We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small hotel in the heart of Altstadt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Dom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Am Dom to your Saves list
Hotel Am Dom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goldgasse 17, A, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Perfect small hotel in the heart of Altstadt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked this last minute after a change of plans and just for one night. We had a deluxe double room with claw foot bath. From initial query I knew this hotel was well run. The staff were prompt with email replies, the instructions for parking and car access to the pedestrian zone were spot on. The walk from the car park building to the hotel is 5 minutes, flat and easy with a suitcase if you don't want to drive through the zone itself. Although we had no problems even driving even though the Christmas Market was in full force. The hotel is very well managed, the room was incredible especially for the price (179 Euros for 2 incl breakfast). Very quiet at night even though it's right in the centre thanks to the double (maybe even triple?) glazing. Gorgeous view out to the little street with the christmas lights everywhere. The breakfast the next morning was well staffed, small decent selection, good espresso. I can't fault this wee hotel. I was thinking of booking us into one of the grand classics in Salzburg but am so SO glad I didn't. A lovely hotel in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Room 102 (deluxe) was great as it was low enough to see the Christmas lights and the wandering of pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    76
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
122
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel two nights. We loved its friendly staff and its intimate atmosphere
The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom impeccable with modern design.
The breakfast was very good and the location could not be better
The hotel is located inside the old town area so you can only get into this zone using a code. You have certain amount of time to load or download your language. This can look uncomfortable but is a small price you have to pay for being in the best part of the old city

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Situated centrally in the pedestrian part of the old centre of Salzburg. Staff were very helpful and friendly. It was great to be able to walk everywhere. Parking is available in a car park 10 minutes walk away and there us an extra fee to pay at the hotel. We didn't try driving in the pedestrian area.
One of our travel group was not tall and the mirror in the bathroom was too high for her so that she was unable to see to dry her hair. There were no towels in one of the rooms although this was quickly rectified. Otherwise rooms had all you needed although they were compact.
Breakfast was well laid out and was a good price although the breakfast area is rather small.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I booked this hotel well in advance in order to get hold of a room but when we arrived there on the day, we were told that they haven't got a room for us as a whole family had taken up the rooms. Although the man at the reception was apologetic, not only he blamed the Booking.com for not responding to their contact, but also trying not to admit their mistake of overbooking.
Fortunately, the Booking.com quickly prepared us a room in the same area which was reasonably good and comfortable, but it was certainly a nasty shock in the middle of our holiday!
When I think about what has happened, I strongly believe that they have pushed us out in the last minute on purpose, so they could accommodate this family. What a nasty hospitality!

Room Tip: Better to be avoided for your peace of mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very pleased with our two night, weekend stay. The Am Dom is located in the old part of Salzburg, and has a wonderful location for all the tourist sights, shops and restaurants. I think someone must have been very careful with the renovation, taking a very old hotel and leaving some charm along with all the up-to-date features you'd want. Our standard priced room and bathroom were not large, but both were clean and comfortable (water could have been a little hotter, though). The room had a wood beam ceiling but was modern in all other ways - just look at the web site and you will see an accurate picture of the rooms and hotel. Fastest wi-fi connection of our trip. We booked though their web site, and the booking was done quickly and professionally. The staff was pleasant and helpful - one person from the morning staff took the time to tell us about the walk along the Monchsburg Path and drew us a map. Breakfast perfectly fine but not great, reflecting the small size of the hotel.

Room Tip: I think you can choose which floor you want to stay on when you book. Each floor has different art...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This charming hotel has everything from an exceptionally friendly and helpful staff to a beautiful contemporary decor w/all the amenities. The breakfast was delicious. Best of all is the hotel's perfect location in the old town of Salzburg. You cannot go wrong with this gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This small hotel has everything we wanted. It is located a few steps from Domplatz and the adjoining Mozart Platz in a small street lined with shops, restaurants etc. it is very quiet with only church bells and amorous doves to be heard. Very good room with very modern bathroom, good bed, safe, TV, very good wifi. The staff here are great, friendly, helpful. Hound lady on front desk was wonderful (Christina I think). All in all we were very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in 306 which was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 135 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 135 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 135 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Auersperg
Hotel Auersperg
#5 of 135 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 135 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#21 of 135 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Dom

Address: Goldgasse 17, A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Dom Hotel
Am Dom Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.