up to its definition. It is a real castle with impressive old furniture and paintings, a chapel with a bell and owners that seem to have come out of a children's story (from the good pages). It's a class act all the way through, from the duvet and chandeliers to the royal breakfast in a private room to the sound of classical music. The location is excellent, as there's a lot to do at a driving distance from the Schloss. The stay there was a gift to my daughter who has been dreaming for years about sleeping in a real castle. Her reaction totally justified the expense.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

My husband and I went to Europe to celebrate our 10th ann. We flew into Munich and drove to Salzburg straight off. We had been up hours and the drive to the castle was very hard since we were soo tired. But for all that we thought the roads lovely and we were very excited to pull up to the castle. Driving up you can tell that the houses around the castle were fairly new and must have been on land that was originally part of the property. The property is gated and has a hedge around it, so it is quite private and I would forget that right outside were quiet neighborhoods. Driving in,the first sight is the chapel which has a clock in the tower. I thought there must have been a fire at some time because the face looks old and burnt. We asked the owners (Erika and Georg, love them!) and sure enough there was a fire in the 1500s. The castle and chapel are painted a yellow color that is very appealing to the eye, especially since there is lovely ivy climbing up the walls. When we walked up to the front door you couldn't help feeling that the house was very old, but very well taken care of, like you would hope an historical building would be.
The inside is beautiful. Our room was on the 4th floor ( I think there is 5, but the 5th is not for guests. And the climb was very pleasurable. I liked seeing some of the other rooms and in my minds eye I couldn't help but see the ghosts of generations walking through their rooms and I wondered what kind of people they were. In fact there is one painting on the 3rd floor of an older woman from the early 1700s. She is holding a clasped book in her hands and has a mysterious look on her face. I kept coming back to that one our whole stay at the castle. The castle is full of furniture and art that was made for this house. Since the castle has been there since the 1100s, that is saying alot. All beautiful, and we kept stopping to look at new things we had missed.
Anyway, our room was a corner suite with a sitting room, a bedroom and a bath. All our rooms has antiques in them, not just furniture, but also books, doors and latches, and knickknacks. The floor was warm wood (original) and the windows bright and sunny. Our bed was very comfortable and the rooms huge. The only time we heard other guests was when the famous concert violinist, in the room below us, was practicing. It was soooo romantic to be in this beautiful castle and hear this enchanting music float up to our room. He was only there two nights, him and his family were on their way for a big concert in Prague.
The next morning we had breakfast on the ground floor. The food was wonderfully Austrian. The breads and butter, the cereal, the eggs, meats, fruit, etc was very delicious! Even the coffee was wonderful. The dining rooms are domed and castle like with slate floor. Beautiful. I noticed a painting in that room of a stately older man with a pointed silver beard, and my husband and I wondered if he was related to Georg, we asked and it turns out that man was his great grandfather. He had lived in Vienna and been an aristocrat.
The china was beautiful, and it was fun eating our delicious food and listening to Erika tell us about the castle and the people who lived there. My husband speaks german very well, but doesn't get a chance to use it since we live in Alaska. He was pleasantly surprised then when Erika insisted on speaking german with him (most places we went to the people, as nice as they were, didn't want to speak german with us).
It as a blast staying at the Schloss Haunsperg. My husband and I treasure the memory of staying there. We walked down, not far, to an Austrian restaurant not to far away, and there is a chocolate/coffee/bakery down the way that is outstanding. Salzburg its self is one place I couldn't not get tired of.
The last day we were there Georg showed us the chapel. It is very old, but paintings on the ceiling are fresh and vibrant. The wood is polished, and it is well dusted. Georg told us that they still use it sometimes for ceremonies.
So about the owners. Georg is very funny, although I dont think he knows it. Many times he cracked us up with his mannerisms and stories, you cannot help but like the guy. He is about 60 and looks like a professor who is a little absentminded. Erika is very friendly and wonderful. She is brisk and a hard worker, but loves to sit right down with you and converse about almost anything. Erika put us at our ease immediately. And she is a good cook. She looks like the fun adventurous grandmother every one wants. She is very funny too!
There is one thing I would like to add. Wait until your last day there before you ask Erika if the castle has any ghosts.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We had the family suite on the top floor. It was perfect for a family of 5 - one double room and 3 singles. Our children were so happy to have some privacy in the middle of an extended holiday! The rooms were gorgeous and the water pressure was great. Our hosts were absolutely lovely and extremely helpful on all subjects pertaining to the city - day passes, restaurants, parking. We will definitely stay with them again on return trips to Austria.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington,Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed here one night in early July 2009 and it was a very memorable experience. The 14th century castle/hotel is more like a bed and breakfast. The hosts were warm and hospitable- as nice as we have ever met and we have traveled all over Europe. Our suite was 3 bedrooms with antique paintings and furniture hundreds of years old and certainly of great value. The fine decor was in immaculate condition as was everything. The breakfast was simply outstanding with extensive selections and served in a room of great distinction due to its age and furnishings/decor.

The location is surprising as it is in a relatively new residential neighborhood but that did not detract. Nearby is the best salt mine and steepest alpine sled. Salzburg was an easy 30 minute ride away. It is best to have a car if you stay here.

The Schloss Haunsperg is highly recommended for a very unique and memorable experience and the price of 220 euro was a good value in our opinion.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schloss Haunsperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Haunsperg

Address: Hammerstrasse 32, Salzburg 5411, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Schloss Haunsperg Salzburg
Schloss Haunsperg Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schloss Haunsperg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.