We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small hotel in the heart of Altstadt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Dom

Save Saved
You added Hotel Am Dom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Am Dom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goldgasse 17, A, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Perfect small hotel in the heart of Altstadt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked this last minute after a change of plans and just for one night. We had a deluxe double room with claw foot bath. From initial query I knew this hotel was well run. The staff were prompt with email replies, the instructions for parking and car access to the pedestrian zone were spot on. The walk from the car park building to the hotel is 5 minutes, flat and easy with a suitcase if you don't want to drive through the zone itself. Although we had no problems even driving even though the Christmas Market was in full force. The hotel is very well managed, the room was incredible especially for the price (179 Euros for 2 incl breakfast). Very quiet at night even though it's right in the centre thanks to the double (maybe even triple?) glazing. Gorgeous view out to the little street with the christmas lights everywhere. The breakfast the next morning was well staffed, small decent selection, good espresso. I can't fault this wee hotel. I was thinking of booking us into one of the grand classics in Salzburg but am so SO glad I didn't. A lovely hotel in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Room 102 (deluxe) was great as it was low enough to see the Christmas lights and the wandering of pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    55
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
73
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel two nights. We loved its friendly staff and its intimate atmosphere
The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom impeccable with modern design.
The breakfast was very good and the location could not be better
The hotel is located inside the old town area so you can only get into this zone using a code. You have certain amount of time to load or download your language. This can look uncomfortable but is a small price you have to pay for being in the best part of the old city

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Situated centrally in the pedestrian part of the old centre of Salzburg. Staff were very helpful and friendly. It was great to be able to walk everywhere. Parking is available in a car park 10 minutes walk away and there us an extra fee to pay at the hotel. We didn't try driving in the pedestrian area.
One of our travel group was not tall and the mirror in the bathroom was too high for her so that she was unable to see to dry her hair. There were no towels in one of the rooms although this was quickly rectified. Otherwise rooms had all you needed although they were compact.
Breakfast was well laid out and was a good price although the breakfast area is rather small.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I booked this hotel well in advance in order to get hold of a room but when we arrived there on the day, we were told that they haven't got a room for us as a whole family had taken up the rooms. Although the man at the reception was apologetic, not only he blamed the Booking.com for not responding to their contact, but also trying not to admit their mistake of overbooking.
Fortunately, the Booking.com quickly prepared us a room in the same area which was reasonably good and comfortable, but it was certainly a nasty shock in the middle of our holiday!
When I think about what has happened, I strongly believe that they have pushed us out in the last minute on purpose, so they could accommodate this family. What a nasty hospitality!

Room Tip: Better to be avoided for your peace of mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very pleased with our two night, weekend stay. The Am Dom is located in the old part of Salzburg, and has a wonderful location for all the tourist sights, shops and restaurants. I think someone must have been very careful with the renovation, taking a very old hotel and leaving some charm along with all the up-to-date features you'd want. Our standard priced room and bathroom were not large, but both were clean and comfortable (water could have been a little hotter, though). The room had a wood beam ceiling but was modern in all other ways - just look at the web site and you will see an accurate picture of the rooms and hotel. Fastest wi-fi connection of our trip. We booked though their web site, and the booking was done quickly and professionally. The staff was pleasant and helpful - one person from the morning staff took the time to tell us about the walk along the Monchsburg Path and drew us a map. Breakfast perfectly fine but not great, reflecting the small size of the hotel.

Room Tip: I think you can choose which floor you want to stay on when you book. Each floor has different art...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This charming hotel has everything from an exceptionally friendly and helpful staff to a beautiful contemporary decor w/all the amenities. The breakfast was delicious. Best of all is the hotel's perfect location in the old town of Salzburg. You cannot go wrong with this gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This small hotel has everything we wanted. It is located a few steps from Domplatz and the adjoining Mozart Platz in a small street lined with shops, restaurants etc. it is very quiet with only church bells and amorous doves to be heard. Very good room with very modern bathroom, good bed, safe, TV, very good wifi. The staff here are great, friendly, helpful. Hound lady on front desk was wonderful (Christina I think). All in all we were very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in 306 which was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Dom

Address: Goldgasse 17, A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Dom 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Dom Hotel
Am Dom Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.