We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family hotel in Salzburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldene Ente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldene Ente to your Saves list
Hotel Goldene Ente
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goldgasse 10, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic family hotel in Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the moment we checked in until we checked out we were made to feel very welcome by Ulrike the lovely lady at the front desk. She ensured we had all we needed to enjoy Salzburg. Going as far to ensure we all had our coffee as soon as we went in for breakfast. She particularly ensured "mutter" (mother) was well looked after considering the three teenage children in tow. We had adjoining rooms with plenty of room for three "teenagers" (12, 15 & 17). Location in the centre of the Altstadt was perfect for a Christmas holiday. The chocolates and biscuits on Christmas eve were a very nice touch. They have a homely restaurant downstairs so on the nights you don't want to venture out a meal is easy to get. The only disappointment was with Salzburg itself having a "fake" ice skating rink. Would recommend this to any family or couple with some room for a higher cost hotel.

Room Tip: Choose one near the wifi hotspot. We had good access from our rooms but others had to sit in the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    87
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
71
105
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and stayed for 4 nights over Christmas and had a wonderful time. Ulrike is a wonderful, friendly host who knows everything there is to know about Salzburg. The hotel is hundreds of years old so has lots of character. Breakfasts is provided and includes cereals, yoghurt, eggs, cold cuts and cheeses and a myriad of bread choices. Tea and coffee are made by Ulrike. There is also a cosy bar and restaurant downstairs. The location is superb - right in the centre of the old town and close to the bus for anything in the area surrounding Salzburg. We have really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again next time we get to Salzburg.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here the week before Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Location - if you want to be 1-5 minutes walking distance to the sights and activities of Salzburg, this is perfect. It is also on a quite pedestrian only street (which is very pretty).

Hotel - a quaint old building, however, our room was spacious and quiet. Amenities were fine. There is also a good restaurant on the bottom floor that serves Austrian food from mid day until 10pm. We ate there with our family each night and enjoyed it.

Hospitality - Ulrike, the hostess, was excellent. She did more than she needed to for us and for our children.

We would return to the Goldene Ente anytime we were in Salzburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights . Our room was on the forth floor. The room was full of character and a decent size. It has the necessary items ( hair dryer, good thick towels, bathrobe) -well equipped for a European hotel.The hostess, Ulrike, was amazing. She was very welcoming, helpful in discussing potential itineraries, providing maps and arranging taxis. Breakfast was served from 7:30-10:30 plenty of choices- meats, eggs, cheeses, teas/coffees, fruits, breads,rolls and cakes. Umbrellas were provided- a nice plus on rainy/snowy days. Highly recommended on service and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Goldene Ente in Salzburg for 2 weekend night recently. If this is the 14th best hotel in Salzburg, the other 13 must be remarkable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The highlight was Ulrike who ran the hotel. She was unbelievably helpful in giving us tips, directions and advice. We offhandedly mentioned that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and when we returned to the room there was a small bottle of Champagne and some orange juice waiting for us.

The room itself (number 5) was small but very comfortable. The bathroom was large and spotless. The location of the hotel was perfect. We were very close to everything in the Old Town including the Christmas Markets. The hotel is located on a narrow street (Goldgasse) with no traffic. There is a very nice restaurant in the hotel which stayed open until around 10:00PM. We could hear noise from the dining room, but this ended around 10:00PM. After that it was very quiet. The breakfast was substantial and very fresh.

Given the price, location, and Ulrike, we will be staying at the Goldene Ente the next time we are in Salzburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good breakfast daily, fantastic concierge called Ulrike, great location central to all the major sights. One detraction was cooking smells from the restaurant downstairs wafted up to first floor bedroom (due to great weather, I kept one of the two bedroom windows open all night!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for four nights and loved it. The host, Ulrike, was amazing. She was very welcoming, helpful in discussing potential itineraries and organising tours and transfers. The room was full of character and a decent size and well equipped for a European hotel. The trade off on location (being in the old town) was there was a bit of noise from the street below at times but I didn't find it diminished my experience of the hotel. The breakfast was perfectly nice with Ulrike making coffee or tea for guests throughout the morning while gracefully dealing with phone calls and other hotel business. Ulrike also invited guests to make up a lunch pack on their last day which was a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again when next I return to Salzburg.

Room Tip: I had room 14 at the front of the Hotel on floor 3 and was very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldene Ente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Ente

Address: Goldgasse 10, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldene Ente 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Goldene Ente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldene Ente Hotel
Goldene Ente Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldene Ente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.