We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath-taking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Untersberg

Untersberg
Salzburg, Austria
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 78 attractions in Salzburg
Type: Mountains
Attraction Details
Pune, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breath-taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The visit to Untersberg is a must must do. You can take the same bus route that brings you to Hellbrunn. The 9 minute cable car ride is breathtaking, especially as the car clims the last few hundred meters. The view from atop the Untersberg is simply breath taking. We cross the snow point and hence we saw snow on Untersberg, which can be good fun. The only fly in the ointment was the restaurant at the top of Untersberg. The attitude of the owner is abominable. He is rude in his behavior with some of the clients and I would not recommend taking a break there. Except for that, Untersabeg is something you cannot miss if you are in Salzburg.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    119
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Marvelous mountain view in Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We never believe that there is The big beautiful mountain just outside of the city, catch a bus Nr.25 and get on a cable up to the air, good for Salzburg card holder with free from the bus to the top of the mountain!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We got there at 4, and the lift didn't take off until 4:30…a bit of a drag since we left the hellbrun castle early to make the lift. (poor pitiful uneducated tourists we are!). The ride up the cable lift was beautiful! You really get a great view of Salzburg. I would go so far as to say that if you only get a chance to do one thing here, do this.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT TRIP WELL WORTH WHILE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is well worth doing. Make time not only for the trip up but when at the top there are a couple of cafe's and numerous walks of various lengths and times. The views at the top are fantatsic, the cable car itself is a tester for those scared of heights, like me. They tend to cram people in but they are staffed. Being Europe there aren't the British yobs who want to mess around and everyone is grown up. A good value for money trip and lovely day out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cable Car (Untersbergbahn)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Difficult to find the appropriate buses to get there but well worth the time to ask around to find it! Incredible views from the cable car!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Untersberg also viewed

 

Been to Untersberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Untersberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Untersberg to your Saves list