We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice 5-Star Hotel in downtown Salzburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sacher Salzburg to your Saves list
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice 5-Star Hotel in downtown Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Sacher has a very long Tradition in Austria. I would put the Sacher as the top hotel in Salzburg in the City Center. Main Shopping area and restaurants are very close by, litteraly just accross the river.

I had a single room on second floor. The room was decorated very traditionally (typical Austrian), long carpets, nice flat TV and very good bed. The only problem encountered came in the morning as the windows were in direction to the street. For people who don't sleep well with noise outside i would recommend booking a room towards the river (anyways preferred for tourists due to the great view on Salzburg)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    155
    41
    17
    16
See reviews for
116
402
38
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Sacher is an excellent hotel, their staff is very helpful and will go out of their way to accomodate the needs of their guests. Superb quality food and the best desserts in the city. Rooms are small, but luxurious.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

A really good old fashioned grand hotel. We booked one of the cheaper rooms but were upgraded to a really pretty room overlooking the castle with two balconies on arrival. The hotel itself was going through a refurbishment, but no issues for us. The concierge Christian was outstanding - friendly without being snooty, which lets be honest is quite often the case in some of the larger five star chains. We ate in the restaurant on one evening - the service was average, but also had a coffee in the hotel coffee shop (ok its a bit more than a coffee shop and was duly full !) which was outstanding. Overall certainly living up to its great reviews.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

The room was wonderful. Clean, spacious and beautifully adorned. My only complaint is that it was next to the elevator and we could (on occasion) hear it clanging up and down. It would be nice if the hotel's management added some sound proofing. The noise is not nerve wracking and most of the time we heard nothing but still it would be nice to never hear it. As to the staff I have nothing but complements! They are so attentive it is nearly embarrassing! During our stay in Salzburg it rained all the time. Yes every single minute. Whenever we left the hotel the staff gladly made sure my wife and I each had one of their huge umbrellas. Upon our return they took them and quickly handed us our room key. There were other nice little touches as well. When we first checked in our room came with a few chocolates and a pair of Sacher Tortes. Yes, they are in part advertisements but they were good! We stayed at three different hotels during our week in Austria, the Hotel Sacher was the best by far.

I do have two complaints. The wireless internet service is second rate. Our room had a weak signal and that made getting to the internet somewhat spotty. More seriously, in my view, is the tenth rate gym. It is in the basement. There are two treadmills and one elliptical machine. All of them belong in a home; not a commercial establishment. Worse, there is but a single television. Since the aerobic equipment looks out on a mirrored wall you better hope that either you are alone in the gym and can select what is on the TV or that you like what somebody else has on.

Despite my two complaints, this is still an excellent hotel and I would recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I had a great stay at The Sacher. It is located very centrally in Salzburg, 15 minutes on the bus from the airport which run regularly to the centre. The Sacher is located on the river and within walking distance of everything. Salzburg appears to be quite a small city and most everything is within walking distance.

The hotel is impressive inside. The staff at the reception were very professional and helpful giving information on tours, maps, the city etc. Our room was located on the 4th floor. It was a good size with very comfortable bed and pillows. The room had an evening turn down service which is always a treat. There appeared to be a little bit of work being done on the hotel during our visit although I didn't hear anything at all and was only aware of it from the outside. The hotel gave us 2 little Sacher Tortes for any inconvenience caused by the work (there was none whatsoever) and the cakes were delicious! The room of course has a full bath with shower over & lots of hot water. There were many international TV channels, although in English only news channels, but that's fine - we weren't there to watch TV!

We went to the piano bar at the hotel for a couple of drinks in the evening which was very nice. We didn't eat in the hotel as there are many restaurants close to the hotel. The breakfast was an eye watering 31 Euros per person, come out of the hotel and turn right and there is a nice cafe overlooking the river as the hotel does which serves a much more reasonably priced breakfast. I thought the prices in the restaurants where we ate dinner were very reasonable, we paid about 30-35 euros for 2 people including drinks.

One thing that surprised me about Salzburg is that many places do not accept credit cards. The fortress, Mozart's House, many shops, cafes, restaurants, supermarkets, tour companies either didn't accept credit cards or had to dust off their machine from a back shelf for us to use. Quite surprising because I don't like to carry around a lot of cash or keep having to find an ATM as we did on this trip!

We took a Sound Of Music tour which was great. I must admit I've not seen the film properly so many of the locations meant nothing to me, but they were so picturesque that it didn't matter. It's definitely worth taking a trip out to the mountains if you have time. We also went to a Mozart piano concert which was fantastic.

In conclusion I would definitely recommend this hotel. I have no complaints at all except that the breakfast is way too expensive, but that's no problem as the hotel is so central there are plenty of other places to go.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We enjoyed an impeccably clean and spacious suite overlooking the Salzach River, across from the Old Town. Service was extremely attentive and even personable, from the bus staff to the concierge. I called about having difficulty with my Internet connection, and within 20 minutes, a staff member visited and resolved the issue,

The gym offers a better selection of fitness stations and space than typical European fitness centers, and there’s a sauna room included. The breakfast buffet was as generous and wide ranging as one could find, with help-yourself champagne, a wide range of cheeses, fruit, and pastries, and the more typical breakfast offerings.

We visited other hotels that we had considered before the trip and were very thankful that we selected the Sacher, which was in a different class from the tired competition. Our two day stay was sufficient to take in Salzburg.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed for two nights at Hotel Sacher in Salzburg and our stay was excellent overall. Service was exceptional, and every interaction with the staff was pleasant, warm and friendly. This is the mark of a true luxury hotel.

Our room was in perfect condition, and I suspect it's one of the rooms that has been renovated recently. Further renovation work is ongoing but it wasn't noticeable during our stay. The view of the old town, the castle, the river and the mountains was amazing. We had a great room service dinner, and the breakfast spread was wonderful. It is a very "continental" breakfast spread, which is just the way I like it.

Minor negatives: the water temperature in the shower fluctuated a bit too much, and parking at 29 euros a day was a bit steep.

Overall though I can highly recommend this hotel. If you want to splurge a bit it is an excellent choice in Salzburg.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified Traditional Hotel, dating from 1866, on Salzach River in city center, 3 km from train station & 6 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LHW, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sacher Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.