We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in an historic building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldgasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldgasse to your Saves list
Hotel Goldgasse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goldgasse 10, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria (Formerly Hotel Goldene Ente)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Elegance in an historic building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a single on my own for just two nights - wished it could have been longer! The pictures on this site do not exaggerate its beauty. The old building has been lovingly refurbished with elegant touches everywhere. Although relatively simple, the furnishings and fixtures are unusual and tasteful. You will not find a more attentive hostess than Ulrike: she was waiting to greet me when I stepped off the elevator! Location is the best: a few steps away from Residenzplatz. Just note that the old building has steep, winding stairwells, and there are steps to negotiate in the hallways, even if you take the elevator. Summarizing, you'll find great value and a unique experience here - I don't think I could be tempted to try another hotel on my next visit to Salzburg!

Room Tip: In summer I'd recommend a room not facing the street (noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The restaurant is really excellent. I wasn't staying at the hotel but had the good fortune to have dinner there.

It is right in the centre of Salzburg - and would be well worth taking a look.

Salzburg is such a delightful city which amazing has not be spoilt by tourism.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Our family stayed at Goldgasse (Goldenen Ente) for two nights in April 2015. From the moment we made our booking, merely an couple of hours prior to our arrival in Salzburg, we were thrilled with the service we received.

Our hostess, Ulrike was charming and helpful. She assisted is via many phone calls with directions to the hotel, which after a day's drive from Venice with two youngsters, proved a little tricky for our frazzled brains. On entering the old town we were able to park in Residensplatz, very close to the hotel and rolled our luggage less than a minute to the entry. Ulrike greeted us like long lost family. She whisked us to our enormous room so we could freshen up.

The car park is not too far away. You simply drive there after dropping off your luggage and checking in (no rush) and walk the few minutes back. The hotel gives you a discount at the end of your stay.

Our kids (8 and 10) shared our room. There was plenty of space and they had big single beds close together on the other side of the room. Having the four of us in the same room was not an issue as we were on the top floor and had our own rooftop terrace which gave us spectacular views of the fortress and the domes of the church. The weather was incredible during our stay so my husband and I enjoyed drinks in the terrace while the kids slept. It will be even better on the terrace when they connect a little outdoor light. The wiring was there but it just hadn't been completed yet. It was beautiful in the dark anyway and it wasn't pitch black.

We ate at the restaurant downstairs on our second night and the food was excellent. It was more expensive than you would pay for pretty much the same meal nearby but for the convenience of taking the kids to their beds after dinner, it was perfect. Also at the restaurant we ate at on our first night there was an indoor smokers section. Although the non smokers section was in another area, it was still stinky. Goldgasse's restaurant does not have a indoor smoking section. I found it really odd that the Austrian's have not banned smoking indoors yet.

Hostess Ulrike was so sweet to our kids and spoilt them during our stay. She and I had some lovely chats and she also helped me to select a hotel at our next destination and rang and booked this for us. We only stayed at Goldengasse for two nights, but there were hugs all round on our departure. Such a nice way to leave a city that we loved so much. Ulrike is a great ambassador for the hotel, for Salzburg and the Austrian people.

You won't be sorry you stayed here. Thank you Ulrike. Our little international family hopes to see you again some day!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saffron walden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Stayed here in December 2014 for a couple of nights whilst visiting the Christmas markets. The hotel was newly refurbished and had just re-opened. The accommodation was perfect, staff were friendly, attentive and very professional. Dinner in the restaurant was fabulous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

My choice of where to spend my 50th birthday over the New Year could not have been better.
The wonderful welcome upon arrival was matched by the overall quality of the hotel, restaurant and all of the staff.
Dinner on New Years Day looked and tasted delicious.
Customer service at its best resulting in very satisfied customers. We will definitely return. Highly recommend the beautiful city of Salzburg as a destination and this hotel as the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Just back from a fantastic stay in Salzburg, after having stayed in one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Lovely boutique style hotel and attention to detail amazing. It's situated in the Old Town and a stones throw from everything. Nice old hotel with newly refurbished, stylish modern rooms, exceptionally clean and with very attentive staff. Special thanks to the manageress Ulrike, who even prepared a champagne breakfast for one of our party (celebrating his big 50), without us knowing. The food in the adjoining restaurant, a cut above and quite exceptional also (easily the best meal of our recent trip). Would not hesitate to return and thanks once again to Ulrike and her staff.

Room Tip: situated down a small shopping alleyway, so if travelling by car, car parking might be an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Booked hotel last June after reading good reviews. Arrived on Friday afternoon to find it covered in scaffold with a note pinned to the entrance, hotel closed until June, to contact another hotel for more info. We were not pleased having walked with our luggage from the airport bus. We were not contacted.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellerpro43, General Manager at Hotel Goldgasse, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are very sorry to hear that we could not reach you for an information on our closure.
We do hope that your Salzburg stay was a good one in our sister Hotels and we hope we can welcome you again once the Hotel is reopened. Sincere regards and warm greetings! Margot Weindorfer, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Goldgasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldgasse

Address: Goldgasse 10, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria (Formerly Hotel Goldene Ente)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldgasse 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completly renovated, unique Boutique Hotel. Right in the heart of the historic city centre. Only a few steps away from the cathedral and within walking distance to the festival halls, museums an galeries in town. Beautiful rooms and suites and great breakfast. First class Restaurant on sight. Public garage only 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Goldgasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldene Ente Hotel
Goldene Ente Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldgasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.