We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific sister-property to Sacher Vienna....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sacher Salzburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
D.C.
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Terrific sister-property to Sacher Vienna....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A beautiful, romantic inn overlooking Salzburg. Sister property to Sacher Vienna (which we also stayed at). Great rooms, and nice bar and restaurant. Very friendlly staff. Short walk to town center. Nice place for honeymoon or couples; ok for children but not really set up for young ones.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    477
    132
    34
    13
    12
See reviews for
97
337
33
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel, which takes you back to the old days of staying at a 5 star hotel.

Room was small and cluttered with drapes and furniture. So it was hard to move around the room.

Staff were impeccable, but we found the hotel in general far too stuffy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for our first holiday after our wedding. It was a lovely hotel. A hotel based in the centre of the town so it was easy to walk to places. It is lovely inside and luxourious in a sort of old Hollywood style. At Christmas time it has a lovely tree centred in the main lobby. The rooms are nice with all the normal essentials. Coffee here is really nice, good chocolates and nice extras like a fruit plate on arrival. The wine bar in the hotel is lovely. I would recommend this hotel to couples looking for a romantic break away together. A magical place and a lovely grand hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

OMG! We arrived at the hotel by taxi to be welcomed by doormen opening the car door, greeting us by name and taking our luggage. From this moment on we felt like we were filmstars! Every single member of staff we came into contact with were extremely courteous, polite and knowledgeable. Monica and Sasha on the front desk soon had us booked in and Monica personally took us to our room which on arrival had fresh fruit, chocolates and the world famous Sacher Torte for each of us. The fresh fruit was replenished daily.

The room and bathroom were spacious, luxurious and provided comfort throughout our three night stay. Luxury toiletries were also provided daily. There was a well stocked bar, and, even though we did not use this, the prices were reasonable.

Housekeeping was exemplary both morning and evening and we even took advantage of the shoe cleaning service. There were many other services provided by this 5 star hotel.

The Sacher Grill provided us with an excellent meal at good prices and again, an excellent service was received. All in all a superb hotel in a wonderful location by the river, which we hope to return to again.

Room Tip: Our room on the fourth floor, although at the back of the hotel and not overlooking the river, still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sacher for two nights recently. Arriving at Salzburg Hauptbahnhof, the hotel is about 5 minutes by taxi, around €7. For those arriving from the airport, the taxi ride is not long, about 10-12 minutes and €13. The hotel is located opposite the river from the old town, and is a picturesque and easy 5-7 minute walk across the bridge. We were greeted by name immediately upon arrival. Arriving quite a bit ahead of the check in time of 3 pm, we found our room to be ready for check in.

We were given a room overlooking the Kapuzinerberg, providing us with a stunning view from the room. A lovely fruit platter and plate of assorted chocolates and mini Sacher Tortes awaited our arrival.

I found our superior room is not small by normal European standards, and afforded enough space for the 2 of us and 2 large suitcases. Perhaps slightly cramped with furniture. Our room had a seating area, coffee table, arm chair and sofa, so a bit of maneuvering was necessary at times.

Bathroom was very clean and well stocked with amenities. The selection of toiletries provided reflected the heritage of the hotel, and are all chocolate scented. My only complaint would be the water pressure of the showers. The showers were meant to be hand held, so when they are placed in the holder, water pressure weakens considerably, and temperature of the water is also not consistent.

The bed was a bit hard, and perhaps requires a replacement with newer, pillow top mattresses that are de riguer at hotels of this rating and standard these days. Similarly, pillows could also use a renewal.

The most baffling thing about the room would be the complimentary bottles of water provided in the mini bar. There was no bottle opener provided to open the bottles! Happily, they were very quickly provided upon request from the front desk.

We had the Sacher torte at the Cafe Sacher. While the cake itself was not to my taste, the experience was a nice one. Very quaint setting, and personable service provided by the waiter.

Concierge was helpful, providing maps and suggested sightseeing routes, and offered to make dinner reservations for us for our nights in Salzburg.

Overall, a nice stay. Bearing in mind this is a historic hotel, the modern luxuries expected of a hotel of this rating were somewhat compromised. Nevertheless, the Hotel Sacher is very charming, and was what we expected at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much indeed for your recent stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for review on TripAdvisor about your visit to Salzburg and to our hotel.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and it is very nice to hear that we met your expectations with an optimum on service and quality as well as that you liked your guest room with all the provided small details combined with the fantastic view overlooking the Kapuzinerberg.

Thank you very much for your note regarding the water pressure of the shower, we will definitely follow up on this point to prevent any future occurrence. Regarding the bedding, please kindly allow us to note that we purchase our bedding from a very famous company in Germany and we are very sorry that we did not meet your utter satisfaction.

Dear guest, thank you again for your time to tell us about your visit. It would be a very great pleasure for us to welcome you another time at our hotel to convince you once more with our highest service and quality.

Kindest regards from Salzburg

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in Austria and we stayed in Salzburg for one night. An Austrian friend recommended this hotel, and I am very grateful as I was not disappointed, The hotel in my opinion is in the best location in the centre of town next to the river, a short walk across the bridge to all the tourist sites. I had a beautiful room on the fourth floor overlooking Markaplatz, the other side of the hotel overlooks the river and castle, so every room has a beautiful view. The staff are very professional and everything is done with a smile. When I return to Salzburg I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a long weekend in Salzburg and a wonderful stay at the Hotel Sacher. It is possibly the most comdortable and pleasant hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Situated on the river front, we were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony and views of the river and The Old Town. We were in only a minutes walk from the bridge which took us straight over to the Old Town. The service was impeccable and we were looked after so well. We had a most comfortable bedroom and our room was tidied not once, but twice a day. I thorougly recommend the Mozart concert with dinner, held in St Peters where everyone dresses in the costumes of Mozarts day. An amazing hotel that I highly recoonmmend to anyone contemplating Salzburg for a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified Traditional Hotel, dating from 1866, on Salzach River in city center, 3 km from train station & 6 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Escapio, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sacher Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.