We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sound of Music experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schone Aussicht

Save Saved
You added Schone Aussicht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schone Aussicht
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heuberg 3, Salzburg 5023, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sound of Music experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

It might seem trite, but 'Sound of Music' is all I could think about the first 24 hours we were here. Hotel is a little out of central Salzburg, and you need a vehicle to get here, but you have views of the city, the mountains, sheep, need I say more? It's family run which makes it very personable. The rooms are clean and authentic Austrian. We had two rooms and one was average size and quite fine. The other had a sitting room, two bedrooms, and a large bathroom. This was very nice for small children as they could be taking a nap and the adults could be talking without disturbing the children.
Great location for walking out in the country/hills on the trails that are marked.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel staff for a room facing the pool - this has the best direct view of the city. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
19
53
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located in a country setting within a stones throw of the city, this beautiful rustic looking hotel is really nice, the staff treat you with respect and make you feel right at home, the restaurant has excellent food, which was well prepared, smoking is allowed in the bar, and non-smokers can use the lounge to relax in whilst having a few drinks, which is nice if the weather is not too good.

If you are a non-driver, then getting to the hotel can be a bit daunting, up a steep hill, although taxis are fairly cheap from the city centre/station. There is a bus stop near the bottom of the hill for day trips to the Altstadt or further afield - buy a day ticket, works out cheaper.

The only thing lacking was tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but this did not bother me at all.

They have an outdoor pool, Sauna and Whirlpool which I did not use so cannot comment on

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as the restaurant have the best views of the city, I had No. 1 which was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We really liked this hotel because it had a great room, great location, and it was everything that I expected from a small town hotel in Austria. The good is it had the best breakfast that I ate while in Europe and the staff was helpful and friendly...but maybe I have a more positive view because there was a dog show in town and the hotel was full of some of the most beautiful dogs that I have ever seen. The bad is that I think it would be impossible to find this hotel without a GPS...and the road up to the hotel is narrow and the locals drive downhill like you are not there...and it really has a great view of town because it is not very close to town. Otherwise, we had a great one night stay at this hotel and I would come again just to eat the great breakfast.

Room Tip: Just make sure you are able to carry your baggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Marvelous!!!! But before describing my lovely stay there, one should know:

- the steep, narrow road that is like 400 m that take u from Obergnigl Obus stop to the hotel is : Super steep, veryyyy narrow ( two cars cant pass at the same time) and there is no light at all at night, so dont even think of taking it by foot at night, or with luggage at any time. However its so nice to walk it down during the day, its beautiful but since the road is very natrow, one should be careful not to be hit by a car.

- The hotel is so old, cosy and authentic, so NO elevator

-Wifi isnt for free.

-Reception isnt 24 hrs. So if u come late u just open the main gate with your room keys and enter

On the other hand:
-the Hotel, the hill itself, the surroundings are a true piece of Heaven,
-The view from the Hotel is breathtaking
-Breakfast is rich and delicious
-Staff are friendly and helpful
... Simply Magical

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This Hotel is situated on a hill overlooking Salzburg and is just charming. The view is great and the service is friendly and genuine. The rooms are large and comfortable and the old charm of the building has been well preserved. Breakfast was good and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was in Germany on business and my wife accompanied me for the first week. The first weekend I had free we traveled to Salzburg and stayed at this hotel. We had a car and the hotel was easy to find with my GPS. The hotel is up on a hill that overlooks the city of Salzburg. We had a very comfortable room with a terrific view. I probably would not have stayed at this hotel without a car, because it is a pretty good walk into Salzburg. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed advice on what activities to do in town. Breakfast was typical European fare and very good. We also had dinner at the hotel as well. The food was outstanding. If we ever go back to Salzburg, we will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Yes, it's in nice place top of Hill what you must drive or Walk. So maybe not the Best place to stay without a car.

But you can get a taxi from there to the old town for 12-15e oneway and old town you can Walk everwhere.


Rooms where ok, littlebit old decorated but still very Fine, no aircon


View from the rooms to City side where nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schone Aussicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schone Aussicht

Address: Heuberg 3, Salzburg 5023, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Schone Aussicht 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Schone Aussicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schone Aussicht Salzburg
Schone Aussicht Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schone Aussicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.