We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhilarating! My favourite memory of Salzburg.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Untersberg

Untersberg
Dr. Odlweg 2 | St. Leonhard, Salzburg 5083, Austria
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$29*
and up
Ranked #2 of 90 Attractions in Salzburg
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exhilarating! My favourite memory of Salzburg.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I took the cable car up as it was free with the Salzburg card (the bus far was covered too so the card pays for itself very quickly). Then I took the trail to the very top. It was not a difficult climb, but please wear good hiking shoes as some parts were very slippery and steep. The view from the top really took my breath away, and "Climb Every Mountain" was playing over and over in my head. Then on the way down, I stopped at one of the cafes and had a lovely hot chocolate and cake. Definitely my favourite day in Salzburg, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is not afraid of heights!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    164
    21
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Longer walks than you think!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Excellent views from the top and very scenic walk. Signs with times to next place very misleading. Every one said 1 hour 15 mins. Turned out to be much longer. As the guide book says some alpine experience useful. We did in very good weather. Would be tricky if wet or cold.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gala scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cable car”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Went up in the cable car using the salzburg card you got up for free,lots of attraction for free when using this card,we definitely got our money's worth using it. the views were fabulous from the top looking down the valley towards Salzburg. The pubs served lovely food and a selection of wheat beers.highly recommend when you visiting salzburg .

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Picteresque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Untersberg is very awe-inspiring, especially when you come from a country that doesn't have tall mountains. You can easily get to it by bus, which takes you straight to the cable car facility. Be sure to wear hiking shoes, if you plan to walk a fair distance while you are up there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Take cable car up for amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

No one told me how easy this was - short drive out of town, then 9 minute ride to a spectacular view. You can hike at the top from half hour to all day - unbelievable views on a clear day.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Untersberg also viewed

 

Been to Untersberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Untersberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.