We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with historic charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Dom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Am Dom to your Saves list
Hotel Am Dom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goldgasse 17, A, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with historic charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our rooms were nicely appointed and with modern features. The staff was gracious, the breakfast, delicious, and the location, perfect. The only drawback was that it was on an alley so very little natural light could get in. Overall, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    59
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
97
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great combination of Old World charm and a new Chic remodel. Still had 16th century stone stairs and wooden beams in the hallways, with a new Chic design in the rooms. It was very comfortable and quiet. The AC was great in the 90 degree temps. Only about 15 steps off Residence Platz (Mozart Square), and very near everything in old town. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. The shower was the biggest I had in Europe. If I ever get back to Salzburg, I wouldn't even look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Set in the centre of historic Salzburg, a few minutes' walk from the major sights. St Peter's Keller, Europe's oldest restaurant is very close, and highly recommended. Rooms are very pleasantly designed and Joseph, the owner, and his staff personally do everything to ensure the best of one's stay! Very much appreciated ... thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our almost grown-up daughters for two nights over the first weekend of the Mozart Festival. Our room was a bit cramped, having a claw feet bath as well as bed, sofa and chairs, and a glass enclosure around the shower room and loo which left little to the imagination. But all very clean and good powerful shower and new fittings. Ancient beams, some still decorated, supporting both ceilings. This is a truly ancient house that has been well adapted on the whole. Style is modern - black, good, stainless steel. Breakfast was good, if a little cramped at the back of reception, and air conditioning would have made the extreme heat easier to bear. We would stay again - you cannot beat the location. Note you cannot drive to the hotel, though there is subsidised (free in our case) parking just outside the old city centre. We were not troubled by the walk to and from the car - it gave us a chance to appreciate more of the festival goers in their elegant figure-flattering dirndls or green felt horn-buttoned jackets.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My daughter and I spent two nights at Hotel Am Dom and could not have been more pleased with the service. We were greeted warmly by the manager who took great care to ensure that our sightseeing needs and overall stay in Salzburg were top notch. The gracious owner, Josef was able to recommend local eateries off the beaten track and even treated us to a glass of Bellini before we left.

The location was stellar. Accommodations were meticulous and modern with a bit of old world charm. We were thrilled to find that our room was pleasantly air conditioned considering many tourists we ran into had accommodations without air. We considered ourselves very blessed and it was a nice reprieve from the heat mid-day.

Superb breakfast as well. Quaint breakfast nook and staff was friendly and accommodating. They will treat you like family- we definitely plan to come back and highly recommend Hotel Am Dom!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Apart from our check-in experience, we really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. We arrived at around 9:00 in the evening, and the front girl hurriedly gave us the key, and waved us to show us where we should scan our key to gain access to the hotel after 11 pm. Then she went back behind the counter to continue to chat with a guy (not the owner). We entered our room, and I tried to figure out how to turn on the AC. The room had this high tech pad and the display was in German. I went downstairs (which, by the way, was only one flight of stairs and took 10 seconds)and asked the girl whether she can help me with the AC. Without even moving her butt, she told me I just had to push the button. I walked back up to my room, and had no idea how to work that panel. I walked downstairs again, and asked whether she mind coming up (which would take her 10 seconds) to help me. As soon as she entered the room, she asked me whether all the windows were closed properly. I started to get mad, and told her that's not really my job to make sure all the windows were closed properly. She then pressed some keys on the panel, and told me the AC now worked! After we put down our luggage, we had to go out, and I could see the girl was still chatting with the same guy.

Apart from this night girl, the other staff and the owner were exceptional. Eggs were made to order in the morning, and the coffee was good. The owner gave us some recommendations for sight seeing. Overall, we enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Dom

Address: Goldgasse 17, A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Dom Hotel
Am Dom Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.