We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like truly Austrian countryside pension, but within the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension B & B Helmhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension B & B Helmhof to your Saves list
Pension B & B Helmhof
Kirchengasse 29 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #73 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Utrecht
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Feels like truly Austrian countryside pension, but within the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in this pension as a stopover for 2 nights on our way south. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. It's a truly Austrian family-run pension. Because of it's location on the outskirts of Salzburg, it feels like you're staying on the countryside. There's a nice restaurant on walking distance, with a good but basic Austrian cuisine.
The location is very convenient if you arrive by car, since it's only minutes away from the highway. Because the highway is set in a tunnel, you don't have any noise from it. Parking is free. Very easy to take the bus to the centre of Salzburg. It's a direct bus line, and very user friendly. It runs very often and takes you in about 15 minutes to the centre.
The pension offers nice spacious enough rooms with balcony. Rooms are very clean. Separate toilet. Good shower. Good bedding. Pillows are to soft for my liking.
We really enjoyed our breakfast. Tea or coffee and orange juice are offered. There's a various choice of bread, cheese, meat, jam, nutella, fruit and yoghurt.
NIce that they offer free wifi, only downside is that it only works in the breakfast room and on the terrace. And than still it doesn't always work.
Considering the price paid, I would look no futher. Highly recommended for a stopover. If you're visiting Salzburg for a city trip and arrive by public transportation, you might prefer a more central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Room was really big, nice balcony. Staff was really friendly and helpful with some directions. It is about a ten minute walk to bus stop and from there 15-20 from the train station and the old part of town was only downside for us If doing your own driving would be great location but if planning on public transportation maybe someplace closer. The did have a buckeye tree in the yard so a bonus for any Ohio State Fans :)

Room Tip: I think all are about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Everything about this BnB / Pension is great. Homely feel, cozy, well furnished, spacious rooms with a balcony. Great quiet surroundings. Couple of great restaurants within walking distance... Everything is fine apart from the breakfast which wasnt bad at all ... just a bit limited. The owner actually makes his own marmalade etc so it added to the homely feel as I said.

The Second "thorn" in its side was the toilet. It was clean and spacious but it was a different kind which freaked me out because of ... and there is no other way to put it .... the shape of the bowl!

Maybe Im nitpicking but if they changed that, it would be an Excellent in my books 10 times out of 10!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed so far. It is a bit outside the city, but is well-connected by public transport. Situated in a quiet location with great views.

Our room was spacious with a balcony attached. Very classy decor with nice comfortable bed and lot of closet space. Huge bathroom, spic and span. Overall the hotel has a lovely old-world charm. The owner was very warm and welcoming.

The breakfast is a weak point though. The quantity was limited and lacked variety.

Will definitely love to stay there again in case we go back to Salzburg again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We arrived unexpected and not knowing what to encounter. The staff was very nice and was able to communicate fairly well in English. We were very pleased and would recommend this place to our family and friends. It was a pleasant walk to the bus stop (10 minutes) and a nice bakery is located about half way to the bus stop. VERY PLEASED!!!!

  • Liked — clean, nice staff
  • Disliked — walk to bus
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

What a fantastic hotel experience. The pension was beautiful, our room was clean, quiet and large, and the host family - Andrea especially - could not have been more welcoming. We arrived on a rainy evening after driving all day through the Alps in a hail storm. As soon as we walked in Andrea greeted us and immediately made us feel at home.

Our room was on the end and had a great balcony with beautiful red flowers overlooking the Salzburg street and a quaint little church. The shower and toilet were clean and the bedroom was quite large. The bed was actually comfortable - for an American in Europe, that is saying a lot!

During our stay we felt as if the house was ours, no one disturbed us yet they were always available if we needed anything. Breakfast was lovely in a little dining room, and was a perfect start to a busy day of sightseeing.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and we will definitely stay there when we go back to Salzburg!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Stayed 3 nights at the Pension Helmhof while visiting Salzburg and area.
Very quiet location, our 3rd floor room had a balcony with a nice view toward the mountains. No lift however.
Run with Austrian efficiency. Owner spoke reasonable English.
Bathroom included a bath tub.
Pension is a bit outside the city, about a 10 minute (pleasant) walk to either the bus stop or to the train station at Taxham Europark. Bus ride into city centre is about 15 minutes, or the train takes less than 10.
One of the days we rented a car (Hertz was cheapest and is located next to the train and bus stations) and drove into the Salzkammergut, a very picturesque area with small towns situated on lakes. We saw Gmunden, Traunkirchen, Bad Ischl, and St. Wolfgang.
A great way to see some of the things that are difficult to see when travelling entirely by train. Road system is very good although the Austrians drive faster than North Americans do, and the streets are narrower.
Try to avoid driving in Salzburg itself - narrow streets, lots of one-ways, tons of traffic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension B & B Helmhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension B & B Helmhof

Address: Kirchengasse 29 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run, inexpensive bed and breakfast with cosy non-smoking rooms with big balonys and a big garden, terrace, outdoor swimming pool and free parking, ideally situated on the outskirts of Salzburg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pension B & B Helmhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension b & b Helmhof Hotel Salzburg
Pension Bed And Breakfast Helmhof
Helmhof Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension B & B Helmhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.