We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional location, nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldgasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldgasse to your Saves list
Hotel Goldgasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goldgasse 10, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria (Formerly Hotel Goldene Ente)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Exceptional location, nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

You need to be pretty good with stairs but this is a nice hotel in a great location that you will pay good money for. The only amenity really is breakfast after 7:30 (although the hotel-keeper was nice enough to allow us to wrap sandwiches up earlier) and no Wi-Fi but this hotel is on a cute narrow street in the middle of the main Salzburg attractions. Very happy with the service and rooms were clean and updated, although not having a shower curtain in our case (due to the layout of the bathroom) was surprising.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    87
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
71
105
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just OK. That was our impression of Hotel Goldene Ente during our two night’s stay in May.

We found the location to be quite convenient and perfect for accessing any aspect of the city, really. Unfortunately, that central location meant for some very loud nights and early mornings. During one of the nights/early mornings we were there, we were kept awake by what seemed like endless dragging of wheeled carts or bins along the cobbled path. Shutting the windows did help a bit, but we could still hear the noise.

We didn’t expect to find large rooms in such an old structure, so the size of the room was definitely adequate. The finish work such as the paint on the walls, and the trim work was in pretty bad shape, though. Maybe because we booked the day before we got the absolute bottom of the bucket room, but really, this one just left a bad impression.

The bathroom had relatively nice aesthetics. It had clearly been recently redone with updated fixtures and tile. But it was odd. We were just baffled by the configuration of the shower nozzle in the tub around which there was no curtain. No matter how careful one was with turning off the water between lathering and rinsing, and generally moving through the cleaning process fairly quickly water would end up all over the place. I know that it is possible to have an open shower of that sort that can be configured so as to not make it so that you have water all over the ground. This was not it; great idea, but really poor execution.

The breakfast and the room in which it was served were somewhat marginal. Not bad, mind you, just nothing remarkable. Served their purpose, but that’s about it.

Overall, we found Hotel Goldene Ente to be adequate, but not terribly special. Our experiences in our room and bathroom added a level of discomfort and annoyance to our stay that didn’t ruin our stay, but did make us realize pretty quickly that there are likely better options in this lovely city.

I’d say if location is your priority (or if having someone book you into lots of tourist attractions, which isn’t really our bag, but might be yours) then this would be a reasonable choice. On the other hand if comfort were your priority I’d advise you to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Goldene Ente In Salzburg the second week of August and had a delightful stay! We are a family of four (parents and two girls ages 11 and 14). We stayed in the top floor suite which was very spacious and had everything we needed. The location is fantastic -- in the old town in the middle of everything -- just a few minutes walk to everything. Great little restaurants near by, bakeries, etc. A wonderful breakfast awaits you every morning. The best part -- Ulrike!!!!! She is an amazing ambassador for the hotel! She greets you as if you were family and insists on taking care of your every need. She is kind and generous and has a great sense of humor. We looked forward to her smiling face every morning! We would go back in a heart beat!! We were so sad to leave the beautiful city of Salzburg and to say good bye to our wonderful friend Ulrike!!! A great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Handy location in the heart of the Old City, near Mozart's birth-house and many museums, restaurants, and gift shops. Some parts of the building go back 800 years, which means some of the walls and stairs are rugged stone. Breakfast, while not lavish, was very good, and the hotel's restaurant is lively and charming. As others have mentioned, Ulrike is friendly, cheerful, and willing to help with advice and answers to questions. The alley (Goldgasse) can get noisy at night with uproar from strolling drinkers, but the hotel itself is peaceful.

Room Tip: Consult with Ulrike beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

They should rename this hotel "Ulrike" after the charming hostess who makes everyone equally at home.and never ceases to notice every detail. I think many more expensive hotels miss their mark because they have such impersonal staff. The hotel seems from another era, one when travel was far less hectic, and the character of place so much more important. Breakfast here is wonderful, lots of choices, and great coffee. I expecially enjoyed the tiny roof garden, looking over neighboring roofs. For location, charm, and warm greeting, this is the place to stay in Salzburg. Ulrike always asks "what can I do for you?" I say "Thanks a million!"

Room Tip: rooms on back are quieter. Ask to see rooms...some are quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Beautiful and charming. Old fashioned yet with modern amenities. How did they get modern plumbing in this building .. Amazing.

The restaurant downstairs serves wonderful food and a local dessert - that is made after one orders..and is served warm - to die for

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our room (#15) looked like something out of Dickens—mismatched worn furnishings, peeling paint, gross looking carpet with soil spots, industrial grade door on bathroom (why ?), shabby bathroom furnishings, smell of sewer gas coming from bathroom vent. I know this is an old, historic property, but such a shabby room is no excuse. Europe is full of similar ancient properties that have been restored/maintained with at least with some attractive, aesthetic quality. The entrance to the hotel is shabby and grimy-looking: a dark narrow hallway with steps, entrance to a depressing looking kitchen on the elevator side, a very tired, grungy bar/restaurant room on the other side. The photos of the outside of the hotel posted on the TA website are very misleading.

On the positive side, the room was nominally clean overall and the bed comfortable. The lady at the reception desk was friendly and very helpful with information on directions and local attractions. She also gave very good service during the breakfast which was included with the room. The breakfast was quite good, fresh, and extensive in a nice breakfast room on the (European) first floor near the hotel reception. Free computer/internet service was available..

Our room overlooked the street and did not have AC (as expected for this type of property). Even though the city was extremely hot in July, it did cool down at night and the temperature was OK with the windows open. It was fairly quiet, at least with earplugs, as the restaurant down below closed around 10 pm. However, there were some soused patrons who seemed to hand around until around 11 pm, followed throughout the night by sporadic wandering drunks and musicians who decided to start playing in the middle of the night.

The restaurant was mediocre at best. The potato soup was as salty as brine and inedible. When we complained to the waitress, she replaced it in a friendly, gracious manner with a mixed salad that was very good. The lamb was good, but the accompanying dumpling was dry and stale, and the red cabbage was mushy and overcooked. The pork with mushroom sauce was extremely salty. The sauce tasted like it was made with artificial bullion rather than with fresh ingredients.

Maybe I have been lucky, but in 20 years of traveling in Europe on an average budget, this is the first hotel/B&B that I would give such a negative rating. The hotel, as well as a lot of Salzburg, seems to suffer from an over-touristed situation with so much resulting in a worn look and mediocrity. It seems every tourist, tour bus and gift shop in Europe is located in Salzburg, seemingly with more tourists per square foot than Disney World, at least in July. Perhaps many tourists are so enthralled with Salzburg that they will tolerate shabbiness and mediocrity. However, in my opinion there are so many wonderful, beautiful, well kept cities and hotels in Europe (more than could be visited in a life time), that this hotel and Salzburg in general were a waste of time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldgasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldgasse

Address: Goldgasse 10, Salzburg A - 5020, Austria (Formerly Hotel Goldene Ente)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldgasse 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completly renovated, unique Boutique Hotel. Right in the heart of the historic city centre. Only a few steps away from the cathedral and within walking distance to the festival halls, museums an galeries in town. Beautiful rooms and suites and great breakfast. First class Restaurant on sight. Public garage only 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Goldgasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldene Ente Hotel
Goldene Ente Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldgasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.