We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming old hotel in center of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolf

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Wolf
Save Saved
You added Hotel Wolf to your Saves list
Kaigasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“charming old hotel in center of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013. It's really charming, clean, comfortable, and perfectly located in the center of town. While it's not "historic", it has plenty of character. The older couple who run it clearly love the place. As noted by others, the husband is friendly and helpful, but the wife is grumpy and walks around frowning all the time, it's kind of funny actually, just don't ask her for any favors. However she puts out a fantastic breakfast spread, so they make a good team. The place has some quirks typical of old places, like the floors creak, the doors squeak, no AC (or fans), terrible internet. Plus it's kind of pricey. So it ain't perfect, but I liked it anyway. Bring earplugs if you're staying here in summer, as you'll need to open the windows at night and street noise may bother you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
30
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice, little place perfectly situated in Salzburg. You walk right out into the middle of everything. The place is small but really satisfactory by all measures for a couple. Clean and in excellent repair despite being 600 years old! Wifi only in the breakfast room and lobby. Breakfast quite good. The desk help could have been a little bit more attentive but that was easy to overlook. We would recommend this as a good value and a convenient stay in Salzburg.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family of 6 felt very lucky to stay in 2 of this lovely, super clean boutique hotel's 16 rooms last month! We added extra beds to each of our 2 rooms, which naturally made the rooms feel a little tight. We didn't mind, though, because we were out seeing the sights of Salzburg continuously!The warm local owner and front desk staff were engaging, helpful, kind and patient.

This charming, unique hotel is perfectly located in oldtown (Alstadt) Salzburg. It's about 60 paces from Mozart Square, across the street from an acclaimed, small modern modern art museum and within an easy walk to restaurants (such as 220, which has fabulous coffee, great breakfast and lunch). Healthy and fresh breakfast self-served at the Hotel Wolf til 10, crisp white tablecloths, and the owner himself serves rich, freshly brewed coffee, tea and cocoa with a warm smile. The beds were comfortable, our rooms a little small (the hotel was built around 1362), bathrooms updated.

One feature we really appreciated is that the hotel closes their front door at 9 pm, thus entry only by room key thereafter.(The owner lives on site, so in case of emergency he will awaken to answer the door after 9.)

If you like dogs, you're also sure to love "Wolf" whom we only discovered as we were leaving. Wolf (the owner's small dog) played easily with the kids as we were checking out.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A clean and comfortable hotel just around the corner from Mozart Square. Only a couple of grouses. The windows were difficult to open until we were shown the trick. The bathroom was good, with the strange exception of the mirror - the magnifying portion was curiously positioned over the toilet, and therefore not very useful. Apart from these minor points, all was well. Nice breakfast, catering for all tastes. Platters were constantly refilled. The staff were extremely helpful, even providing a flask of coffee for my husband when he had a very early start. Taxis were ordered and were punctual. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You can see the castle (just) from room 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in June, had a great location for exploring the old town and the quad room really worked well for us. The staff was friendly and helpful, only one small error on a local laundry mat but that was not really their fault. Breakfast was great and we thought the variety was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in room 30 at the front of the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is right in the old Salzburg area and near a bus stop for public transportation. Also, our Sound of Music tour company picked us up almost at the front door. The staff person who greeted us was very friendly and even confirmed our reservations with the tour company! The breakfast was continental style, but offered a nice variety. I wish we stayed longer here, and if we ever come back this way, we will definitely stay at Hotel Wolf.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice clean hotel in the center of Salzburg. Room was clean the and staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Location is perfect, driving is a pain, however the work with you. I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf

Address: Kaigasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Wolf Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wolf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.