We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldene Ente

Save Saved
You added Hotel Goldene Ente to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Goldene Ente
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goldgasse 10, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #27 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Memphis,TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

What a delightful place - after arriving with my 78 year old mother and aunt, 8 year old daughter we were greeted like family by Ulrike. She knew of our rather unusual group request as we awaited for my college daughter and 3 friends that were arriving from Italy.
The college girls were put up in the top floor suite where they were thinking they had "died and gone to heaven" after sleeping in hostels. trains,etc. while touring Italy. And my 8 year old thought she was living in a movie scene - a cross between the "Suite Life" and the Sound of Music. The views from the quaint balcony up top were wonderful - a great place to have coffee,etc. The breakfast was yummie and again, Ulrike made the college girls feel very special when she was concerned to say"bungee - no good" to them when told about their next adventure to jump off the tallest bridge in Europe - she really was concerned! And my wonderful older women and 8 year old thought everything was equally fabulous. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to go back sooner than later!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    86
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
70
105
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

My girlfriend and I just returned from a 2 week trip to Austria. Started in Vienna, went to Melk, cruised the Danube and then to Salzburg. The Goldene Ente was a treasure, located in the heart of old Salzburg. Ulrike, the front desk woman, was probably the nicest and most helpful person we have ever encountered on our many trips to Europe! She is a delightful person; full of energy and will help you with anything. She started to feel like an old friend by the end of the trip. We also met Anita one night who was lovely. Ulrike made our stay in Salzburg extra special. Many, many thanks to her!
Salzburg is gorgeous and the people very helpful and friendly. The food is good, the pastry better, and the gluhwein excellent! Everything is Mozart and what could possibly be wrong with that? The fortress is a sight; the view of the Alps from the top was sublime. There were fabulous street musicians everywhere.
This hotel was in easy walking distance of all the sights and even only a 20 minute walk to the train station.
We took a day trip to Halstatt (with expert advice on changing trains frrom Ulrike!) It was beyond description. It is a little village set in the Alps and was as quintessential Austria as one could get. The train ride to get there was a joy; went through the lake district and enjoyed the scenery so much.
Would go back to Salzburg in a minute and wouldn't consider staying anywhere but the Goldene Ente! Make sure you try the Salzburg Nockerl there - expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

What can I say about Hotel Golden Ente. We had four fantastic nights in this Hotel, and right now I cant wait to go back.

We arrived from Munich via the train, and before I arrived I e-mailed the Hotel to advise them we would not be arriving until about 8.00pm and to ask for directions to the hotel from the station, Ulrike e-mailed me and advised that taxi was the best option, and it would cost about right euro.

We arrived at the station, got the taxi, and it did cost eight euro! Taxi drops you just around the corner from the hotel as hotel is on pedestrian street.

The hotel bulding is aboout 700 years old, set in the old town, in lovely long narrow streets, very charming. We checked in no problem, girl on reception was so helpful in providing us with a map and list and options of things to see and do in Salzburg, straight away we got a feeling that we would be happy in this hotel.

The room was lovely and quaint, nice size room, nice view overlooking the narrow street. Lovely old style, hotel/room, Nice big wardrobe with dressing gowns, slippers, umbrella, safe all in the wardrobe. The bathroom was a nice size, plenty of room and what I loved was the big deep bath, deeper than what I have seen in a long time. Maybe its my imagination I think the bathroom floor was heated also. TV with plenty of channels on it, nice little table and chair facing the window. And the room was lovely and warm, we slept like a log that night.

We got up that morning and went to breakfast and we got a fantastic greeting from Ulrike at the breakfast, welcomed us to the hotel, was so helpful when he asked her about tours and the sound of music tour, she arranged the tour to collect us that day. The breakfast was really good with the usual tea/cofffee etc cereals, juices, yougarts, toast, meat, fruit, egg etc fantastic choice.

The hotel had internet access for free to all residents also near our room which was a plus, as we stayed in a 4 star hotel in Munich and had no internet as all they had was wireless, which was a bit of a let down.

We ate most nights in the restaurant down below, staff there were top class, we were served by 2 girrls and they were so so helpful and the service was really fast, the apple studle there was the best ever!

In terms of location the hotel is dream, turn right and your right on Mozart place, which is where the tourist office is, Salzburg Musuem, horse trips, and hotel is few min walk to the finuclar train up to the Fortress, which is class. I cant state enough how central the hotel is to everything in Salzburg.

Bit of advise; make sure you go to the tourist office and get the Salzburg card; you will save a lot of money on various musuems and some tours, plus it allows you free access on the bus, you should get it.

Cant stress enough also how helpful and always in good form Ulrike was, it was so nice having that sort of attention in a hotel today, which is why we will certainly return there.

If anyone has any questions on Golden ente or Salzburg dont hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Our son and his wife had stayed at the Goldene Ente 10 years ago and highly recommended it to us. The location in the Old Town of Salzburg is perfect and it is a hotel with character as the building is very old, but well kept. The breakfast was very good too. The restaurant on the ground floor has the best goulash (soup) that I've ever had. Ulrike is so friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to spend three nights there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

The hotel is wonderfully convenient to the main Salzburg sights and in the midst of the pedestrian area. The furnishings of the room were adequate but spartan. The bed was good. It was really hot and sleeping was difficult because our room had little ventilation and no AC. Breakfast was excellent and had a wide variety of breads, meats, eggs, cereals, juices. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Although this hotel was a bit pricey, it was definitely worth being right in the center of the action. The location was excellent. We had a room facing the back--no view, but it was so nice, quiet, and romantic. My parents had a room on the street and said it was a bit noisy at night and early morning, but enjoyed people watching. The staff was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. The morning of my husband and my anniversary, we came down to breakfast and there were rose petals on the table, a candle, and a small bottle of champagne. What a lovely way to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Stayed here in mid June with a group of friends on a mature ladies hen-weekend. We had the top floor apartment which was lovely as we all got to stay together rather than in separate hotel rooms.
The apartment was spotlessly clean with a large bathroom and an extra separate toilet. There was also a small kitchen which was very handy. The owner is a lovely lady who cannot do enough and the breakfast is very good.
The cost between the five of us ladies worked out around 40 euros each, maybe a bit less which was excellent value. I would definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. The location couldn't be better, there is even a bar/cafe on the ground floor, what more could you want? .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldene Ente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Ente

Address: Goldgasse 10, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#25 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldene Ente 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Goldene Ente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldene Ente Hotel
Goldene Ente Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldene Ente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.