We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful beauty with gorgeous rooms and views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sacher Salzburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
chicago
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Peaceful beauty with gorgeous rooms and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed in the Cosi Fan Tutti suite- rooms 408 and 409. The suite has a large beautiful living room with comfortable coach, chairs and a workstation desk, an entry hall with a large bench for suitcases to sit on top and double closet and a bedroom with very comfortable bedding and pillows. There is a deep carpet on a wood floor. When you arrive, in your room there is a large Sacher torte with a bottle of Champagne and a basket with fruit. The concierge is quite knowledgeable and helpful. The buffet is good. The restaurant is very good- we had venison, Our room had a lovely view of the river, Castle and old town. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from everything.

Room Tip: Take a room on the river side- great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    139
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
103
351
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We loved our stay at the Sacher. There was such an air of professionalism among the staff and attention to detail.
The hotel is beautiful, and our room had two small balconies facing the river and the old town. We were given a free upgrade to a room facing the river.
Breakfast is a marvel of variety and quality, with eggs made to order. The dinner restaurant, in a wood-paneled room with game heads, was equally excellent.
I can't say enough superlatives about this refined hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the Salzach River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

Shortly , it worth your money , starting with the check-in , through room service , laundry , location, river-view , Parking service , ending with check out .
It's worth every cent you pay .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I got a good deal on this hotel through Orbitz and found the prices reasonable, especially after my stay in the ever-expensive city of Munich. This hotel is grand and part of the landscape of Salzburg, plus it shares its name with the grand-dame hotel of Vienna. I think that staying here enhanced my experience of Salzburg.

It was a treat to check into a formal hotel like this one after two nights in a small hotel in down-town Munich. I very much appreciated the valet service, the bell men, and concierge service which I used to book two great tickets to an intimate Baroque music recital in the Mirabell Palace. Surprisingly, some of the desk staff were not very proficient in English, but almost everyone spoke enough to get by and they were patient and nice when I mangled their language.

The room was quiet and well laid-out although the decor was a bit disappointing and the carpet a little worn. There was also a crack in the wall and I could occasionally hear children running in the room above me. But, these are the "charms" of older hotels and we found everything clean and comfortable. The closets were well designed and the room safe was larger than most. There was a nice plate of chocolate truffles and two mini Sacher Torts waiting upon arrival - a very sweet touch. Outside the room, the great atrium was very much what one expects to find in a hotel of this caliber, but the hallways and elevators were postered with corporate advertisements for other hotels in their chain. This was a bit tacky.

The bathroom was the real joy here - large, modern and well-lit. There were large towels and even wash-rags (rare in Europe). The robes were plush and turn-down service included slippers and foot-mats beside the bed. The large windows opened to let in the fresh river air, but closed tightly enough at night so that no noise came in from outside. They even had air-conditioning! My only complaint was that the mattresses were just too hard for me and I could not sleep on my side without my back getting sore.

I did not use any of the hotel amenities except for the parking service and the concierge desk. I understand that there area couple of restaurants and a health club on the premises. The hotel is literally right over the river from the old town - a 5 minute walk - and it felt great to walk back towards it over the river each night for a good night's sleep. I definitely recommend this hotel if you can get a good deal on the price.

Room Tip: Ask to face the river, and if you can't get it, then ask for the end of the building closest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

extremely professional staff that anticipates your needs and simply knows how to serve their customers with a smile. from booking tickets & dinner reservations, to doing the leg work(several phone calls) to locate our missing luggage(Austrain/Tyrolean air issue). kudos to CHRISTIAN(and everyone at the front desk) FOR ALL HIS HARD WORK> BASICALLY ITS GOOD VALUE IN AN EXCELLENT LOCATION NEAR MIRABEL GARDENS AND ACROSS THE PEDESTRIAN BRIDGE FROM OLD TOWN>>>QUIET>>>GREAT VIEW OF THE CASTLE FROM THIS SIDE OF THE RIVER TOO>>>much better than Hotel Stein or Hotel Bristol or others you read about in this price range. this would be my first choice if traveling to Salzburg.

Room Tip: try to reserve a room on the South facing the river and castle view. they are also quieter, but may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

On arrival at the Sacher Hotel Salzburg wew thought WOW, so beautiful. We were greeted by the conceirge and reception and quickly shown to our room. The roomm was so beautifully decorated and quite spacious. We had a small view of the river through the window. The bathroom was spacious and immaculate and supplies of chocolate toiletries beautiful. Our rooms were seviced well each of our 3 nights stay. Breakfast was included in our tarrif and was excellent in all ways. As mentioned by another reviewer, the tablecloths were changed after each guest. The waiters remembered our tea, coffe & juice orders after the first morning and were very obliging especially a young man who had only recently started working at the hotel.
We loved the location, an easy walk across the bridge to the Old Town. We were thrilled to tour Mozart's House and the other many tourist attractions. Our first day was particularly great as there did not seem to be so many tourists and we could move freely. \We ate dinner at one of the restaurants and found the food and service good. However one evening it was raining and the restaurant was crowded as no one could sit outside on the terrace. The staff coped admirably.
Of course we ate at the Sacher Cafe and tried many of the delicious sweets.
The ambiance of this hotel is wonderful and the atmosphere terrific.
We would love to visit Salzburg again one day and would definitely stay at the Sacher again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenbach
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We could write a book to describe this beautiful hotel.
To make it short: hearty welcome, wonderful room with lots of attention to the details, first class bed, fantastic breakfast, very friendly service.......

You really don't want to depart.

We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified Traditional Hotel, dating from 1866, on Salzach River in city center, 3 km from train station & 6 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, HotelsClick, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sacher Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.