We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We never stayed here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stadtkrug Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stadtkrug Hotel to your Saves list
Stadtkrug Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linzer Gasse 20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Castro Valley, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We never stayed here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were looking forward to staying here. The reviews were great along with location. However, our passports were stolen in Zurich on a Saturday morning and we couldn't go to the Consulate until Monday morning. I had to call at the last minute and cancel. The hotel manager listened to my call from the Zurich police station and, although we were committed to a minimum one night's stay, he said he would talk to his boss about removing it. We never saw a charge! Although we lost our Mozart dinner and salt mine tour trips and never made it to Salzburg, I only hope we have the opportunity to someday make it to Salzburg and definitely this hotel. We did replace our passports in Vienna and continued our trip to Isanbul.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    72
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
95
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Of all the hotels we stayed in on our whistle stop tour of Europe, this was my favourite. The room was large, the beds were comfortable, there was no street noise and the breakfast was lovely. It was in a good location and had free wifi, so what more could you ask? The only downside was the shower. The bathroom was a good size, easily big enough for a bath yet the shower was small and tucked into a corner with the shower head itself pointing in the wrong direction. It was a bit fiddly and uncomfortable to be honest. But that's a minor point in an otherwise very positive experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent two nights here in early October. The location is close to many shops and restaurants and easy walking distance to many of Salzburg's main attractions. Room was clean and comfortable. Rate included substantial breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were greeted by the cheeriest front desk person I've ever encountered at this 37-room hotel. The building dates back to 1353, but the rooms are quite modern. The location is perfect for walking around, and there are numerous good restaurants and shops nearby.

We encountered no Americans here -- a good thing. We really do prefer to stay in places that Europeans frequent in order to get a deeper immersion in the culture.

Breakfast is outstanding. In addition to the generous buffet, the servers will have eggs and meats cooked to order.

The only negative thing I will comment on is the size of the shower in our room (no tub). I'm a small person, but the shower stall was so small that it made it difficult to enjoy a great shower. My other half elected for a sponge bath as he didn't think he'd fit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub or a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were only in Salzburg for one night but this hotel is in a very good location. It is very nice inside and serves a good breakfast. It was on of the few that made eggs to order. It was a nice change from cold cuts.

Our room was great and the bar downstairs very relaxing.

I just wish we had more time as we really did not get to see all we wanted of the town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding at the recommendation of the bride and groom. It was a great stay! Loved all the staff especially Gunther. He was so friendly and very helpful. Everyone was so nice and accommodating. The hotel is in a great location. Our room was huge! Not as modern as I'm use to but it was still very nice and clean and very comfortable not to mention affordable. The breakfast every morning was also a great treat. Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Salzburg!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights as part of a group. The staff were great and really helpful and interacted with all the residents. The evening meal (although no choice) was excellent and locally sourced (the owner has his own farm) with the breakfast choice being truly amazing. The hotel is tucked up a road which is pedestrian only for most of the day, so don't expect a coach to take you to the hotel door. Rooms were good but no views of Salzburg as you are in the middle of town. Free wifi, which was easy to connect. All in all, couldn't fault it and would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stadtkrug Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadtkrug Hotel

Address: Linzer Gasse 20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stadtkrug Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The time-honoured Stadtkrug is located in Linzer Gasse, in the quiet part of the Salzburg's Old Town, which has managed to preserve its original charme. The hotel's central location on the right sid of Salzburg's Old Town is perfect for a mini-break combined with culture, Business, Shopping and recreation. The Stadtkrug is a traditioneal, four-star Hotel that offers 37 rooms with about 70 beds. It is run by the Lucian Family. The Chef loves Austrian food - especially organic beef from his own highland cattels. You have to try one of this excellent steaks! Visit the Homepage of the hotel or call them to make your reservation and start to be a part of the Stadtkrug-Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stadtkrug Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadtkrug Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stadtkrug Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.