We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful place to stay in Salzburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sacher Salzburg to your Saves list
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place to stay in Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Hotel Sacher Salzburg is Salzburg's only grand hotel, a 5 star deluxe hotel. Staying at the Hotel Sacher is like taking a trip down Salzburg memory lane.. originally built in the late 1800, it enjoyed the Best location, along the shore of the River Salzach downtown, a bridge away, from the old town.It offers an impressive view of the splendid old town and the citadel. .

Since 1988, when he Gürtler family purchased it, all the rooms were redesigned and the interior adapted to the historical style . Rooms and suites were equipped and decorated with a lot of love in different tones with rare art treasures. Despite all the changes, the charm, the tradition and atmosphere of the hotel, remained untouched. The location s absolutely perfect- A bridge away and you will find yourself, walking in the busy old town, close to Mozart Birth home..

Room Tip: request a room with a River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    143
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
106
367
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My friend and i stayed at a lovely suite, facing the river and the Hohensalzburg Castle.
The decoration was beautiful, really elegant clasical style.
The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect, in front of the Salzach River, just cross the bridge and you're in the Old Town, a World Heritage Site; and it is about a 5 to 10 min walk to the Mirabell Palace.
it was quite expensive, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The news that we were getting upgraded to a room facing the Salzach River was an unexpected and very pleasant surprise. The room and bathroom was a bit small but that was overcome by the comfiness of the bed and the quality of the furnishings.

The gift of Sacher tortes and chocolates we received upon our arrival to the room was also a tasty and much appreciated treat as was the bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary.

The staff was helpful and attentive and made a couple of tasty restaurant recommendations that included a Mozart dinner which was a definite highlight and a must for any classical music fan. The location was also great and convenient to many of the famous Salzburg sites.

The hotel definitely had an Old-Europe classiness and charm to it which I think most people would like (as we did), but if you prefer more modern furnishings and less formality then this isn't the place for you.

I would also recommend the pastries and coffee at Cafe Sacher as both were very tasty.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Salzach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here over new year with our 2 children 8 & 5 and what a wonderful place. Staff were amazing and service perfect. You pay top $$$ but is certainly worth it for a treat.
Salzburg is also a great place as the home of Mozart gives you plenty of classical experience and lots of other things to see, even in winter.
Thanks to Christian and staff and hopefully we will make it back some day.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Hotel Sacher. From the reception area to the cafe to the room, everything is simply elegant and first class all the way. The rooms might be a little smaller than some of the newer 5 stars in Salzburg, but nothing compares to the ambiance and charm of the Sacher. You feel as if you have gone back to the time when elegance prevailed in the time before the wars. The staff is very friendly and and accommodating. Always smiling and always there to help with anything you might need.

Our room was beautifully decorated, with a comfortable bed, nice view of the river and marble bath, ample closet space, and the bed was very comfortable. There was a nice little sitting area to read the paper and sip coffee too. We were welcomed with a nice plate of chocolates and cakes.

The only thing I noticed that might have been a little off is the torte at the cafe. The Sacher torte in Vienna is definitely better. I am guessing they send the tortes from Vienna and maybe not as fresh as you get in Vienna??? It is still delicious, just not quite as moist and fresh.

I highly recommend the Hotel Sacher and we will definitely be back for more.

Room Tip: ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Famous, perfected the way of letting one feels at home - as if the hotel is one's home. The view of the river and old town - as well as the eastern tourists on the bridge - from the newly decorated suites. It is comfort and luxury at its best. Superb breakfasts - attentative staff. The front desk could pride itself as one of the most friendly and sincere in the world. Personally I would replace the ferns on the immaculate staircase .... And then the Sacher Shop - the lady with the tiny glasses - as from another century - do buy a sacher torte - It stays fresh way beyond the sell by date - It is worth carrying it all the way home - for that sweet memories.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We researched this hotel and relied on reviews here, through Amex and Leading Hotels of the World before choosing the Sacher Salzburg for a week during our Christmas holiday. This was not a last minute booking but reserved almost one year ago. I cannot imagine that we stayed at the same hotel that some have reviewed. This hotel was completely unacceptable. We had just stayed at the Sacher in Vienna which was exceptional and a true 5 star experience from check in to check out. The Sacher Vienna was flawless. We eagerly anticipated and expected the same at this "sister" hotel, but from the moment of arrival to this run-down, tired, lifeless skeleton of a place, we were shocked and beyond disappointed. Service was non-existent. Staff was thread bare and unresponsive. The dark hallways look like an asylum with pink metal doors and institutional walls, frayed, dirty carpeting. The "junior suite" we were given was dirty, from carpeting to curtains to walls, I walked into the bathroom to find clumps of hair on the toilet and floor. The furniture was, at best from the 70's, with dim lighting, dated, scratched fixtures, fresh and aging stains and a strong chemical smell in the carpet and curtains from obvious and unsuccessful attempts to clean up whatever underlying stench now mixed in to make a toxic cocktail to breathe. The surfaces of bedside tables and headboard to the bed was sticky with some unknown substance. When we expressed our displeasure at the condition of the rooms, we were lectured that this was an "old" classic european hotel as if we were ignorant tourists who could not appreciate such a place. Even the staff member who tried to sell this obvious and insulting company line to us couldn't do it with any conviction as she saw what we did and offered to bring housekeeping back for another go at it. This condition wasn't just limited to the suite, but also to the adjacent room we had booked for our children. We travel extensively and know the difference between filth and an 'old style' charming European hotel. The Sacher is not just old, it is decaying and unacceptable for anyone who expects not only a 5 star experience, but to be comfortable enough in a place to do such simple things like-use the bathroom, touch the furniture or walk on a carpet without the feeling of being in an aging greyhound bus station. Since we did not think we would be able to get any other accommodations during Christmas high season in Salzburg, we made requests to change our rooms to something both clean and renovated. However, these requests were met with indifference, and intentional shuffling from one staff member to another which left us certain that there was no intention to remedy this situation. Fortunately, we were able to re-book and we checked out of this nightmare of a hotel and spent the Christmas holiday at a true 5 star hotel-the Goldener Hirsch. It is the epitomy of a classic European hotel and our stay was delightful in every way from the kind and helpful staff, to the lovely touches and attention throughout our stay.
I don't know who has been writing the recent reviews of the Sacher Salzburg, but i sincerely question whether they stayed at this hotel. I have never written a review before on any site, but felt compelled to do so after our horrible experience. I wouldn't want any family to go through what we did over what we thought would be a wonderful Christmas stay. The Sacher Salzburg needs to be removed from anyone's list as a 5 star hotel. If you are looking for the equivalent of a run down Motel 6, then this is your destination. If you are looking for a classic 5 star european hotel,RUN, do not walk from the Sacher Salzburg.

Room Tip: Beware if you think that you have confirmed a "renovated" room or suite; the hotel manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified Traditional Hotel, dating from 1866, on Salzach River in city center, 3 km from train station & 6 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sacher Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.