We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Budget Traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haunsperger Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Haunsperger Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Haunsperger Hof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haunspergstrasse 30, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for Budget Traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Warm staff, good location and lovely blue building, but it seems like a B&B, a good choice for budget traveler. They allowed us to have a early check-in, we arrived at 11:00am and the price is very good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    26
    15
    23
See reviews for
18
20
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Callington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Easy walk from the railway station and a pleasant stroll to the old town along the river. A warm friendly welcome from the duty manager. Our room was clean fairly spacious and on the corner of the building so had windows on two sides. Breakfast was adequate but the staff were slow to clear away and top up the buffet. Free use of wi-fi was a bonus.

A down side was the banging of doors in the night by a group who arrived late.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On the 1st of June we came to Salzburg for excursion and were smashed by waterfalls of water. Heavy rain prevented us from enjoying the sightseeing in full, nevertheless we managed to come at the excursion that was planned beforehand.Temperature was +10 C. Of course, when we came to the hotel, we were frozen and got wet. The staff was not pleasant and didn't smile.
Room was not very big, facing the road. The room was clean except for the window that was dirty. We were lucky to have radiator in the room, turned it on and could dry our clothes and shoes.
There was table, chairs in the room and bath in the bathroom.
I didn't like that lobby of the hotel was rather small and when our group of 40 people from the bus came at once, the room became overcrowded. The dining room was also very small to accommodate 40 people , it was tight near the trays with food. Those who came first, were lucky to find some food (cheese, sausage, bread, fruits and cereal) But those who came later, could afford only coffee and toasts with jam. They also do not have hot meals , even fried eggs.
The room is over priced and cost 119 EURO per night for double room, that is very expensive for * * * Hotel with very small breakfast.
I 'd not say that price corresponds to the quality of this gloomy hotel.
I'd not stay there once more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V.Beckerek
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

thanks to the great receptionist our stay was much easier, we were 6 hours late, he stayd couple hours after closing hour to let us in the hotel, breakfast very nice, we payed for our group dinner to the hotel and it was excelent . 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tettnang, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The bedroom we stayed was clean and quite spacious however, one of the curtains was falling down, the room was noisy and wi-fi was not working.
Breakfast was okay. Can't complain much as it is free.
Walking distance to old town is about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Haunsperger Hof in August during a bicycle tour. We turned up in Salzburg on a Friday night during the music festival season with no reservations (which was stupid of us). Everything in the Alstadt was booked solid, and many other near-in hotels were also fully booked or way too expensive. A quick search on hotels.com on my iPhone turned up this hotel at a somewhat agreeable price (around 110 euro, with breakfast), so we called and booked it.

It's a fair distance from the Alstadt, but wasn't too bad as we were on bicycles. It's also very convenient to the main train station, which is about a five minute walk. From there you can catch trams to just about anyplace in the city. There is also a bus or tram that goes right in front of the hotel, but we weren't able to figure out its timetable and so just walked up to the main station.

The standard rooms are OK but don't have air conditioning. They do have some newly upgraded rooms on the top floor that cost a bit more (20 euros or so). We were tired and hot, and I willingly paid the extra for the nicer room and AC. The new rooms are extremely nice and very well appointed, and extra-quiet. I think it was the best night's sleep we had in our three weeks in Europe on that trip. I recommend spending the extra money and getting the upgraded room.

The breakfast buffet was your standard Austrian hotel buffet. Nothing special, but not bad at all. I will agree with other reviewers that the lady at the front desk was brusque and not terribly helpful, but I wouldn't call her rude.

If you are bike touring, be aware that there is no enclosed, locked place to put your bike. We locked ours in the back parking area in a small roofed area, but it wasn't terribly secure. Since the hotel is just a short distance from the main bike route along the Salzach river, I'm surprised they don't cater more to the many bike tourists that come through.

Would we stay there again? Maybe, but we'd seek out other alternatives first. It was adequate and we had a great nights sleep, but it's not convenient to anything except the main train station.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are newly refurbished and of a higher standard. They cost a bit more, but are well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The first thing... Everything is very expensive in this city. So it's difficult to find good hotel in the center for good money. This hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the train station.
The first thing I didn't like is terrible smell in the room. I don't know what it is, but it's not good. They even have air freshener there, but it doesn't help.
The second thing is early check out. You just can't do it. at 6 am reception is closed. They sleep. I called by the phone and somebody told that they can't come, because they are sleeping. It is very funny! So I couldn't pay for the number and went away without paying. Afterall I made a transaction from Moscow, but it is very strange situation in center of Europe. I wouls say that it is good 2stars hotel. I am not sure that I want to come back there one more time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Haunsperger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haunsperger Hof

Address: Haunspergstrasse 30, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haunsperger Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Haunsperger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haunsperger Hof Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haunsperger Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.