We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Wonderful view of old town from the room!”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Stein to your Saves list
Hotel Stein
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giselakai 3-5, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Curtea de Arges, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
““Wonderful view of old town from the room!””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed in the Stein hotel for 2 nights in April (09.04.2013 till 11.04.2013) in a triple room with my wife and my daughter.
The Stein's location is outstanding, perfect for a city break in Salzburg. In five minutes you can be in the old town, or alternatively in the Mirabell Gardens. . Hotel located at the river and across the bridge you reach the old city centre of Salzburg. The rooms, decor and corridors are all art deco and not to everyone's taste but the location and views make up for that.
The breakfast buffet was first class, served in a panoramic room on the roof. The staff at reception, and in the breakfast room were helpful and friendly . Free WI FI, parking at 500 meters distance from the hotel and cost 15 euro /day .
We love to stay here - it is so close to everything in Salzburg, no need for a car when you stay at the Stein

Room Tip: no need for a car when you stay at the Stein
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    107
    58
    55
    54
See reviews for
45
159
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for a city break in Salzburg. Hotel location is great. Located at the river and cross the bridge you are in the old city centre of Salzburg. Rooms are super, at least if you like the style. Imagine Sisi and feel royal. But not only the old city is worth to visit. Just behind the hotel climb the hill and pay à visit to the little church at the top of the hill. Feel the ancient spirit. I think the church is called the Capucino Church. Staff of the hotel is friendly and assists you in many languages. Parking is not direct at the hotel but just à 5 min walk. Given the room rate they could give you free parking. Conclusion, great stay, good location and worth to visit the city

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pressath, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed in a suite at this hotel. It is a rather unusal hotel. The floor in the main room is slightly slanted upward. Purple curtains and bedding. I was looking for the "red" light at that point. Nude paintings of large women hung from the walls. It was amusing. Overall it was a fun experience. Located at river's front is a major plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I booked this hotel through British Airways and reserved an executive room for four nights.
As the hotel was quite quiet, I was bumped up to a junior suite with a first rate view over the river to the old town and fortress. A large bedroom, an office area and a hallway leading to a large bathroom and exit. I found it fine - for the price I paid. (The rack rate would not have been justified.)
The Stein's location is outstanding, in five minutes you can be in the old town, or alternatively in the Mirabell Gardens.The breakfast buffet was first class, served in a panoramic room on the roof. The staff at reception, and in the breakfast room were helpful and friendly throughout. And in my room on the 5th floor, the wifi worked fine - though you need a multi-letter and digit username and password to get in - a bit over the top if you're using a tablet.

Above all, the hotel passed my main test : I got a good night's sleep there every night. Perhaps being on the 5th floor helped - the hotel is on a busy road and even Salzburg has the odd idiot who drives around with stereos on loud at 3am. I didn't find my room stuffy - but it was February.

But let's be clear: this hotel is in an old building and, short of demolishing the interior completely, refurbishment is never easy in such cases. The lifts are quaint, the parquet floors in my room creaked too (didn't worry me), the bathroom was very plain, but clean, the main landings were far too dark and there's the odd single step to catch the unwary in some rooms and in the main landings. And beware of the hotels telephone exchange. My family tried to call - took three attempts to get through. Just as well Skype worked.

The hotel caters mainly for German and Austrian guests, so all the TV channels are in German - fine if you speak it - but don't expect CNN.

Given that the weather was truly dreadful and the hotel room became pretty important, I was very pleased to have stayed in the Stein. But then again, modern hotels bore me.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the town, go for a higher floor. Traffic noise will be less. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Did tons of research and decided this hotel, being a boutique hotel would give us an awesome Christmas experience... sadly the rooms were tiny, bed up against curtain, bathrooms tiny - had to shower sideways in the bath. Creaky floor boards, poor decor although pictures looked ok on websites. No mini bar, window looked directly into another building. No plugs near mirror. Guess it could have been worse.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to visit Salzburg before our Christmas skiing holiday. On the plus side, the location is excellent and the roof bar/breakfast area is fabulous with amazing views of the city. The staff were also friendly, helpful and welcoming. We booked an executive room (209) which was spacious, nicely decorated in art deco style. The problem was there were no facilities in the room. No toiletries, bathrobes, slippers, tea and coffee making facilities, English TV or any of the extras you would expect in not only a luxury hotel, but most hotel rooms. The only provision was a shower gel dispenser fixed to the wall. The room was also extremely hot and stuffy and the a/c had been disabled. The bathroom was very small with no shelving or anywhere to put your washbag. The corridors/staircase were very dark and dingy and the carpet is old and stained. On our return to Salzburg after our skiing holiday, we stayed for one night at the Crowne Plaza. This was far superior in the facilities provided for a fraction of the price. If the Stein wish to continue to market themselves as a luxury brand hotel, they really need to up their game. It is a real shame as the location is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked an executive room, our first room was massive, bigger than my apartment at home but totally under furnished except the bedroom, was very weird. The wifi did not reach the room so after much arguing my partner got us transferred a room - we were planning to Skype family on Xmas so needed the promised wifi.

This room was much much smaller but did have a nice view, the wifi reached but dropped out if you moved away from the door, which is more annoying than it sounds as you have to manually log back into their system everytime it drops out. So we sat in the hall skyping on Christmas.

The staff, I'm sure not all, but on more than 1 occasion were very very rude, snapping back their answers, screwing up their faces and insinuating we were stupid.

Also byo shampoo and conditioner as there is nothing other than soap.

The view is very good, but most rooms don't have views. Even when you book an executive room you won't always get a view. Wouldn't stay again, mainly for the rudeness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stein

Address: Giselakai 3-5, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stein 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel in great location, right at the main bridge of Salzburg in the historic city center. The festival halls, as well as the congress centre are only a few minutes away. Stylish rooms and 7th floor roof top terrace with great view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Stein Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.