We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amadeus to your Saves list
Hotel Amadeus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linzergasse 43 - 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
New york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sweet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very quaint hotel. Breakfast was very good, the room was comfortable although without air conditioning, having the windows open made for a noisy evening. One important thing. Don't put your key card in the same pocket as your cell phone. It won't work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    72
    21
    12
    13
See reviews for
32
75
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were surprised to find a very large room with an absolutely ideal location. Our windows opened onto a balcony, that overlooked a beautiful church cemetery. The breakfast was large and the restaurant very accommodating, whether we needed a high-chair for our son or a drink to take to our room in the evening. We were in the heart of the pedestrian zone with parking nearby, and just a short walk from the old town. Loved our stay and would choose it again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel in June during the heat wave. We had a great stay in Salzburg, the weather was just perfect ( we love it hot).
The location of the hotel is very convenient at the beginning of the pedestrian zone and just about 40m to walk with your luggage if you are driving. Access to the hotel can be requested but not really necessary. There is a public parking near the hotel (3minutes walking) it is expensive but ok for a touristic city.
The hotel staff is very friendly specially the lady at the reception. The restaurant staff at breakfast was also very efficient and friendly.
The room we had was overlooking the pedestrian zone and was noisy at night but still we slept with open window.
We liked it there and would definitely go back to the same hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the cemetery side, it is quieter. This is not a joke, the other side is overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in June during which a 35 degrees heatwave was underway! We had a lovely, spacious room, more like a junior suite really, and I think we got this because we booked direct with hotel - it wasn't much more expensive this way. The beds were very comfortable and the room was tastefully but simply furnished including a lovely chandelier. Our room overlooked Linzergasse and there was street noise with the windows open but the double glazing was excellent and you heard nothing with the windows closed. Due to the heat we just slept without the duvet! The bathroom was on the small side but it was fine. Breakfast was in the restaurant next door and it was pretty good with a good selection of breads, meat, cheese. The muesli was OK but nothing special. If you like a bit of sparkle to start your day then chilled Prosseco is available! It's a smallish hotel so it's perfectly understandable that they don't have a reception open all night long. Picking up your keys in an envelope is perfectly fine and if you do need to contact the staff a number is provided for this. Easy peasy really! All in all, we enjoyed our stay during this unseasonably hot time. Salzburg was great.

Room Tip: Book direct to secure a higher spec room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

spent 2 nights in this wonderful Hotel and loved it perfectly located and extremly friendly stuff. our 2 rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. breakfast was fresh and great variety. if you are looking for something special - go there! i would definetly stay there again.

not to Forget the great Restaurant - ist just recently opened and has a nice outside area.

Room Tip: ask for Apartments - they are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE! If you plan on coming in the summer time, pick a different hotel. We arrived after 6 pm, and front desk was already closed. They left out keys outside of the door in envelope, that could have easily been taken by someone else. Once we got to our room, on the fourth floor, we were drenched in sweat. It felt like a furnace. The hotel is located in a busy location meaning that with the windows open we could hear people's conversations even on the top floor. Loud partying contined though out the entire night. It was so hot we had to leave the windows open, which allowed bugs, and Mosquitos to bite us all night. There were holes in the sheet, (there was only one sheet on the mattress, nothing else). This was a miserable night and we moved to a different hotel in the morning. Needless to say, we will never return to this hotel, nor recommend it to any one!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellerpro43, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest.
I am the Manager of the Hotel and would like to answer you personally. You have been at our Hotel with your entire Family and had booked 3 rooms. Your Family stayed with us for 3 nights and only you mooved to another Hotel. Yes it was extremly hot at this time - it was a heatwave we had never experienced before in this Country and it lasted for 3 days. I am sorry you did not accept our offer to moove to another room on a lower floor wich would have been much cooler. I am also very sorry to experience that the entire Hotel bill, including your Salzburg Cards remained unpaid upon your departure. Finally I would like to say, that I took personally care of your family as soon as I had heard of your complaint and I was told everything was fine and no room change or anything else nessecary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went thru Hotels.com for a prepaid 4 nite stay. When we got to Innsbruck,due to the rain and flooding, they closed the autobahn and the train to Salzburg. We called the hotel to cancel-at first they said ok and then reneged. They had us call Hotels.com who said that since the hotel would not refund any portion of our $600, they could also do nothing. It is my feeling that the hotel rented out the room twice -Salzburg was crushed with flood refugees from the east. There was no discussion or token. Will file dispute with my credit card.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellerpro43, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest!
At first I would like to express my regret for your travel difficulties. Nevertheless - especially with booking professionals like hotels.com, you can always and easily and for a small fee only, take the advantage of a travel insurance which largely protects you from any travel risk. Most of the travellers do so and are safe. If you - for whatever reason - decided not to take advantage of this offer we have to respect this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Linzergasse 43 - 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amadeus 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent and unique Boutique Hotel in the city center of Salzburg. The hotel is located directly in the historic old town in the pedestrian area. Most of the popular sights in Salzburg, like the Getreidegasse, Mozart Museum, Mozart's birthplace or the Cathedral are within a few minutes walking distance.Here you experience the real Salzburg, the art of life and style of this elegant City. Wonderfull rooms and a great Restaurant as well as an excellent breakfast are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amadeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.