We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any one for cake?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sacher Salzburg to your Saves list
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Any one for cake?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

A small room overlooking a busy street was well equipped and comfortable for our one night stay. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and patient in assisting with a couple of inquires we had. The Hotel is a little old world and trades heavily on its "Sacher" history with a tasting of the famous cake in our room.
The Hotel is adjacent to the (across the river) the old city centre and a reasonable walking distance from the main railway station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    150
    38
    15
    14
See reviews for
108
384
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We visited Salzburg in June 2011 and stayed At the Sacher. The hotel was Beautiful and very well kept. It is a 5 star hotel in the true sense of the word. Rooms are a little small but classy. The staff was fantastic. Catered to every need. Ask for a room facing the river. This is on the rear of the hotel and has a beautiful view.

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for only one night to break up the train ride from Vienna to Stuttgart and to celebrate her birthday. We had a very nice birthday dinner in the Zirbelzimmer Restaurant. Our rooms were in the superior category, one step up from standard rooms. I had asked for river view rooms if available, but we did not get them. Our rooms, in the superior category, faced Schwarzstrassse but were quiet. They were beautifully decorated but rather small. If I were to stay there for more then one night, I would opt for the deluxe rooms, assuming they are larger, and I would insist upon a river view. The bathrooms were spacious and well-appointed. Robes, slippers, a mini-bar and a safe were provided. The beds were comfortable. There were no coffee-makers or electric kettles, something I expect a hotel to provide these days. Missing from the rooms were electrical outlets with which to charge our various devices. The only one in the room was next to the bed. There were none at all near the small desk or elsewhere in the room. This is unacceptable for any hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not included in our room rate and was quite expensive for the buffet, so we ate off the menu in the Cafe Sacher. The food there was good and was reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Superior rooms were rather small. Try a deluxe room and insist upon a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

What a fantastic hotel! Beautiful location, right on the river - easy walking access to every thing in Salzburg. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Rooms beautiful and the Torte was amazing! This hotel met every expectation and more!

Room Tip: Room on top floor - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon before heading out to the mountains. The hotel was fantastic with very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is very elegant and luxurious, the bedroom was great, it was a large room, with all you could need with a very comfortable bed and flipping great bathroom.

We had cocktails in the bar while a piano was being played in the background. The drinks were reasonably priced and when we asked if we could retire to our rooms with the drinks the very nice bar woman brought them up to our room for us.

Overall a fab hotel, well worth the money and visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed in the Cosi Fan Tutti suite- rooms 408 and 409. The suite has a large beautiful living room with comfortable coach, chairs and a workstation desk, an entry hall with a large bench for suitcases to sit on top and double closet and a bedroom with very comfortable bedding and pillows. There is a deep carpet on a wood floor. When you arrive, in your room there is a large Sacher torte with a bottle of Champagne and a basket with fruit. The concierge is quite knowledgeable and helpful. The buffet is good. The restaurant is very good- we had venison, Our room had a lovely view of the river, Castle and old town. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from everything.

Room Tip: Take a room on the river side- great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We loved our stay at the Sacher. There was such an air of professionalism among the staff and attention to detail.
The hotel is beautiful, and our room had two small balconies facing the river and the old town. We were given a free upgrade to a room facing the river.
Breakfast is a marvel of variety and quality, with eggs made to order. The dinner restaurant, in a wood-paneled room with game heads, was equally excellent.
I can't say enough superlatives about this refined hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the Salzach River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified Traditional Hotel, dating from 1866, on Salzach River in city center, 3 km from train station & 6 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sacher Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.