We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Adlerhof

Save Saved
You added Pension Adlerhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pension Adlerhof
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisabethstr. 25, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
BURY ST EDMUNDS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very central, this pension is ideal for those on a budget. The accommodation is basic but clean and the rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet. For those needing an early breakfast for the airport, nothing is too much trouble and a wake up call and taxi can be arranged. The hotel is not far from the rail and bus station ( 8 or 5 minutes walk) but it is best to know where it is as its whereabouts seems to be a local secret. There is also quite a reduction out of season. The rooms were clean as was the bedlinen. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    74
    45
    12
    8
See reviews for
42
72
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This Pension is very close to the main railway and bus stationand one could walk there with a suitcase on wheels. If on a budget this is an ideal hotel, and although there is little luxury, the beds are clean and comfortable and our bedroom at the rear was free of all traffic noise. The staff are pleasant and the breakfast adequate for a price much below the Salzburg niveau (It does vary according to season). The centre of Salzburg is only 5 minutes from the bus station and the 25 bus will take you to the Untersberg and Hellbrunn (30Minutes+). The hotel does not mind people with airport connections having a very early breakfast with a wake up call facility. The taxi to the airport cost about 20 Euros.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed just for one night, but we´ve got what we paid for. Breakfast better than expected.
The only negative was the noise from the street and smell (smoking?) in the room.
Free WiFi and parking, good access from the highway.

Room Tip: Ask for the back-yard window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly owners who have certainly not tired of running the place after thirty years -they even printed our boarding passes.
The room was spacious and spotless.
The buffet breakfast was amazing with excellent coffee.
Would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Spent 4 nights in June 2013 at Adlerhof. Was located in easy walking distance from train station and not a bad walk to the old town of Salzburg. Breakfasts are more than adequate. Was able to get information, maps, etc at desk and also buy our "Salzburg's Cards" there. Those at the desk were always helpful and friendly. Plan to stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was very impressed by Adlerhof. The room was cozy and clean with nice coordinated traditional looking furniture - bed, desk, wardrobe, and mirror. The hotel is a very short walk from the train station, although somewhat far from the Old Town section of Salzburg. The breakfast was good and the woman behind the desk is extremely friendly and helpful. I recommend Adlerhof with great ardor and vigor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was already sold on having a perfect holiday when I began planning for Austria in June 2012. However, having never made any bookings outside of India without the help of a professional, I was a bit wary of how the hotels would be. Salzburg was the destination I was mostly focused on and wanted it to be a perfect 3 days stay for my family and me.

While looking up on the hotels, I came upon Hotel-Pension Adlerhof on one of the other booking sites. While the deal for 1 double room and 1 triple occupancy room seemed relatively reasonable, we wanted to be doubly sure that we weren't paying more for what could be an otherwise average experience. And here is where the wonderful family of Pregartbauer came to our rescue and even delight!

Having had only email exchanges, we finally ended up with a better deal while interacting directly with the proprietors of Pension Adlerhof.

The rooms were just perfectly set to benefits travelers who depended on the efficient services of OBB. We walked up from the station to the Hotel. The staff and the front desk were super-efficient and amazingly helpful in all the queries a non-Austrian would usually have. We also got superb recommendations on what places are best to visit, how to get there and the shows and operas that are a must watch!

A special thanks must be mentioned to the entire staff at the hotel. In the hurry of catching the train from Vienna to Salzburg, we had left behind a big suitcase containing the entire trip's worth of clothes of one of the members in the family. The Adlerhof family took no time in calling up our hotel in Vienna, making sure how soon we could get it from there and also advised on the best / most inexpensive way to get it to Salzburg. What could have easily been a cause for concern turned out to be one of the most pleasant experiences in the trip!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are best, if you are traveling with your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Adlerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Adlerhof

Address: Elisabethstr. 25, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Adlerhof 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Pension Adlerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Adlerhof Hotel Salzburg
Adlerhof Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Adlerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.