We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Dom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Am Dom to your Saves list
Hotel Am Dom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goldgasse 17, A, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Bendigo, Victoria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Situated centrally in the pedestrian part of the old centre of Salzburg. Staff were very helpful and friendly. It was great to be able to walk everywhere. Parking is available in a car park 10 minutes walk away and there us an extra fee to pay at the hotel. We didn't try driving in the pedestrian area.
One of our travel group was not tall and the mirror in the bathroom was too high for her so that she was unable to see to dry her hair. There were no towels in one of the rooms although this was quickly rectified. Otherwise rooms had all you needed although they were compact.
Breakfast was well laid out and was a good price although the breakfast area is rather small.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    56
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
91
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I booked this hotel well in advance in order to get hold of a room but when we arrived there on the day, we were told that they haven't got a room for us as a whole family had taken up the rooms. Although the man at the reception was apologetic, not only he blamed the Booking.com for not responding to their contact, but also trying not to admit their mistake of overbooking.
Fortunately, the Booking.com quickly prepared us a room in the same area which was reasonably good and comfortable, but it was certainly a nasty shock in the middle of our holiday!
When I think about what has happened, I strongly believe that they have pushed us out in the last minute on purpose, so they could accommodate this family. What a nasty hospitality!

Room Tip: Better to be avoided for your peace of mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very pleased with our two night, weekend stay. The Am Dom is located in the old part of Salzburg, and has a wonderful location for all the tourist sights, shops and restaurants. I think someone must have been very careful with the renovation, taking a very old hotel and leaving some charm along with all the up-to-date features you'd want. Our standard priced room and bathroom were not large, but both were clean and comfortable (water could have been a little hotter, though). The room had a wood beam ceiling but was modern in all other ways - just look at the web site and you will see an accurate picture of the rooms and hotel. Fastest wi-fi connection of our trip. We booked though their web site, and the booking was done quickly and professionally. The staff was pleasant and helpful - one person from the morning staff took the time to tell us about the walk along the Monchsburg Path and drew us a map. Breakfast perfectly fine but not great, reflecting the small size of the hotel.

Room Tip: I think you can choose which floor you want to stay on when you book. Each floor has different art...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This charming hotel has everything from an exceptionally friendly and helpful staff to a beautiful contemporary decor w/all the amenities. The breakfast was delicious. Best of all is the hotel's perfect location in the old town of Salzburg. You cannot go wrong with this gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This small hotel has everything we wanted. It is located a few steps from Domplatz and the adjoining Mozart Platz in a small street lined with shops, restaurants etc. it is very quiet with only church bells and amorous doves to be heard. Very good room with very modern bathroom, good bed, safe, TV, very good wifi. The staff here are great, friendly, helpful. Hound lady on front desk was wonderful (Christina I think). All in all we were very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in 306 which was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Here's the 1,2,3s...

1. Awesome location in the old town steps away from the cathedral and shopping streets. "Modern" decor with exposed and painted wood beams in the room.

2. Met the owner twice over course of 2 nights. He is proud of his hotel and wanted to make sure we were satisfied. Great info/directions from the rest of the staff.

3. Book early, directly with the hotel for the best rates and breakfast included. Park where they recommend and walk 10 min. to the hotel. Don't attempt driving in the old town.

Did NOT experience any of the disrepair that you see in some of the photos. Room 204 was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Small, boutique hotel in the middle of Salzburg. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The design is fantastic -- incorporating the historic elements with up-to-the-minute features. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to spend in Salzburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Dom

Address: Goldgasse 17, A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Dom Hotel
Am Dom Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.