We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldene Ente

Save Saved
You added Hotel Goldene Ente to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Goldene Ente
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goldgasse 10, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #27 of 134 hotels in Salzburg
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent as it is right in the city center on a cobblestone street. Our rooms were clean and quaint with wood beamed ceilings and furnished with antiques. The woman who greeted us upon check in was fantastic - friendly, quirky and funny. Every hotel should employ staff like her.

The breakfast was good, but fairly standard for Austria. Fresh breads, cheese and meat trays, cereals, dried fruit and hardboiled eggs were offered along with fresh coffee, teas and juices.

I recommend the hotel restaurant for dinner. Our food was excellent.

My only complaint about the hotel: The rooms (or at least the one we stayed in) did not have air conditioning. While this normally isn't an issue in this region of Europe, the night we stayed was uncomfortably warm. We slept with our windows open and the street noise was very loud. We heard people talking in the streets until approximately 2am and construction started a few blocks away around 8am.

All in all, I would absolutely stay here again, but not in the warm summer months.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    86
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
70
105
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I would recommend this hotel due to the excellent service and extremely helpful manager, not to mention great location. The room was fairly basic as was the shower, but there was nothing wrong with it. Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great location - super manager - property is said to be 600 years old - bound to be some problems. Shower needed repair as soon as we arrived - repairs started and finished next morning.
Room had tired furniture - non-working TV - noisy restaurant downstairs., but overall an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel has got it all. The location is perfect, right in the center of the old part of Salzburg where it takes only minutes to walk to everything. Great food, beer and service at the restaurant.
The room we had (number 12) was very comfortable and spacious with a very good size bathroom. We didn't hear any noise at all from the street. Salzburg is a lovely and quiet town.
But most of all the welcome we received from the hotel manageress Ulrike provided the best welcome we've received in any hotel all around the world. She is friendly, professionnal, funny, attentive and so on. The breakfast buffet is great with a very good choice of cereals, fruits, cold meat, cheeses, egg, bread, juices, etc...Would highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel when in Salzburg.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were warmly welcomed when we arrived at this hotel our room was excellent ,immaculate furnishings tastefully done and in very good condition. The bathroom was very modern and a very good size. We felt very much at home here it is centrally located and shops are located very close by. Breakfast was very good. Fabulous hospitality high recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Hotel is very conveniently located in the Old Town. Room was spacious and clean.

Breakfast was enjoyable and good to start to the day.

Only minor issue was the shower was not fully enclosed and therefore it was difficult to keep the water only in the shower.

However we would most definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone visiting Salzburg.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge U.K.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Right in the heart of the Old Town. Ancient building, with good amenities and a very welcoming and hospitable proprietress. Breakfast buffet was excellent and the manageress couldn't do enough for us. We would return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Goldene Ente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Ente

Address: Goldgasse 10, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldene Ente 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Goldene Ente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldene Ente Hotel
Goldene Ente Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldene Ente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.