We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jedermann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jedermann to your Saves list
Hotel Jedermann
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rupertgasse 25, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Bolzano, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The hotel was clean, the room, although quite small, well organized and very clean. The breakfast was very good, you have a lot of choice. But the best thing was that you could easily walk to the city center. Overall a very good hotel at a good price.
If you want to visit Salzburg in December, I would suggest to book in advance.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    65
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
83
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Very clean and quiet with a comfortable bed. Continental style breakfast had excellent rolls, juices, yogurt, cheese, ham, etc Rooms have minimalist modern design. The glass doors for bathroom may not be for everyone. Hotel is on a quiet side street near the Hotel Drei Kreuz and Hotel Ganslhof which seemed to be near more traffic. Free Internet by cable in room but not wireless. Free parking. 10 minute walk to old city center.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

We arrived without a booking and were treated wonderfully--clerk found us a hotel for our next stay. Excellent breakfast; clean and spacious room. Free parking; pleasant garden. Restaurants, pubs and shopping nearby. We would readily stay here again!
Prompted for negatives, we suppose street traffic noise and the walking distance from city centre (1km) would be the only ones--although the distance is really a positive for us.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Booked Hotel Bergland as early as March 2010 for our July visit to Salzburg.
Arrived by train, at Bergland to be told we were not booked there.
Not happy as I had confirmed our booking in June with them.
However the hotel had overbooked and booked us in to the Jedermann just up the road.
We were greeted by the receptionist who was friendly and very helpful and understood our annoyance at the change of booking.
We were in for a pleasant stay, management were good and breakfasts great.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrints
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We heard of this hotel from our Rick Steves book. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was well kept, comfortably furnished, and above all the breakfast offered great variety and was a great start to our day. We stayed in much less comfortable places for the same amount of money other places in Europe. If I could compare the style to an American Hotel, I would say it is furnished similarly to a "W" hotel, but on a much smaller and more comfortable scale. We felt it was a great value and would not hesitate to suggest it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We wouldn't stay here again. The price wasn't worth the poor quality furnishings, the lack of attention to cleanliness, the disappointing breakfast or the attitude of the staff.

Why is it that sophisticated, modern design furniture is so appealing in the photo, yet so uncomfortable when you sit in it? That's what this hotel was like. Nice to look at in the pictures, but disappointing in real life.

You can always tell a quality hotel by the sheets they use. This hotel used a flannel-type, cotton sheet that -- we believe -- was not laundered before our visit. The double room has two twin beds -- quite common for a European hotel. But, these two beds slipped around quite a bit. When we woke up, our two beds had spread far apart. Chinsy. The pillows were very cheap, synthetic, clumpy and uncomfortable.

The bathrooms were very dated, totally unlike the main room. They were old and not well kept. The top two glass shelves had thick layers of dust that obviously been forgotten about long ago. The towels were rough, thin and very poor quality for this type of hotel. I was shocked by the poor quality toiletries. I'm glad that I brought my own backup stuff.

Breakfast was nothing special. Dried fruits. Lunch meats. White toast. It was one of the cheapest and uninspired breakfasts I've encountered in this part of Europe.

This is one of those hotels that basically looks clean, but when you take a good look, it's kind of scarey.

The staff was uninterested in general and not very helpful. They seemed like they had other things to do. I asked for restaurant recommendations and they just shrugged their shoulders. I couldn't believe it. Have you ever been at a hotel where they didn't/couldn't recommend a place to eat???

The location is nice if you have a car. There was safe and abundant parking in front. But, it's a long walk to the center on a cold day. Maybe it's acceptable in the morning, but it was a pain coming back after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Liked — Price. Parking. Spacious rooms.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness. Unfriendly staff.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

The Jedermann is located a 15 minutes walk out off the city centre. Our room was refurbished recently and was clean and functional. Staff is unobtrusive. Breakfast is average. The Jedermann is a good choice when (on the whitsun festival weekend) Salzburg's hotel rates are high.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jedermann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jedermann

Address: Rupertgasse 25, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jedermann 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, owner-managed non-smoker and design-hotel with 30 rooms in the centre of the city of Salzburg. Completely made over in 2006! Modern, elegant rooms with a flair. Hotel-owned parking lot, free of charge for guests. Best traffic connections in all directions. All rooms with Internet. Garden oasis in the courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jedermann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jedermann Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jedermann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.