We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely character and good location but mind the renovations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amadeus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linzergasse 43 - 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely character and good location but mind the renovations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Three adults and two children stayed in the two bedroomed suite plus an additional single room.
The rooms were lovely with windows opening over the beautiful narrow street or the cemetery and gardens at the back.
There was plenty of space and large bathrooms and a lovely Austrian character. Breakfast was good and the beautiful old city is all at your doorstep. We walked to everywhere and ate each night within a minute or two of the hotel (important in the cold and snow when the kids are tired out). The downside was renovations going on both in the hotel and across the road that began before 6am! Definitely no sleeping in until these are over, best to ask!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    71
    20
    12
    13
See reviews for
32
71
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went with three girlfriends in December to Salzburg and stayed at the hotel Amadeus. It is a wonderful city, so prettty at this time of year and the Christmas markets were delightful with so many stalls and gifts. The hotel was in a quiet location and the rooms were spotless. The breakfast buffet was very good with a good choice .The hotel does not have a restaurant but it was was nice to be able to try the local restaurants.
We organised a day trip to the ski resort of Filzmoos which was wonderful. It is easy to use the trains and they run an excellent service.
We are already planning a return trip for next December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here last week over Christmas. The room was small and plain and lacking in storage space, but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room overlooked the cemetery where Mozart's father is buried, so it was quiet at night. The location of the hotel was perfect. A short walk to the old town and to the Mirabelle gardens where all the tour buses left from. There are tons of restaurants close by to choose from. The morning breakfast was good, and the staff was very nice. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in November. The location is fantastic, the staff are very helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. The room is larger than we would have expected for a small boutique hotel. We would recommend this hotel to our friends, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clematis43, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much! It is our greatest aim to make our guests stay a memorable one! I hope to see you soon again and send my warm regards
Margot Weindorfer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is in a great location - a pedestrian zone just a short walk from the railway station and even shorter one from the town centre. Nice little gasse with shops. Loved the hotel decor. It is a bit worn down, but not too bad. Breakfast room and buffet were really nice. Our room was pretty dusty on arrival, it was probably vacant for an extended period of time. Service took care of that, which couldn't be said for the missing part of the window pane - we had to crank the heating up and use earplugs on a noisy friday night. All in all, Salzburg was lovely in the advent time and we'd definitely stay at Amadeus again.

Room Tip: The one with intact windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had a superior room and had lots of space--including a sofa and chairs. The breakfast was really wonderful---very fresh---lots of choices. Our bed was very comfortable. Parking was two blocks away but the location of the hotel is excellent. It is just a short walk to the old town and all the important sights. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and lots of nice shops too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Standard 3* hotel with very good location in central Salzburg. Watch out if you are driving your own car as it's difficult to find public parking close to the hotel, make sure to get all the necessary info in advance. Room is OK but a bit small. Free wifi available in the room. Building is quite aged and even if it has been renovated you may hear some noisy from the public areas while resting in the room. Breakfast selection is good, service can be better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Linzergasse 43 - 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amadeus 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent and unique Boutique Hotel in the city center of Salzburg. The hotel is located directly in the historic old town in the pedestrian area. Most of the popular sights in Salzburg, like the Getreidegasse, Mozart Museum, Mozart's birthplace or the Cathedral are within a few minutes walking distance.Here you experience the real Salzburg, the art of life and style of this elegant City. Wonderfull rooms and a great Restaurant as well as an excellent breakfast are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amadeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.