We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, authentic, beautiful, excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amadeus to your Saves list
Hotel Amadeus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linzergasse 43 - 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quaint, authentic, beautiful, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of the oldest part within walking distance of the town's true centre. A short and beautiful walk over the river takes you directly to Getriedegasse, Salzburg's liveliest shopping street and pedestrian thoroughfare. The included breakfast is spectacular, vast array of breakfast choices and yummy Austrian dairy products are the best in Europe, a breakfast at Amadeus Hotel will put you on the right foot for your day. Some of the rooms look directly upon Linzer Gasse, which is beautiful and quaint. The rooms are small but fully equipped, featuring an intuitive safe, television, very nice bathroom and mine had a picture of Austrian emperor Franz Josef on the wall, which was both hilarious and really cool! The only gripe I had was that the wireless internet is not available in the rooms, only in the lobby. However it is 100% free. In addition, I am 193cm so I found the bed a bit too short, however very few people will have any problem; it was just a LITTLE bit too short. Also some people might not like that the reception is closed from 7pm to 7am (approximately), which means you need to use your magnetic key card to open the front glass door to get into the hotel in the evening. The receptionist is extremely friendly, speaks good English and, to those who speak German, she has a delightful Austrian accent. The hotel left me beaming, literally everything was perfect except the reach of the wifi internet. Look no further than Amadeus Hotel for a memorable stay in Salzburg at an amazing value.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms looking over the Linzer Gasse; they have double windows so if you close both it will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clematis43, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! This is what we are working for every day - guests that really enjoy our Hotel. And thank you for your support and for taking the time to write a review!
All the best for you and a greetings from the entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    73
    21
    12
    13
See reviews for
32
76
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

As to be expected .. the hotel was spotless and the breakfast was absolutely excellent. The location is very good an easy walk to old town and all of the sites and even closer to Mirabelle gardens and Mozart's Haus Museum. Other reviews mention street noise - which is surprising since it's a pedestrian street - but we now know why -- if you're early to bed the side walk cafes that line the street are still open and the sounds do rise to the windows facing the street. However, we found that even for our sleep schedule the cafes were closed and we slept soundly. What we experienced for noise was the early morning street cleaner - trash pickup - and delivery vehicles that were a bit of a daily nuisance. Over all if noise is an issue ...just request a different room. The value and location plus the convenience makes the Amadeus a do again in our opinion. This isn't a business / new style hotel rather a traditional Austrian haus... in terms of room - furniture - style so quaint and comfortable should be expected. They have a computer which was always available to use ... but not wired or wireless if that's important. Also there is no 'front desk' support after 6PM so arrival time is important. Salzburg was a high point of our trip -- great town - great people .....

Room Tip: If early morning quiet (<7am is important ...then request a room away from LinzerGasse) If compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clematis43, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We wish you all the best and send our warm regards! Hope to welcome you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The other reviews (wish I'd read them sooner) are spot on -- hard to find parking, on a busy street which means rooms get all of the noise as well as the quarterly bell ringing of the church next door, and the rooms are old and tired. I also got charged for 4 persons instead of 3 because there was no option to pay for three on the website when I made the reservation, but I saw the breakdown when they gave me the bill. Lady told me that's what the website quoted me so that's what I would pay, even though the website hadn't charged me, and she could easily have charged us for three. Front desk folks are not very helpful, nor very pleasant. I will not be going back and will tell my friends to stay away!!! Wish I'd tried the Schloss Haunsperg instead.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. Noise, no A/C, no parking, old/tired...affects all of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clematis43, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest!
First of all I want to express my regret, that we could not fullfill your expectations. I have to stress out thought, that however, we do not have any influence on the bookings our guest do. So if a client books and guarantees a room for 4 persons, we do have to follow these demands and book the requested room. I understand that you are upset, that we couldnt change anything once you had stayed here. But if there was no room for 3 persons available we had to stick to the booking you had requested and of corse charge the room as agreed. Concerning the parking and the people on the street, we clearly state that we are a historic city center location in the pedestrian area. I am sorry you did not asume that there was no parking in the pedestria area available. We will also of course check the room you were at and thoroughly go through it, so that we can be sure that, as all of our rooms,it will fullfill the three star standard we are rated for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Our streetside room is extremely noisy requiring the windows be closed yet room has no AC and no fan and is too hot and stuffy to sleep. We requested a fan to at least circulate air but were turned down by front desk. Front desk lady told me her house is uncomfortable too. I guess she wants to make sure I'm not any more comfortable than she is?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is located within walking distance to town centre but has no carpark. We had to park at a nearby private parking lot and carry our heavy luggage all the way to hotel. Hotel was very old and there was no air conditioner in rooms. Room was facing main street and very noisy especially in the morning and late at night. It was very difficult to sleep and the shower took a very long time to have the heater working. Breakfast was okay but not great. The reception was a bit grumpy especially if you have to check out early in the morning.... Book elsewhere newer for the price I had to pay. ... 320 Euro per night for a family apartment. for 5.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clematis43, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest! I am sorry to hear that you expected something different from our historic and traditional Hotel. As mentioned in all our discriptions we are located in the in the pedestrian area of the famous Salzburg city center and the public car park is only 150m from the Hotel. Especially our apartments are very spacious and we do offer a wide selection for a 3 star Hotel for breakfast - i am very sorry to hear we could not satisfy your expectations! I apologize and send my warm regards.
Margot Weindorfer, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had scheduled a 4 night stay at the Amadeus. When we arrived, we learned parking at the local garage cost 17.50 euros/daily. First bad news. The hotel was located on the busy walking street. Unfortunately, the only room available was first floor overlooking the street. The room was tiny with tired furniture and no room to store suitcases. The bathroom was tiny and smelled like an overused public toilet. We saw ear plugs on the pillow which should have been a clue of what was to come. The noise during the night was deafening. The screaming and partying lasted til 3:30 AM, just in time for the delivery trucks to rumble in, park and unload. No sleep was to come. In the AM we asked to be moved No luck. Walking to the parking garage half a block away and half a block off the walking street we came upon a much better hotel so we moved! I must say the Hotel Clerk Christine was very sweet. The one big plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We really liked the Amadeus Hotel. It was actually suprisingly easy to get to from a main car park (although pricey @ 17 euros a day) even though in the pedestrian area. You are in a pretty lively area and only a few minutes from the river and bridges to the old town. Even closer to the Mirabelle Palace. Good places to eat nearby too.

We had a great "family apartment" on the top floor. Two huge bedrooms and a bathroom that gave us loads of space and a bit of privacy from the kids. The breakfast room was very funky and the breakfast offer was really good.

There is a nearby bar so if you get annoyed by such things it won't be for you. It seemed to "switch off" the noise at about 11pm each night so didn't bother us and we all managed to sleep through the early bells from the nearby church until the 7am ones which would wake the dead (although not our teens apparently).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clematis43, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Good to hear you and your family had a wonderfull stay! We try hard - so thank you for your compliments! all the best and hope to see you soon! Margot Weindorfer Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Linzergasse 43 - 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amadeus 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent and unique Boutique Hotel in the city center of Salzburg. The hotel is located directly in the historic old town in the pedestrian area. Most of the popular sights in Salzburg, like the Getreidegasse, Mozart Museum, Mozart's birthplace or the Cathedral are within a few minutes walking distance.Here you experience the real Salzburg, the art of life and style of this elegant City. Wonderfull rooms and a great Restaurant as well as an excellent breakfast are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amadeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.