We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent. Convenient. A little pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stadtkrug Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stadtkrug Hotel to your Saves list
Stadtkrug Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linzer Gasse 20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent. Convenient. A little pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I had a hard time choosing a hotel in Salzburg. Usually go with Rick Steves, but it seemed most hotels were in a noisy area. Stadtkrug was very convenient, though not right in old area. It is close to everything and is on a street with lots of restaurants. It was quiet and the service was good. We had a room for four, which was a little crowded because of the cots they added to a junior suite. We got free parking in a lot up the street with a parking lot pass the hotel gave us. Breakfast was good. We only felt for the price it wasn't anything special. We didn't try the hotel's restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    79
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
105
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Located in the very heart of Salzburg; a 4 star hotel at 130 euros per night, justified only by the position (in the historical centre) and by the period (in August there is the Music Festival). In fact the room does not have nothing special, even though it has anyway all the comforts, and a comfortable king size bed. It is an old style hotel, small, with their own restaurant. The receptionist was cold and not friendly (you know, the kind of the series "I am doing you a favour"). Parking was a bit distant from the hotel and very expensive (18 euro). Breakfast ok.
Salzburg was a surprise... I'm absolutely in love with it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Very quaint hotel in the heart of Salzburg, really nice people, great location, nice bar, great breakfast. We highly recommend it! They also have a computer with internet access available in the lobby at no charge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed 2 nigts in November and had a great time. Sure, its a bit shabby but this adds to the charm, we prefer to think of it as "funky". Our room overlooked the street and we busked in the afternoon sunshine through our window.

The breakfast was good and the service very attentive.

The room was comfortable and the bed was good. The staff were great and had no problems organising an afternoon tour and providing hot water for a late night cup of tea.

We also ate dinner one night in the restraunt, I remember it was by far the best wienerschnitzel we had on our trip.

Didnt like the smoking in the front lobby which you had to walk through to get to the lift and we didnt know there was internet access until we were leaving.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Looking for a hotel for one night. The desk clerk at a 5 star hotel recommended this hotel. Great location and a very good price. Rooms were excellent. Did not try the restraunt because it was closed that day. Front desk service was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

I came here because one of the tour guides recommended the fresh trout. It seems like a very nice hotel on the surface but I don't know what the rooms looked like. Judging by the reviews there are many complaints. The only part I saw was the front desk, the elevator and the restaurant. The guy at the front desk helped us out with directions even though he knew we did not stay there.. I thought that was really nice of him. Our dinner was in a very cute garden. We had the fish and enjoyed it very much and it was a reasonable price. If I had known about this hotel, I would have stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire,UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

I booked this hotel back in Jan 09 for a trip with my partner & friends (6 of us in total) As the Salzburg festival runs throughout August we had to book quickly & alot of hotels back in January were all ready full. So we opted for the Hotel Stadtkrug, so we booked & then i looked up the reviews on this site. I was rather worried at what awaited us when we arrived!! But how wrong they were. Firstly the owners (Hugo & Eva) were fantastic, friendly, helpful just great. Our rooms were immaculately clean (not ready when we arrived at 10.30am so we went out into town for a drink and came back an hour later-no problem.Left our luggage in the reception) the rooms are decorated in a typical austrian inn style. Simple but lovely (no hairdryers in rooms so take your travel dryer) we all loved ours we were in 309.310 & 311. The roof top terrace whether for drinks or dinner (we had drinks there in the afternoon on arrival, in the evenings and a meal on sunday night) is wonderful. Peaceful, clean, great. The food was v good, drinks even better & the staff were great could not do enough for you. We had to tip them they were v v v good-if only we got service like that in the UK! So do not read the other reviews-We all cannot recommend this hotel enough. Its perfectly situated to stroll into town, just over the bridge into the old town, or along the river, or to the bus area to catch one of the many amzing coach trips (Recommend Lakes & Mountains & Eagles Nest). We loved Salzburg so so much by far now our favourite city in europe. A truly amazing place and we can't wait to go back. We wil definately stay at the Stadtkrug again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stadtkrug Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadtkrug Hotel

Address: Linzer Gasse 20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stadtkrug Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The time-honoured Stadtkrug is located in Linzer Gasse, in the quiet part of the Salzburg's Old Town, which has managed to preserve its original charme. The hotel's central location on the right sid of Salzburg's Old Town is perfect for a mini-break combined with culture, Business, Shopping and recreation. The Stadtkrug is a traditioneal, four-star Hotel that offers 37 rooms with about 70 beds. It is run by the Lucian Family. The Chef loves Austrian food - especially organic beef from his own highland cattels. You have to try one of this excellent steaks! Visit the Homepage of the hotel or call them to make your reservation and start to be a part of the Stadtkrug-Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stadtkrug Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadtkrug Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stadtkrug Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.