We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for night sleep only.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Turnerwirt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Turnerwirt to your Saves list
Hotel Turnerwirt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linzer Bundesstrasse 54, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Blainville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good for night sleep only.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is clean, and the room are decent but justify the cheap rate. It's good for night sleep only. Salzburg is magnificent and there is so much to do that you shouldn't have to use the hotel for more than sleeping. The parking is free and there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel which will bring you downtown.

Room Tip: Be patient with the WiFi. Bus no.4 and 10 bring you downtown and you pay to the driver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    84
    49
    28
    11
See reviews for
55
72
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The service here was excellent. We rolled into town by bicycle an they let us store our bikes in a shed in the garden. The rooms were small, but clean. Internet was spotty, but the best is that the bus into Old Salzburg stops right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose to save a little extra money and stay in Hotel Turnerwirt just outside the centre. We trained in from Vienna and took the bus n#23 from the train station to the hotel, there is a porter at the bus stop who will sell you tickets and get you on the right bus. The hotel itself looked like a traditional Austrian building and is on the other side of the road from the bus stop Turnerstrasse. We were welcomed with a booming and cheery hello, checked in no trouble and hiked up the stairs to our room on the third floor. (No lifts is a bummer with 2 big suitcases) The room was basic, comfy bed, small bathroom with shower, basin & toilet. To get to the city centre - bus #4 stops on the opposite side of the road heading to your left. The city is amazing and so pretty, the views from the top of the fort, and all the awesome sound of music moments are magic. The road noise at night was very loud as some reviewers mention, but we were so tired after sightseeing all day it didn't bother us too much, take earplugs if you are a sensitive or very light sleeper. The hotel staff were always cheerful and friendly. I unfortunately rolled my ankle on the first day on one of the cobbles, and each night the reception gave me a large bag of ice to put on my ankle free of charge which was lovely and appreciated. Overall if you dont mind the effort being out of the centre - it is not too bad with the buses, and this hotel is great. If you want more central convenience and a luxury stay maybe not for you. We will be back to Salzburg and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a great option for the price conscious traveler. Clean comfortable rooms, good breakfast, though not the cheapest. If you have an appetite its probably a good idea to just eat breakfast at the hotel. The bus stops right in front so the 5 minute bus ride to the old town makes it a superb location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Yes I had a few concerns booking this one after some ld the TA reviews. But generally was ok. Location is a little out from the town but a big pluses the bus right out the front door. Room was adequate and this one faced the main road which the hotel sits on. If you have to have the windows open the noise is a nightmare. But if closed we could hardly hear a thing. Bathroom and water was fine. Check in and out was fine and cordial. One thing that really annoyed me. I went to the soda machine to get a can. The machine was empty but the reception guy said they have soda. I asked for 2 glasses of coke and was given 2 small glasses from an opened bottle of coke and charged 5 euros. Outrageous in my opinion. Also the wifi sucked and rarely worked in the room.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel was a very bad choice for staying in while in Salzburg.

The location itself is not so bad especially if arriving by car and there is also a good bus connection to the city center (bus stop is right in front of the hotel).The hotel parking was always full so no use of it and we had to park our car in the nearby street.

The neighbourhood seems quiet and safe but there is nothing to do there.

We stayed at the main building (where the reception is located). This is a very old and poorly maintained facility. Rooms are small, not clean, with small and short beds (definitely bot for any one over 1,90cm height). The furniture is old and and seems as not been cleaned for quite some time.
The bathroom is the worst part. So small that it is hardly possible to move inside, poorly cleaned shower, small,almost unusabel sink and the toilet seat that reminds those in public restrooms.We found hair on our towels!!!
Although we didn't have breakfast in the hotel the dining room looked very depressing.

If you have any other option do not stay in this hotel. In Austria the hotels are usually at a much higher level and for this price you should be able to find a better solution foryour stay in beautiful town of Salzburg!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the centre. Although basic it is a good base to use to visit the city. The free parking is a definite bonus given the high charges in the city. We chose to breakfast in the city so cannot comment on the in house provision. Our room was a little dowdy but was clean, quiet and had an adequate bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Turnerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turnerwirt

Address: Linzer Bundesstrasse 54, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turnerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Turnerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Turnerwirt Salzburg
Gasthof Turnerwirt Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Turnerwirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.