We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosses Festspielhaus

Grosses Festspielhaus
Hofstallgasse 1, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
43 0 662-8045-0
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 Activities in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Theaters, Operas, Performances, Theater & Concerts
Attraction details
Tokyo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We bought box seats (140 Euro/ticket) to an orchestral performance of Nabucco, with Riccardo Muti conducting and 8 soloists from the Rome Opera House performing the parts, and they were worth every cent. The acoustics and performance were wonderful (as were the drinking in the street during the intermission and the stylishly dressed people). Highly recommended for those who enjoy impeccably performed classical concerts. (I attended in a wheelchair (broken ankle), and with the elevator to the 2nd floor, I only had to walk up 5 steps to get to my seat.)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    15
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Only go if you speak German.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Festival Halls in Salzburg were a must for my husband, being a classically trained musician and avowed, "Sound of Music," fan. We are sure it must be a lovely experience to tour the buildings, and we are sure they must be very interesting, unfortunately our guide, despite announcing the tour would be in both German and English, spent just 5 minutes of the tour speaking English and the other 55 minutes speaking German. There appeared to be many jokes in his commentary, and when he did speak English, he was clearly very well informed, but we were bitterly disappointed. We did not get to see the backrooms as other visitors have reported and were left at the end to climb over a large chain barrier to exit the building. We are glad others have had a better experience, but ours was downright insulting and we have to review what we actually experienced.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Everybody”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We saw Jedermann a phantastic theatre performance. Liked everything. Due to rain not on the Domplatz, but did not matter.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent acoustics - but really hot on upper level and seats not comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We saw a piano recital and the place was packed with well dressed patrons - for a Saturday night 9:00 PM music festival performance. Very impressive -- and the performance was fantastic. We sat on the upper level and the acoustics were terrific...but we noticed that the heat got to many as there were numerous sleepers up there! The seats were awkward and uncomfortable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Marvellous acoustic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I attended a piano recital here for the third time. Wherever I sit in this great hall, the acoustic is excellent. Even if you sit far away from the platform you have a good view and can hear every note.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grosses Festspielhaus also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Grosses Festspielhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosses Festspielhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.