We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only came here for the food, I never stayed at the hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stadtkrug Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stadtkrug Hotel to your Saves list
Stadtkrug Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linzer Gasse 20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Orange County, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Only came here for the food, I never stayed at the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

I came here because one of the tour guides recommended the fresh trout. It seems like a very nice hotel on the surface but I don't know what the rooms looked like. Judging by the reviews there are many complaints. The only part I saw was the front desk, the elevator and the restaurant. The guy at the front desk helped us out with directions even though he knew we did not stay there.. I thought that was really nice of him. Our dinner was in a very cute garden. We had the fish and enjoyed it very much and it was a reasonable price. If I had known about this hotel, I would have stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    67
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
90
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire,UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

I booked this hotel back in Jan 09 for a trip with my partner & friends (6 of us in total) As the Salzburg festival runs throughout August we had to book quickly & alot of hotels back in January were all ready full. So we opted for the Hotel Stadtkrug, so we booked & then i looked up the reviews on this site. I was rather worried at what awaited us when we arrived!! But how wrong they were. Firstly the owners (Hugo & Eva) were fantastic, friendly, helpful just great. Our rooms were immaculately clean (not ready when we arrived at 10.30am so we went out into town for a drink and came back an hour later-no problem.Left our luggage in the reception) the rooms are decorated in a typical austrian inn style. Simple but lovely (no hairdryers in rooms so take your travel dryer) we all loved ours we were in 309.310 & 311. The roof top terrace whether for drinks or dinner (we had drinks there in the afternoon on arrival, in the evenings and a meal on sunday night) is wonderful. Peaceful, clean, great. The food was v good, drinks even better & the staff were great could not do enough for you. We had to tip them they were v v v good-if only we got service like that in the UK! So do not read the other reviews-We all cannot recommend this hotel enough. Its perfectly situated to stroll into town, just over the bridge into the old town, or along the river, or to the bus area to catch one of the many amzing coach trips (Recommend Lakes & Mountains & Eagles Nest). We loved Salzburg so so much by far now our favourite city in europe. A truly amazing place and we can't wait to go back. We wil definately stay at the Stadtkrug again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva ,Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We found this hotel quite depressing. The website and other reviews painted a picture of 'old world charm', but, despite our attempt to make the most of our three-night stay, we found it shabby, sad and suffering terribly from neglect.
Our room was gloomy and very dimly lit, with a tatty lampshade hiding a miserable 25-watt bulb. The curtains and the armchair were unattractive and looked as if they'd been installed a long time ago, whilst the pillows and polyester duvets were thin and of poor quality.
There was no hint of attention to small details - for example, the fruit salad at breakfast was one of those awful tinned 'fruit cocktails' - and one morning they couldn't even offer that, as they had run out of it. (The fresh fruit that they did supply was probably just on show to look nice but not to eat, as it was brick hard and inedible - this is presumably why they didn't bother to make a home-made fruit salad?) The bathroom supplies ran to two nasty little sachets (the kind that one has to struggle to tear open) of cheap shower gel and a couple of small bars of very basic soap; no hair conditioner, body lotion, cotton buds, etc. in sight.
The only positive aspect of the hotel was that the staff were friendly and helpful, but it's time the couple who run it pay a lot more attention to detail, brighten it up a bit, add a few little gestures to make the room and bathroom less spartan and more welcoming - and generally get their act together. Sorry to moan on about it, but we WERE paying Euros 145 a night for our double room.
It is being run indifferently, with little care or attention. We were very disappointed.
(P.S. One guest who seems to love staying there is... a little mouse. who made an appearance running across the dining room floor at breakfast one morning, much to the amusement of several guests! )

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stayed here on a family vacation in June. We took a junior suite for our 3 teenagers (2 shared a big double bed and one had a twin roll-a-way bed) and my husband and I had the beautiful suite with the canopy bed (pictured on their website). The rooms we had were large and a nice mix of rustic romantic charm and modern up to date facilities.
The rooms were large and quiet, even though right above the street (a no car zone). The bathrooms were luxurious, with a traditional bidet extra!
We loved sleeping under the canopy bed and the rugged wooden beams.
Breakfast was abundant - enough to keep our teen boys full until late lunch. Reception was friendly - they even let us satisfy our curiosity of looking at other rooms in the hotel (we had the nicest ones).

  • Liked — hotel charm and location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laexodus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

A nice and reasonably priced hotel in a very old building (1353) in the old town, just far enough up the walkstreet to be in the quiet area. But just a short walk down toward the river and you'll find a lot restaurants and bars, hop over the river and you're in the historic district. The rooms are clean and modern, and the staff is friendly. The have a restaurant on the first floor and on the roof, but we didn't eat there.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I booked a triple room and expected 3 beds but the 3rd bed was a roll-away. When I enquired the staff could not help which was very disappointing. I like that this is a family run hotel, but you can't sell a triple room like this, I would have booked 2 separate rooms in the beginning had I known this was the case.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

Booking with the hotel was an easy experience and very friendly as was the welcome from Hugo, the owner, when we arrived.
We came for a 3 day break to enjoy the sights of Salzburg and really needed another day or so as there was so much to see and do. Hugo will point you in the right direction and arrange tours that will collect you from outside the Hotel at no extra cost.
The hotel was spotlessly clean, the bedroom large enough and came with a shower. Although an old property it had a happy feel to it and this carried through to all the staff who went out of the way to help.
There is a Restaurant attached to the Hotel and we ate there twice......it was so good the first night we had to do the same on night two.
This is a good three star hotel and the tariff is reasonable. You will enjoy your stay here.
PS...Do the Sound of Music Tour. It costs 35 euro and if you are in this type of thing is most enjoyable.If not don't do it!

  • Liked — Hugo, his wife Eva and all the Staff in the Hotel......they were all so nice.
  • Disliked — None to report
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stadtkrug Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadtkrug Hotel

Address: Linzer Gasse 20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stadtkrug Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The time-honoured Stadtkrug is located in Linzer Gasse, in the quiet part of the Salzburg's Old Town, which has managed to preserve its original charme. The hotel's central location on the right sid of Salzburg's Old Town is perfect for a mini-break combined with culture, Business, Shopping and recreation. The Stadtkrug is a traditioneal, four-star Hotel that offers 37 rooms with about 70 beds. It is run by the Lucian Family. The Chef loves Austrian food - especially organic beef from his own highland cattels. You have to try one of this excellent steaks! Visit the Homepage of the hotel or call them to make your reservation and start to be a part of the Stadtkrug-Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stadtkrug Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadtkrug Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stadtkrug Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.