We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable place to stay, but out of the city center.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Turnerwirt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Turnerwirt to your Saves list
Hotel Turnerwirt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linzer Bundesstrasse 54, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An affordable place to stay, but out of the city center.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Hotel Turnerwirt was an affordable place to stay, but it was out of the city center by quite a bit. When you stay here you will have to take the bus into town. This is about a 20-25 minute ride. It is not bad, but bus fares will add up quickly at 2 euros a piece if you do not have a Salzburg card to pay your fares. The staff was helpful and spoke good English. Tour bus groups seem to stay here most nights since there are quite a few rooms available. They are given a separate dining room for breakfast and so never were a problem for individual travelers. It would have been nice to be closer to the Aldstadt section of town so that we could have enjoyed more of the nightlife, but the value of this hotel made up for it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    118
    64
    31
    13
See reviews for
74
93
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

We stayed two nights in Hotel Turnerwirt on our Austrian trip. We were led to believe that the hotel has a bar. This is not so!!! For a nightcap you must leave the hotel and visit the nearby bar which is quite friendly but not feasible when the rain is pouring down as it did for the two days we spent in Salzburg.

  • Liked — Rooms and breakfast were okay
  • Disliked — no bar and the distance from hotel to centre of salzburg
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, Surrey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

An excellent value hotel. Easy to book via their website with no unexpected additional costs (ie sometimes charged extra for 2 children sharing our room!) Hotel is, as they clearly state, a fair way from the centre. We walked it a couple of times with young children (45 minutes one way) but not advisable if you intend to spend the day museum hopping! Buses stop just outside the hotel and are easy to use. We were very impressed with the hotel overall. It was extremely clean and rooms were serviced daily. Our room for 4 (in an attractive annex building with an internet access point) was spacious with a TV, pleasant views and a good sized bathroom. English speaking hotel staff. Breakfast was basic (fruit, bread, tea/coffee/juice) but set us up fine for the morning. Overall a really good experience for the price.

  • Liked — Value for money and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Distance from centre (but we knew about that before we booked!)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

Nice place to stay. God breakfast and concerned staff. Very close to all attractions and withinwalking distance of some nice places to eat.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

After screening a number of pensions and hotels, we booked the Turnerwirt online. The staff are very friendly, all speak very good English, and adorne nation Austrian dress. The rooms are very clean, well equipped, and most have excellant views. The reception is a good information point, and several bus's (which run every ten minutes) stop immediately outside the hotel. The staff are very happy to book taxi's and trips for you, and with most trips you are collected directly from the hotel. The hotel is about a mile & a half from the Mirabell Palace set in a quiet location. The bar is very reasonably priced, and the breakfasts continental buffet style.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, and spacious
  • Disliked — Continental buffet breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

We were disappointed with the room. We were on the top floor and was quite out of breathe hauling our lugguage to the top only to find a shabby looking room which was quite noisy. The beds were uncomfortable and caved in the middle. The towels were old and thread bared. We didn't expect high standards as the price was the lower end of Salzburg hotels but we did expect some standards. Location wise, it was convenient enough and the staff were fairly friendly. Not the place to stay if the weather is hot as there is no air-con or fan.

  • Liked — Parking facilities
  • Disliked — Shabby interior and furniture
  • Tips/Secrets — Check if the hotel has air-con if travelling in summer
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

2 adults/2 children ages 8 and 11. We stayed here for two nights in mid-June 2006. It was 93 F degrees in Salzburg during our visit, and there was no air conditioning which made the stay a bit uncomfortable for us. We needed a quad room, which was spacious, but located in an adjacent building. The room was o.k. but nothing commendable. The bathroom, while newly refurbished, needed a bit more cleaning of the floor. All in all, I did not feel entirely safe in this building. Glad we had the car. Was not at all convenient into the historic center. Would spend the extra money and stay closer in next time. Nonetheless, the staff was very friendly and the continental breakfast quite complete.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Drei Kreuz
Hotel Drei Kreuz
#75 of 136 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lehenerhof
Lehenerhof
#99 of 136 in Salzburg
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#57 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
4.3 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
2.6 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#74 of 136 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turnerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turnerwirt

Address: Linzer Bundesstrasse 54, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turnerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Turnerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Turnerwirt Salzburg
Gasthof Turnerwirt Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Turnerwirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.