We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Stay at the Stadtkrug Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stadtkrug Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stadtkrug Hotel to your Saves list
Stadtkrug Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linzer Gasse 20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Stay at the Stadtkrug Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Weary from traveling for over three weeks throughout Europe the Hotel Stadtkrug was the perfect choice. This unique hotel and rooms showcased the rustic flair of Salzburg and were extremely charming and relaxing. Traveling with family members we chose the two room suite. The rooms were very large and included a comfortable living room area. Our accomodations were by far our favorite of any on our travels in Europe. A buffet breakfast is also included in the price of the room. So many choices and you could also have eggs, bacon, etc. upon request.

The Hotel Stadtkrug is located directly in the center of the City of Salzburg. It is the perfect location for visitors as all of the sights are just a short distance away. The hotel is nestled against the Kapuzinerberg. The hike to the top is steep but well worth the amazing view over the old part of the town. There are also many beautiful hiking trails at the top. A short walk from the hotel across the Salzach River the altstadt or the historic city center is located. Fascinating! We were fortunate to be in Salzburg during St. Rupert's Festival. Festival goers were all dressed in costumes fitting for the area. Everyone was partying. There were many booths of crafts, sweets, and a huge array of aromatic foods. So much fun!! We also walked to the impressive Hohensalzburg Fortress, Mirabell Gardens, and the Mozart Museum.

We will keep fond memories of the unique atmosphere of the Hotel Stadtkrug in Salzburg. The attentive hospitality of the staff made us feel at home. Hopefully our travels will take us to Salzburg and the Stadtkrug Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    79
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
105
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I'm gutted that I didn't take any pictures of the hotel, as it was really rustic and nicely set up. When we arrived the staff were great, we were even offered a choice of rooms to ensure we had a good night's sleep. The rooms were large, nicely setup and tidy. The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the old town area and conveniently located next to a number of shops - be it tourist, clothing, coffee or food.

Not only did we enjoy a restful night, we enjoyed the breakfast spread and the hot breakfast cooked to order.

Room Tip: If arriving by car, don't worry you can park in front of the hotel for 10-15mins while you check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived in Salzburg without a reservation and happened upon this gem. The location was perfect...a 5 minute walk to Mirabell Gardens, also close to many great shops and restaurants. We booked a tour through Panorama Tours and the tour pick up was also a 5 minute walk. As previously mentioned, the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was wonderful-one of the best in Europe.
Would love to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you don't like big hotels where everything is standardized, this is the hotel for you. Charming, friendly, individual and high class are words that come in my mind when remembering this hotel. Location is perfect as almost everything of interest is in walking distance from the hotel. My room was one of the best I ever had had in any hotel and the bathroom probably the best and at least the most individual. Breakfast was clearly above average and the breakfast room nice and pleasant. All in all; worth the money.

Room Tip: My "Premium" class room had a canopy bed. If you never had slept in such bed, try it. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Stadtkrug is on a cute little pedestrian only street with shops and restaurants. From the time we arrived the hotel staff was accommodating and helpful with all of our requests (maps, directions, recommendations for dining and shows, etc). Our room was on the 4th floor, just below the roof terrace. We could occasionally hear noise from the restaurant. The room accommodations were average - all we needed, but nothing special. The breakfast was one of the best we have experienced in our European travels. Made to order eggs and other hot dishes. In addition, a great variety of rolls, fruit, cereals, etc. The breakfast room was large and comfortable with windows opening onto the main pedestrian only street. A special touch, was the bowl full of Mozart chocolates. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Excellent small hotel located just across the bridge from the 'old town'. This is a privately run hotel and you can tell the owner does take care to ensure you have a great stay. The terrace bar is relaxing for an afternoon drink in the shade, but unfortunately there is no view of the old town. Breakfast is plentiful and all staff are polite.
I would recommend this hotel as a better located and more authentic Austrian experience than some of the usual international chain hotels in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andalucia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

A very beautiful hotel, just in the center of Salzburg. The owner was very kind and told us the hotel was 700 hundred years old, her family being the third generation running it. It is decorated with good quality wooden furniture. Double rooms are big, clean, nice with an excellent bathroom. There's a small bar inside (and another one outside which opens if weather is fine) where there's good music while having a cold beer. Breakfast also excellent in a beatiful room which makes you feel really comfortable. Next time I'd stay at Stadkrug Hotel longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stadtkrug Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadtkrug Hotel

Address: Linzer Gasse 20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stadtkrug Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The time-honoured Stadtkrug is located in Linzer Gasse, in the quiet part of the Salzburg's Old Town, which has managed to preserve its original charme. The hotel's central location on the right sid of Salzburg's Old Town is perfect for a mini-break combined with culture, Business, Shopping and recreation. The Stadtkrug is a traditioneal, four-star Hotel that offers 37 rooms with about 70 beds. It is run by the Lucian Family. The Chef loves Austrian food - especially organic beef from his own highland cattels. You have to try one of this excellent steaks! Visit the Homepage of the hotel or call them to make your reservation and start to be a part of the Stadtkrug-Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stadtkrug Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadtkrug Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stadtkrug Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.